Rapport sur l'action humanitaire 2007 – Page d’acceuil

SOUDAN

ENJEUX POUR LES ENFANTS

Le Soudan continue d’être caractérisé par la diversité. La signature de l’Accord de paix global en 2005 a fait naître un espoir de paix et de stabilité, mais de vastes poches de besoins humanitaires persistent dans le pays. Au Darfour, la situation des enfants, des femmes et des communautés déplacées à l’intérieur du territoire demeure précaire, en dépit de la mobilisation massive de l’assistance humanitaire ces deux dernières années. Près de 4 millions de personnes auraient été touchées par le conflit, dont 1,8 million d’enfants. Quelque 2 millions de personnes ont été déplacées, dont 1 million d’enfants, et 120 000 depuis avril 2006. Les besoins humanitaires sont à la hausse et une recrudescence possible du conflit menace la situation fragile de la population, qui souffre déjà des déplacements et d’un accès très limité à la protection et aux services de base.

L’État du Nil bleu, le Kordofan méridional et la région d’Abyei se caractérisent par la fragilité des réseaux de soins de santé primaires, un accès limité aux services de nutrition et des systèmes surchargés d’approvisionnement en eau et d’assainissement. Le Soudan oriental continue de connaître par intermittence des problèmes d’insécurité et des besoins humanitaires non négligeables. 

Au Soudan du sud, les effets à long terme du conflit ont des conséquences néfastes sur les enfants et les femmes. Les voies problématiques de transport routier et la saison des pluies entravent l’accès à certaines populations. Les services sociaux de base sont limités et répartis de manière inégale. Le retour de près de 240 000 personnes exerce des pressions supplémentaires sur des communautés déjà vulnérables. Des maladies tropicales rares sévissent au Soudan du sud, le paludisme y est endémique, alors que la rougeole, la fièvre jaune, la méningite et le choléra continuent de faire des victimes. De vastes régions connaissent l’insécurité alimentaire, la malnutrition aiguë chez les enfants de moins de cinq ans atteint des niveaux inacceptables et les carences en micronutriments restent problématiques. Si la prévalence générale du VIH/SIDA est estimée à 2,6%, des taux de plus de 20% ont été enregistrés. Seulement 40% de la population a accès à l’eau potable, tandis que la plupart des habitants ne disposent pas de moyens hygiéniques d’évacuation des déchets solides. La prévalence de la diarrhée est de 43% chez les enfants âgés de 6 à 59 mois et la dracunculose est endémique dans près de 3400 villages. Bien que les activités aient permis d’augmenter le nombre d’enfants qui reçoivent une éducation de base, des centaines de milliers d’autres ne sont pas scolarisés ; les espaces d’apprentissage adaptés aux enfants et les enseignants qualifiés font défaut. On ignore le nombre exact d’enfants associés avec les groupes armés, mais il pourrait avoisiner les 16 000. De vastes étendues du territoire sont minées.

ACTION HUMANITAIRE PRÉVUE POUR 2007

Santé et nutrition : Au Soudan du sud, l’UNICEF vaccinera au moins 3,2 millions de jeunes enfants contre la rougeole et 2 millions de personnes contre la méningite en cas d’épidémie ; il apportera un appui nutritionnel à quelque 300 000 enfants et 25 000 femmes enceintes ou allaitantes, personnes vivant avec le VIH/SIDA et autres individus vulnérables ; il s’efforcera de réduire les taux de malnutrition aiguë globale à moins de 15% ; il s’assurera que jusqu’à 10 000 personnes touchées par des urgences à déclenchement rapide reçoivent des fournitures médicales dans les 72 heures ; et il diffusera des informations visant à réduire le risque de contracter le VIH/SIDA à 600 000 jeunes au moins. Au Soudan du nord, y compris le Darfour, l’UNICEF améliorera la qualité des soins prénatals et l’accès aux hôpitaux principaux pour y recevoir des soins obstétriques d’urgence de 110 000 femmes enceintes et 98 000 nourrissons survivants dans l’État du Darfour, et il accroîtra la participation des conjoints/partenaires aux services de santé génésique et de maternité sans risque ; il garantir l’accès à des soins de santé primaires de 3,7 millions de personnes touchées par le conflit au Darfour ; il protègera des enfants de moins de cinq ans et des femmes enceintes contre les maladies évitables par la vaccination ; il administrera deux doses du vaccina antipoliomyélitique à 5,8 millions d’enfants de moins de cinq ans et il atteindra  2 millions de personnes avec des activités sanitaires en cas d’épidémie.

Eau et assainissement : Au Soudan du sud, l’UNICEF desservira près de 80 000 rapatriés dans des points relais le long des principales routes de retour et aux centres d’accueil ; il constituera des stocks préalables de fournitures de base pour l’approvisionnement en eau et l’assainissement pour 2000 ménages supplémentaires touchés par les urgences ; il aidera environ 100 000 personnes vivant dans des zones où la dracunculose est endémique en forant quelque 200 trous de sonde ; il formera et équipera 25 personnes pour qu’elles forment à leur tour des équipes d’intervention d’urgence au niveau de l’État ; et il formera près de 200 homologues pour les équipes d’intervention d’urgence. Au Soudan du nord, y compris le Darfour, au moins 539 000 membres de communautés touchées par une situation d’urgence auront accès à des systèmes améliorés d’approvisionnement en eau et recevront des informations sur l’hygiène, alors que 136 000 personnes auront accès à des méthodes appropriées d’évacuation des déchets solides ; de plus, les capacités locales d’intervention en cas de situation d’urgence seront renforcées.

Éducation : Au Soudan du sud, l’UNICEF s’assurera que 750 000 enfants déjà scolarisés demeurent à l’école ; il inscrira à l’école quelque 500 000 garçons et filles, orphelins et autres enfants vulnérables non scolarisés, et des enfants démobilisés ainsi que 100 000 enfants rapatriés et il encouragera leur participation à l’éducation de base (y compris les systèmes d’apprentissage de remplacement pour les filles trop âgées et les jeunes non scolarisés) ; il améliorera les aptitudes de 2500 enseignants/animateurs par la formation accélérée aux méthodologies interactives d’enseignement, et il prodiguera des cours intensifs d’anglais à 200 enseignants rapatriés. Au Soudan du nord, l’UNICEF assurera une éducation de base de qualité à 59 500 enfants supplémentaires en âge de fréquenter l’école primaire et près de 9500 enfants nomades à Abyei et au Darfour ; il renforcera la capacité des éducateurs locaux moyennant la formation professionnelle de 2000 adolescents et la formation de 155 enseignants ; il transmettra à 100 000 enfants et 200 enseignants des informations correctes et des compétences essentielles afin de réduire le risque de contracter le VIH/SIDA et d’accroître leurs capacités à informer d’autres personnes.

Protection et droits de l’homme : Soudan du sud : L’UNICEF assurera des services communautaires de protection à l’intention de 10 000 enfants extrêmement vulnérables ; il créera et formera 300 comités communautaires d’action sociale ; il étendra la couverture des activités psychosociales à 10 000 enfants vulnérables et leurs mères ; il surveillera et traitera les violations graves des droits des enfants et des femmes ; il soutiendra quelque 5500 enfants en leur apportant des services de prévention de la séparation et/ou de recherche des familles ; il fera mieux accepter 3000 personnes vivant avec le VIH/SIDA et leurs enfants et élargira le soutien communautaire dont ils bénéficient. Soudan du nord : L’UNICEF coordonnera efficacement les activités de protection de l’enfance dans les trois États du Darfour ; il formera aux soins psychosociaux 1000 enseignants dans 350 écoles au Kordofan méridional, au Darfour occidental et à Khartoum ; il mettra en place des systèmes/mécanismes appropriés pour réunir des données sur le recrutement de mineurs dans les forces et groupes armés et y réagir ; il facilitera la démobilisation de 1500 enfants enrôlés ou utilisés par les forces et les groupes armés, et aidera ceux qui bénéficient de services de réinsertion et ont besoin d’un soutien ; il épaulera les services de recherche des familles, de regroupement familial et de réinsertion à l’intention de quelque 1500 enfants déplacés et non accompagnés ; il assurera un soutien psychosocial, surveillera la situation de la protection et recueillera des données sur les rapatriements, etc. au bénéfice de quelque 150 000 enfants et jeunes vulnérables.

Sensibilisation aux dangers des mines : L’UNICEF sensibilisera aux dangers des mines et évitera les accidents et les décès causés par les engins non explosés et les mines au bénéfice de 600 000 personnes, notamment des personnes déplacées, des rapatriés et des habitants des zones à risque.

Coordination et services communs : L’UNICEF soutiendra la sécurité du personnel des Nations Unies et des ONG qui assurent des services humanitaires et tentent d’avoir accès aux communautés vulnérables du Soudan du sud.

Articles non alimentaires et hébergements d’urgence : L’UNICEF identifiera 30 000 ménages vulnérables parmi les personnes déplacées, les rapatriés et les communautés hôtes (environ 150 000 personnes) au Soudan du sud grâce à des évaluations interinstitutions et leur fournira un hébergement et des articles de secours par le biais de mécanismes locaux de coordination ; il distribuera à 330 000 personnes déplacées, rapatriés et ménages vulnérables au Soudan du nord des articles pour améliorer leurs conditions de vie.

Soutien intersectoriel pour le retour : L’UNICEF desservira quelque 500 000 personnes déplacées au nord et 100 000 rapatriés au sud ainsi que 2,5 millions de personnes de la population générale en leur fournissant des informations sur les mouvements, et sur des questions de santé, de protection et de bien-être, notamment des renseignements sur leurs droits ; il s’assurera que le Gouvernement et d’autres parties prenantes sont à même d’aider les retours de manière coordonnée et organisée.

Infrastructure de base et développement des zones d’installation : Au bénéfice de près de 900 000 personnes dans 205 communautés vulnérables, l’UNICEF renforcera les capacités des administrations locales à assurer des services de base, à améliorer l’infrastructure, à promouvoir la participation et à satisfaire les besoins de la population, notamment des rapatriés et des communautés hôtes.

Besoins financiers de l’UNICEF pour 2007 ($US)

Secteur

Soudan du nord,
y compris Darfour

Soudan du sud

Total

Santé et nutrition

39 797 195

10 400 000

50 197 195

Eau et assainissement

23 529 500

6 020 000

29 549 500

Éducation

  3 421 622

  8 500 000

11 921 622

Protection et droits de l’homme

  7 945 000

  2 525 000

10 470 000

Sensibilisation aux dangers des mines

National

  1 971 200

Articles non alimentaires et hébergement

12 778 285

  3 200 000

15 978 285

Coordination et services communs

         0

     800 000

     800 000

Soutien intersectoriel pour le retour

National

 

750 000

Infrastructure de base et développement
des zones d’installation

230 760

0

230 760

Total*

87 702 362**

31 445 000**

121 868 562

* Ce total inclut un taux de recouvrement maximal de 7%. Le taux de recouvrement pour les contributions individuelles sera calculé conformément à la décision 2006/7 du Conseil d’administration du 9 juin 2006.

** À l’exclusion des projets nationaux.

Humanitarian Action Report 2007 - Homepage

MENA SUDAN

CRITICAL ISSUES FOR CHILDREN

Sudan continues to be a country characterized by diversity. While the signing of the Comprehensive Peace Agreement in 2005 brought hope for peace and stability, large pockets of humanitarian need persist. In Darfur, the situation of children, women and internally displaced communities remains tenuous despite massive mobilization of humanitarian assistance in the past two years. It is estimated that almost 4 million people have been affected by the conflict – 1.8 million of which are children – and about 2 million are displaced from their homes. Of the displaced, 1 million are estimated to be children and 120,000 have been newly displaced since April 2006. Humanitarian needs are on the rise and a possible upsurge in conflict threatens the fragile situation of the population, already suffering from the displacement and the very limited access to protection and basic services.

Blue Nile State, South Kordofan and Abyei remain characterized by fragile networks for primary health care, limited access to nutrition services and overburdened systems for water and environmental sanitation. Eastern Sudan continues experiencing intermittent insecurity and significant humanitarian need. 

In Southern Sudan, the long-term effects of the conflict continue to negatively impact children and women.  Problematic overland transport routes and the rainy season make access to some populations difficult. Basic social services are limited and inequitably distributed, with the return of some 240,000 people further increasing pressure in already vulnerable communities. Southern Sudan is host to rare tropical diseases, while malaria is endemic and measles, yellow fever, meningitis and cholera continue to take lives. Large areas are food insecure, acute malnutrition among under-five children is unacceptably high and micronutrient deficiencies remain problematic. While blanket HIV/AIDS prevalence is estimated at 2.6 per cent, rates of over 20 per cent have been recorded. Only 40 per cent of the people have access to safe drinking water while most do not have access to sanitary means of excreta disposal. The prevalence of diarrhoea is 43 per cent in children aged 6-59 months and guinea worm is endemic in some 3,400 villages. Despite efforts that have increased the number of children receiving basic education, hundreds of thousands remain out of school, while child-friendly learning spaces and qualified teachers are lacking. The exact number of children associated with armed groups is unknown, but it may be around 16,000. Large areas are known to be contaminated by landmines and unexploded ordnance.

PLANNED HUMANITARIAN ACTION FOR 2007

Health and nutrition: In Southern Sudan, UNICEF will immunize at least 3.2 million young children against measles and 2 million people against meningitis in case of outbreak; provide nutritional support to an estimated 300,000 children and 25,000 pregnant or lactating mothers, persons living with HIV/AIDS and other vulnerable people; aim to reduce global acute malnutrition rates to less than 15 per cent; ensure that up to 10,000 people affected by rapid onset emergencies receive medical supplies within 72 hours; and reach at least 600,000 young people with information and skills to reduce their risk of acquiring HIV/AIDS. In North Sudan, including Darfur, UNICEF will improve the quality of antenatal care and access to and attendance at referral hospitals for emergency obstetric care for 110,000 pregnant women and 98,000 surviving infants in Darfur state and increase husbands’/partners’ participation in safe motherhood/reproductive health services; ensure access to primary health care for 3.7 million conflict-affected in Darfur; protect under-five children and pregnant women against vaccine-preventable diseases; administer two doses of polio vaccine to 5.8 million under-five children; and reach 2 million people with health-related disease outbreak activities.

Water and environmental sanitation: In Southern Sudan, UNICEF will serve an estimated 80,000 returnees at way stations along major routes of return and at reception points; pre-position basic water and sanitation supplies for an additional 2,000 households affected by emergencies; assist an estimated 100,000 people living in guinea worm-affected areas through the creation of approximately 200 boreholes; train and adequately equip some 25 persons to train emergency response teams (ERTs) at the state level; and train about 200 counterparts for ERTs. In North Sudan, including Darfur, at least 539,000 emergency affected community members will gain access to improved water and be reached with hygiene messages, while 136,000 will gain access to adequate means of excreta disposal, and local capacity to respond to emergencies will be enhanced.

Education: In Southern Sudan, UNICEF will ensure that 750,000 children already enrolled remain in school; enrol an estimated 500,000 out-of-school boys and girls, orphans and vulnerable children (OVC) and demobilized child soldiers as well as 100,000 returnee children, and promote their participation in basic education (including alternative learning systems for over-aged girls and out-of-school youth); improve the skills of 2,500 teachers/facilitators through fast-track training on interactive teaching methodologies, and provide intensive English language training to 200 returnee teachers. In North Sudan, UNICEF will ensure access to quality basic education for an additional 59,500 primary school-aged children, and nearly 9,500 nomadic children in Abyei and Darfur; strengthen the capacity of local educationalists through vocational and teacher training for 2,000 adolescents and 155 teachers; and reach 100,000 children and 200 teachers with correct information and life skills to reduce their risk of acquiring HIV/AIDS and increase their ability to inform others.

Protection and human rights: Southern Sudan: UNICEF will reach 10,000 highly vulnerable children with community-based protection services; establish and train 300 community welfare committees; extend coverage of psychosocial activities to 10,000 vulnerable children and their mothers; monitor and address grave violation of children’s and women’s rights; support some 5,500 children with prevention of separation and/or family tracing services; increase acceptance of and community support for 3,000 persons living with HIV/AIDS and their children. North Sudan: UNICEF will coordinate child protection efforts in all three Darfur states; train on psychosocial care 1,000 teachers in 350 schools in South Kordofan, West Darfur and Khartoum; establish appropriate systems/mechanisms to document and respond to under-age recruitment by armed forces and groups; support the release of 1,500 children recruited or used by armed forces and groups and of those benefiting from reintegration services in need of support; support tracing, family reunification and reintegration services for some 1,500 displaced and separated children; provide psychosocial support, protection monitoring, information about returns etc. to some 150,000 vulnerable children/youth.

Mine action: UNICEF will raise awareness to avoid injury and death caused by unexploded ordnance and mines among 600,000 people, including internally displaced persons (IDPs), returnees and people in at-risk areas.

Coordination and common services: UNICEF will support the security of UN and NGO workers providing humanitarian services and attempting to access vulnerable communities in Southern Sudan.

Non-food items and emergency shelter: UNICEF will identify 30,000 vulnerable IDPs and returnee and host community households (about 150,000 people) in Southern Sudan through inter-agency assessments and provide shelter and relief items through area-based coordination mechanisms; provide 330,000 IDPs, returnees and vulnerable households in North Sudan with items to improve their living conditions.

Cross-sectoral support for return: UNICEF will reach some 500,000 IDPs in the North, 100,000 returnees in the South, and 2.5 million from the general population with information on movement, health, protection and well-being issues, including information about their rights, and ensure Government and other stakeholders are organized to assist returns in a coordinated and organized manner.

Basic infrastructure and settlement development: Benefiting some 900,000 people in 205 vulnerable communities, UNICEF will strengthen capacities of local administrations to provide basic services, improve infrastructure, promote participation and meet the needs of the population, including returnee and host groups.

Summary of UNICEF financial needs for 2007 (US$)

Sector

North Sudan, including Darfur

Southern Sudan

Total

Health and nutrition

39,797,195

10,400,000

50,197,195

Water and environmental sanitation

23,529,500

6,020,000

29,549,500

Éducation

  3,421,622

  8,500,000

11,921,622

Protection and human rights

  7,945,000

  2,525,000

10,470,000

Mine action

National

  1,971,200

Non-food items and emergency shelter

12,778,285

  3,200,000

15,978,285

Coordination and common services

         0

     800,000

     800,000

Cross-sectoral support for return

National

 

750, 000

Basic infrastructure and settlement development

230,760

0

230,760

Total*

87,702,362**

31,445,000**

121,868,562

* The total includes a maximum recovery rate of 7 per cent. The actual recovery rate on contributions will be calculated in accordance with UNICEF Executive Board Decision 2006/7 dated 9 June 2006.
** These totals exclude the national projects.