人道主义行动报告

2009年《人道主义行动报告》关注冲突、气候和饥饿问题

UNICEF Photo: Ann M. Veneman, Geneva, launch, Humanitarian Action Report
© UNICEF Geneva/2009/ Pires
联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼出席在日内瓦万国宫举行的本年度《人道主义行动报告》发布会。联合国儿童基金会呼吁寻求十亿多美元的资金,用以帮助全世界被卷入危机中的妇女和儿童。

瑞士日内瓦,2009年1月27日 – 联合国儿童基金会今天呼吁,必须为帮助那些正在受到冲突、自然灾害以及包括传染病和饥饿在内的其它人道主义危机影响的数百万妇女和儿童做更多的工作。

在发布本年度《人道主义行动报告》(HAR)的记者招待会上,联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼呼吁寻求十亿多美元的资金,用以为36个国家的妇女和儿童提供救生援助——比去年的要求多出大约17%。

维尼曼主任说:“在这种时候,最弱势的人群往往受伤害最深。我们不能让这些人挨饿、没有医疗保障、没有最基本的生活必需品。非常重要的是让政府、私人捐助者和基金知道,继续正在进行的人道主义援助工作是多么的重要。”

资金的超出部分主要用于非洲的人道主义现状。苏丹、刚果民主共和国、索马里、乌干达和津巴布韦将获得所寻求资金的半数以上。

加沙地带的冲突

与维尼曼主任一起发布报告的是联合国儿童基金会中东及北非地区主任西格里德.卡格(Sigrid Kaag),她一直积极参与处理加沙地带不断演变的局势。该报告涉及的她所管辖地区的国家包括也门、苏丹、伊拉克、吉布提和被占领的巴勒斯坦领土。

卡格女士讲述最近发生在加沙的冲突,在不到一个月的时间里,上千人被杀害,对妇女和儿童造成了灾难性的影响。

卡格女士说:“目前,联合国儿童基金会正在扩大其在加沙地带的工作。最重要的事是让孩子们尽快回到学校,这是对加沙的儿童和加沙的未来的投资。”

食品价格高涨

今年的HAR强调弱势群体所面临的两项另外的挑战,即食品价格高涨和气候变化问题。

在HAR中被提及的多数国家都受到食品价格高涨的不利影响,儿童和妇女的营养状况恶化,且加重了他们的易受伤害性。

维尼曼主任解释道:“联合国儿童基金会一直积极探讨的一个粮食危机问题是营养得不到保障的问题。它不只是能否获得足够热量的问题,而且是营养是否充足的问题。如果一名两岁以下的儿童在生命的最初几年没有获得足够的营养,有研究显示,他或她在学校的学习能力及成年以后的生存能力将会受到终生的影响。 因此,必须认真对待粮食问题。”

采取“极端手段”

在2007年,估计有8.5亿人营养不良。现在,这个数字已经增加到将近9.5亿人。自2007年5月至2008年5月期间,粮食价格指数增长了50%,导致许多家庭负担不起孩子所需的基本食品。

食品价格高涨的直接影响非常明显——使孩子容易受到饥饿和疾病的影响。然而影响还不止于此,在与由政治灾难和艾滋病所引起的长期战斗中,高食品价格还会增加儿童的脆弱性。

当家庭无法负担孩子所需要的基本食品时,往往被迫采取极端手段,导致出现更多的童工和早婚现象。同时,学校的出勤率可能会下降。

气候变化问题

这些贫困群体中的许多人也同时首当其冲地受到气候变化的影响,不成比例地遭受自然灾害发生频率增加和程度加剧的影响。

联合国儿童基金会在报告中引用一项研究结果时指出:未来十年内,在遭受与气候有关的灾难影响的人群中,儿童和妇女将占65%,其中1.75亿灾民将是儿童。

为了迎接这些挑战,联合国儿童基金会认识到采取措施降低灾难风险的重要性,致力于与地方、国家及国际合作伙伴携手,加强对自然灾难的早期预警、防备和应急系统,从而加强弱势社区的适应能力。


 

 

Video

2009年1月27日:在联合国儿童基金会的《人道主义行动报告》发布会上,安.维尼曼主任讲述提供紧急人道主义救援工作中所面临的挑战。
 视频  高速 | 低速

2009年1月21日:联合国儿童基金会记者克里斯.奈尔斯报道2009年《人道主义行动报告》的发布。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

人道主义行动报告

搜索

Humanitarian Action Report

2009 Humanitarian Action Report focuses on conflict, climate and hunger

UNICEF Image: Ann M. Veneman, Geneva, launch, Humanitarian Action Report
© UNICEF Geneva/2009/ Pires
UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman at the launch of this year's Humanitarian Action Report at the Palais des Nations, Geneva. UNICEF is appealing for just over $1 billion to help women and children caught up in emergencies all over the world.

By Miranda Eeles

GENEVA, Switzerland, 27 January 2009 – More must be done to help the millions of children and women whose lives are being impacted by conflict, natural disasters and other humanitarian crises including epidemics and hunger, UNICEF said today.

Speaking at a press conference to launch this year’s Humanitarian Action Report (HAR), UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman requested more than one billion dollars to provide women and children in 36 countries with lifesaving assistance – an increase of some 17 per cent compared to last year’s appeal.

“In these times, it is the most vulnerable who often suffer the most,” Veneman said. “We cannot allow these people to starve, to be left without health care, to be left without the most basic necessities to live. It is very important for governments, private sector donors and foundations to keep in mind how critical it is to keep humanitarian work ongoing.”

The additional funding is primarily needed for ongoing humanitarian situations in Africa. Five countries – Sudan, Democratic Republic of Congo, Somalia, Uganda and Zimbabwe – will receive more than half of the funds requested.

Conflict in Gaza

Launching the report alongside Veneman was UNICEF’s Regional Director for the Middle East and North Africa Sigrid Kaag, who has been actively engaged in addressing the unfolding situation in Gaza. Countries in her region that are included in the report are Yemen, Sudan, Iraq, Djibouti and Occupied Palestinian Territory.

Kaag spoke about how devastating an impact the recent conflict in Gaza has had on women and children, where hundreds were killed in less than a month.

"UNICEF is now expanding its work in Gaza,” said Kaag. “The most important thing is to get the children back to school as soon as possible.  It's an investment in the future and in the children of Gaza."

High food prices

This year’s HAR highlights two additional challenges facing vulnerable populations -  high food prices and climate change.

A majority of the countries included in the HAR have been negatively affected by rising food prices, aggravating the nutritional well-being of children and women and increasing their vulnerability. 

“One of the things that UNICEF has been proactive in discussing in the food crisis has been the issue of nutrition insecurity,” explained Veneman. “It is not just about having enough calories, but enough nutrients. If a child under the age of two does not get enough nutrition in his or her early years, there are studies that show that the ability of that child to learn in school and therefore earn as an adult will be impacted throughout life. Therefore, the issue of food has to be taken seriously.”

Resorting to 'extreme measures'

In 2007, an estimated 850 million people suffered from under-nutrition. That number has now risen to nearly 950 million. Between May 2007 and May 2008, the food price index rose by 50 per cent, making it impossible for many families to afford basic foods for their children.

While the immediate impact of higher food prices is obvious – rendering children vulnerable to starvation and disease – its influence does not stop there. Higher food prices also increase the vulnerability of children in protracted conflicts caused by political disasters and HIV/AIDS.

When families can’t afford basic food for their children they are often forced to take extreme measures, resorting to child labour and early marriage with greater frequency. At the same time, school attendance is likely to fall.

Climate change issues

Many of these same impoverished groups also bear the brunt of climate change, suffering disproportionately from the rising frequency and intensity of natural disasters.

In the report, UNICEF quotes a study that states children and women represent 65 per cent of all those who will be affected by climate related disasters every year in the next decade, of which 175 million will be children.
 
To meet these challenges, UNICEF recognises the importance of disaster risk-reduction measures. The organization is working with local, national and international partners to strengthen early warning, preparedness and response systems for national disasters – and thereby strengthen the resilience of vulnerable communities.


 

 

Video

27 January 2009:
UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman discusses the challenges of providing emergency humanitarian aid at the launch of UNICEF's annual Humanitarian Action Report.
 VIDEO  high | low

21 Janaury 2009:
UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on the release of the 2009 Humanitarian Action Report.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search