Languages
English
Español
Français
عربي
中文

东部和南部非洲

© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-1019/Holt

沙尘暴侵袭位于肯尼亚达达阿布地区的一个索马里难民营地。超过1300万人的生活因非洲之角的旱灾受到影响。贫困和冲突持续威胁着这一地区的儿童。

东部和南部非洲

由于极度贫困、自然灾害频繁、政治局面不稳定以及经济领域的不确定因素,非洲东部和南部地区的妇女儿童在面临营养不良、虐待和疾病等紧急情况时,更容易陷入困境。今年非洲之角地区发生严重干旱,加上高涨的食品价格和索马里冲突,索马里某些地区已经发生饥荒并造成大量儿童死亡。该地区超过1300 万人需要人道主义援助。在索马里南部地区,36% 的5岁以下儿童正在遭受急性营养不良的折磨。1数十年战争带来的遗留问题使成立不久的南苏丹共和国面临巨大人道主义挑战,恢复被毁坏的基础设施,改善目前非常有限的基础服务。

根据对2012 年初的预测,我们着重强调了可能威胁赞比西河沿岸国家的重大洪灾和飓风的可能性。布隆迪面临着日益严峻的食品无保障问题以及爆发疟疾和麻疹的危险。乌干达则仍须应对干旱、洪水以及难民潮问题。2009 年,在全球艾滋病毒感染者中,有34% 居住在南部非洲的10个国家,其中女性青年的感染率是男性的8倍2,这使妇女儿童更容易受到艾滋病的威胁。

应对2012年的迫切需求

区域办事处将继续为边界地区处在紧急情况中的各国儿童主张权利。各非政府组织和包括紧急情况支持部门及技术小组在内的区域性机构,将同联合国各机构一道共同为人道主义行动提供技术支持和质量保证,其中包括与联合国难民署合作建立难民营地。提前预警和预先行动系统将用于提升在紧急情况中的应对能力,改善对流离失所和健康危机的应对措施。为此,我们将做出以下努力:

布隆迪
由于不安全因素的增多和政治暴乱风险的日益严峻,联合国儿童基金会将强化健康、营养、WASH(水、环境和卫生)的服务以应对长期的食品不安全问题及反复暴发的霍乱和麻疹。  

乌干达
联合国儿童基金会将强化分散式的应急准备工作,提升应急响应能力以降低干旱和洪水给社区带来的危害。由于邻国不安定的局势,可能造成大批难民的涌入,尤其是来自刚果民主共和国的难民,对此要做好应对准备。

安哥拉、马拉维、莫桑比克、纳米比亚、赞比亚  
为应对重大洪灾和飓风的风险,联合国儿童基金会驻各国办事处将支持对合作伙伴的培训,强化部门/群集项目间的协作机制,提升国家灾害管理能力。 由于洪水过后暴发重大疾病的风险,各国办事处致力于 WASH(水、环境和卫生)的准备工作、健康应急响应、儿童保护以及应急教育。

斯威士兰
金融危机大大增加了政治的不稳定性,教育、健康服务以及安全网络项目遭到了破坏。为此,联合国儿童基金会将重点支持对孤儿和弱势儿童进行必需健康服务。该国仍会遭受极端天气的侵害,霍乱、艾滋病和抗药性肺结核等传染性疾病也将继续威胁该国的国民健康。

联合国儿童基金会2012年的人道主义资金需求

2011年下半年,联合国儿童基金会主要致力于应对非洲之角地区的营养危机,同时首次宣布实施多国协同紧急响应。负责应对此次危机的区域办事处主任受命于全球紧急事务协调专员。区域小组提供了技术支持并确保了吉布提、埃塞俄比亚和索马里三国应对策略的一致性。2011 年7 月发布的儿童人道主义行动的资金需求为745万美元。在众多捐助者的响应和支持下,截至2011年10 月底,已经收到资金总额约96 万美元,约占13%。

在内罗毕成立的一个运作中心提供并共享实时信息,该中心工作人员超过176人。联合国儿童基金会驻各国办事处筹集了价值超过7300万美元的应急物资。

区域小组还致力于跨各项目领域的减灾工作。布隆迪和莱索托的教育机构在减灾及应急准备方面的能力得以提高。

WASH(水、环境和卫生)小组致力于降低霍乱患病风险、制订针对该区域的实用应急指南以及推广低成本高效率的干预措施,来降低大规模腹泻暴发的风险。

营养小组首次为该区域制订配合急性营养不良综合管理计划的区域发展框架。

2012年的资金需求

联合国儿童基金会正在寻求300.2万美元的资金,来继续该地区的人道主义工作。这笔资金包括在2012 年中期扩大非洲之角营养危机的援助范围,继续降低风险并在其余地区应对灾情。及时且充足的资金对于从紧急应对向长期支持顺利过渡也至关重要。另外,需要891.3万美元来应对来自安哥拉、布隆迪、马拉维、莫桑比克、纳米比亚、斯威士兰、乌干达以及赞比亚的人道主义需求。 总需求为1191.5万美元。

关于2012 年人道主义行动的更多信息,请访问www.unicef.org/hac2012 和联合国儿童基金会驻国家办事处的网站www.unicef.org/esaro.

1 United Nations Children’s Fund, ‘Response to the Horn Of Africa Emergency: A crisis affecting life, livelihoods and ways of life’, UNICEF Eastern and Southern Africa Regional Office, Nairobi,  October 2011, pp. 4, 7.
2 Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS, ‘Global Reports: UNAIDS report on the global AIDS epidemic 2010’, UNAIDS, Geneva, 2010, pp. 10, 28.

Humanitarian Action for Children 2012
Languages
Español
Français
عربي
中文

EASTERN AND SOUTHERN AFRICA

© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-1019/Holt

A dust storm invades a camp for Somali refugees near the town of Dadaab in Kenya. More than 13 million people are affected by drought in the Horn of Africa. Poverty and conflict continue to exact a harsh toll on children throughout the region.

Children and Women in Crisis

Extreme poverty, frequent natural disasters, political instability and uncertain economic conditions leave children and women in Eastern and Southern Africa particularly vulnerable to life-altering emergencies, including undernourishment, abuse and disease.  This year’s severe drought in the Horn of Africa, combined with soaring food prices and the conflict in Somalia, has caused famine in some regions of Somalia and taken a harsh toll on children. More than 13 million people are in need of humanitarian assistance throughout the Horn, with 36 per cent of children under 5 in southern Somalia suffering from acute malnutrition.1  The legacy of decades of war poses significant humanitarian challenges in the new Republic of South Sudan, stretching the capacity of deteriorated infrastructure and very limited basic services.

Early 2012 forecasts highlight the likelihood of significant flood risk and possible cyclone activity, posing a particular danger for countries along the Zambezi River. Burundi faces increasing food insecurity as well as outbreaks of cholera and measles, while Uganda remains vulnerable to drought, floods and refugee influxes. Of the total number of people living with HIV worldwide in 2009, 34 per cent resided in 10 countries of Southern Africa, where adolescent women are eight times more likely to be infected than male counterparts,2 making women and children significantly more vulnerable. 

Meeting Urgent Needs in 2012

The Regional Office will continue to advocate for the rights of children in emergencies across borders. In coordination with UN agencies, NGOs and regional institutions, the emergency support unit and technical teams at the regional level will ensure technical support and quality assurance for humanitarian work, including partnership with UNHCR in refugee camp settings. Early Warning, Early Action systems will be used to increase preparedness and improve response to displacement and health crises. Efforts will also include:

Burundi
In the face of the risk of increased insecurity and political violence, UNICEF will strengthen health, nutrition and WASH service delivery in response to the high levels of chronic food insecurity and repeated outbreaks of cholera and measles.  

Uganda
UNICEF will strengthen decentralized emergency preparedness and response capacity in order to reduce the vulnerability of communities to drought and floods and prepare for possible refugee influxes due to insecurity in neighbouring countries, especially the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Angola, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia and Zambia  
In preparation for significant flood risk and possible cyclone activity, UNICEF country offices will support training of partners and strengthening of sector/cluster coordination mechanisms, as well as contribute to national capacities for disaster management. With a significant risk of disease outbreaks associated with floods, the country offices are focusing on readiness for WASH and health response, as well as child protection and emergency education.

Swaziland
UNICEF will strengthen support to essential health services for orphans and vulnerable children in response to a major financial crisis that is triggering increased political uncertainty and threatening to undermine education and health services, including safety net programmes. The country also continues to experience a variety of hazards associated with extreme weather conditions and increased disease burden due to communicable diseases such as cholera, HIV and AIDS, and drug-resistant tuberculosis.

Humanitarian Funding at Work: Highlights from 2011

Response to the nutrition crisis in the Horn of Africa dominated the second half of 2011, with UNICEF’s first-ever declared multi-country corporate emergency. Led by the Regional Director, who was appointed Global Emergency Coordinator for the crisis, the regional team provided technical support and ensured a coherent strategy across Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya and Somalia. In response to the revised Humanitarian Action for Children request of US$7,450,000 issued in July, a total of US$963,863 (13 per cent) had been received by October 2011 with the support of donors.

An operations centre, established in Nairobi, provided and shared real-time information and more than 176 personnel were part of a surge response. UNICEF country offices procured more than US$73 million worth of emergency supplies.

The regional team also focused on disaster risk reduction across programme sectors. The capacity of national education institutions was strengthened in disaster risk reduction and emergency preparedness and response in Burundi and Lesotho.

The WASH team focused on cholera risk, developing response guidelines for use across the region, and also promoted low-cost, high-impact interventions to reduce the risk of diarrhoeal outbreaks.

The nutrition team initiated the development of a regional framework for the integrated management of acute malnutrition.

Funding requirements for 2012

UNICEF is requesting US$3,002,000 to continue coordinating humanitarian work in the region. This includes scaled-up support for the Horn of Africa nutrition crisis through mid-2012 and continued support to reduce risk and respond to disasters in the rest of the region. Prompt and full funding is also important to ensure a smooth transition from emergency to longer-term support. An additional US$8,913,000 is requested to prepare for and respond to humanitarian needs in Angola, Burundi, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Swaziland, Uganda, Swaziland and Zambia. The total requirements amount to US$11,915,000.

More information on humanitarian action planned for 2012 can be found at www.unicef.org/hac2012 and the regional office website at www.unicef.org/esaro.

1 United Nations Children’s Fund, ‘Response to the Horn Of Africa Emergency: A crisis affecting life, livelihoods and ways of life’, UNICEF Eastern and Southern Africa Regional Office, Nairobi,  October 2011, pp. 4, 7.
2 Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS, ‘Global Reports: UNAIDS report on the global AIDS epidemic 2010’, UNAIDS, Geneva, 2010, pp. 10, 28.