安哥拉

联合国儿童基金会支持在安哥拉的库内省更广泛地分发蚊帐

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Angola/2010/Loya
库内省的一支医疗队为分发蚊帐做准备,这是联合国儿童基金会在安哥拉支持的疟疾防控项目的一部分。

安哥拉库内,2010年11月24日– 在安哥拉南部的库内省,泽佩林.利瓦(Zepelin Leva)博士大清早就和同事们一起把蚊帐装上车,然后朝向内陆出发。

在即将到来的雨季阻碍交通以前,市卫生局将防虫蚊帐分发给当地的医院和保健中心。利瓦博士说:“我们跋山涉水地来到这里保障儿童们睡在蚊帐下并保护他们不感染疟疾。这是一项艰苦的工作,但也很有乐趣。”

疟疾是可以预防和治疗的,并且有效的预防和治疗工具也已经被开发出来了。有证据表明,坚持正确地使用蚊帐可将整体的儿童死亡率降低百分之二十。

到达偏远地区

在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,蚊帐的分发在库内省越来越容易。国家疟疾防控项目现在正使用车辆和仓储设备确保蚊帐在该省得到有效地分发和储藏。安哥拉的公民保护委员会为到达偏远地区提供了飞机。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Angola/2010/Loya
泽佩林.利瓦(Zepelin Leva)博士在安哥拉库内省的欧姆班加市教村民们如何使用蚊帐。

每周,由五名保健工作者组成的卫生队走访库内的各个社区,分发蚊帐并教育当地居民有关预防疟疾的知识。

利瓦博士说:“越来越多的人正在接受并使用蚊帐。与去年相比,我们看到了15%的增长,这让我们感到非常地欣慰。”

获得蚊帐

起初,很多农村居民由于缺乏渔具而使用蚊帐捕鱼,但是这种做法已经发生了改变,因为蚊帐分发队提高了人们对疟疾的认识。安哥拉的疟疾项目建立了一个成功的模型,促进社区合作并与传统权威和地方教堂达成伙伴关系。

为了促进蚊帐的分发,该项目还启动了一个由联合国儿童基金会支持、由非政府组织CESOR开展的培训倡议。倡议旨在加强对获取蚊帐途径的监督以及提高库内省全省的覆盖率。

利瓦博士说:“有了这个项目,我们可以保证持续不断地培训我们的员工,这样我们才能为对抗疟疾做好准备。”


 

 

搜索

Angola

UNICEF supports wider distribution of mosquito nets in Angola's Cunene Province

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Angola/2010/Loya
A health team in Cunene Province prepares mosquito nets for distribution as part of Angola's UNICEF-supported malaria control programme.

CUNENE, Angola, 24 November 2010 – It is early morning as Dr. Zepelin Leva and his colleagues load cars with bed nets and head inland in the southern Angolan province of Cunene.

Before the upcoming rainy season causes floods that make access difficult, the municipal health authorities distribute insecticide-treated mosquito nets to hospitals and health centres in the area. “It is a very difficult mission but also fun to go long distances, cross rivers and guarantee that children sleep under a mosquito net, protected against malaria,” says Dr. Leva.

Malaria is both preventable and treatable, and effective preventive and curative tools have been developed. There is evidence that mosquito nets, when consistently and correctly used, can reduce overall child mortality by 20 per cent.

Reaching remote areas

With UNICEF support, mosquito net distribution is becoming easier in Cunene Province. The national malaria control programme now has vehicles and warehouse facilities to ensure that nets can be effectively delivered and stored in the province. Angola’s Civil Protection Committee provides planes to reach remote areas.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Angola/2010/Loya
Dr. Zepelin Leva teaches villagers how to use mosquito nets in the Ombandja municipality of Cunene Province, Angola.

Each week, a team of five health workers visits communities in Cunene to distribute nets and educate local residents about malaria prevention.

“More and more people are now receiving and using bed nets,” says Dr. Leva. “We have seen a 15 per cent increase compared to last year, and this makes us all very happy.”

Access to bed nets

At first, many rural dwellers – faced with a shortage of fishing gear – used the nets to catch food, but this has changed as the distribution team raises awareness about malaria. Angola’s malaria programme has developed a successful model for engaging with the communities, partnering with traditional authorities and local churches.

To improve bed net distribution, the programme has also launched a UNICEF-supported training initiative run by the non-governmental organization CESOR. The aim is to strengthen monitoring of mosquito net access and coverage across Cunene.

Says Dr. Leva: “With this programme, we are guaranteeing continuous training of our staff so we can be prepared to combat malaria.”


 

 

New enhanced search