苏丹

联合国各机构对苏丹人道主义救援危机表示关切

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2005-0994/Haviv
2006年,一名男孩在西达尔富尔的埃尔. 里亚德流离失所者营地洗手。苏丹吊销16个非政府救援组织的行动,正引发新的人道主义挑战。

美国纽约, 2009年3月9日-联合国儿童基金会和其他一些联合国机构已对苏丹政府最近吊销16个非政府救援组织的行动表示了深切关注。

 点击此处观看视频

吊销行动将减缓和某种程度的中断达尔富尔和该国其他地区的重要的人道主义救援工作。

“如果不立即恢复这些机构提供的拯救生命的救援工作,数以百万计的苏丹民众的生活很快就会受到长期而深刻的影响。在任何一段合理的时间内,这些机构长期提供救援的能力和专业知识都是不可能被取代的,”联合国各机构的联合声明中指出。

这些项目“不能停止”,联合国儿童基金会紧急方案办公室主任路易斯-乔治.阿瑟诺(Louis-Georges Arsenault)说。“如果我们不能够使这些行动持续下去,这‎场人道主义危机必将导致儿童和妇女的死亡。”

对妇女和儿童的影响

联合国儿童基金会对遭受暴力和干旱影响的妇女和儿童的救援能力,将因吊销行动受到极大影响。在苏丹,许多机构的工作是和被吊销注册且目前无法开展工作的非政府组织一道合作开展的。

联合国儿童基金会担心,此举将彻底中断水供应、卫生设施、医疗保健、营养、教育以及对弱势人群的保护。据估计,有116万人,他们中的大部分人来自达尔富尔,在未来的几周内可能无法获得水和卫生设施供应。大约150万可能无法获得基本医疗保健,其中包括生殖保健服务。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2006-2193/Cranston
2005年,苏丹南达尔富尔,一个孩子从联合国运送学习用品的直升飞机旁经过。

据联合国儿童基金会、联合国难民事务高级专员、联合国联合后勤中心、世界粮食计划署、世界卫生组织和人道主义事务协调办公室发表的联合声明指出,被吊销的组织占达尔富尔救援能力的一半以上。

紧急情况

联合国儿童基金会正在寻求替代办法,以维持达尔富尔和苏丹北部其他地区的儿童和妇女方案的实施,此举响应了联合国秘书长潘基文的呼吁,恢复非政府组织紧急情况的全面运行状态。

达尔富尔是世界上人道主义危机最严重的地区。每天都有数千人死于暴力、疾病和饥饿。强奸、杀人、村庄的纵火和掠夺造成大量家庭不断的流离失所。妇女和儿童成为这一旷日持久冲突的,首当其冲的受害者。

据联合国的联合声明,仅在达尔富尔地区,被吊销的救援组织为470万人提供了一条生命线。


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年3月6日,联合国儿童基金会紧急方案办公室主任路易斯-乔治.阿瑟诺(Louis-Georges Arsenault)谈及联合国儿童基金会对苏丹人道主义救援局势的关注。
 视频: 高速 | 低速

搜索

Sudan

UN agencies express concern over humanitarian aid crisis in Sudan

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2005-0994/Haviv
A boy washes his hands at Al-Riyad Camp for displaced people in West Darfur in 2006. The suspension of 16 aid NGOs now poses new humanitarian challenges in Sudan.

NEW YORK, USA, 9 March 2009 – UNICEF and several other UN agencies have expressed deep concern about the Sudanese Government’s recent suspension of the activities of 16 non-governmental aid organizations.

VIDEO: Watch now

The suspensions are slowing down and in some cases halting vital humanitarian operations in Darfur and elsewhere in the country.

“If the life-saving assistance these agencies were providing is not restored shortly, it will have immediate, lasting and profound impacts on the well-being of millions of Sudanese citizens. It is not possible, in any reasonable time frame, to replace the capacity and expertise these agencies have provided over an extended period of time,” the UN agencies said in a joint statement.

These programmes “cannot stop,” said UNICEF Director of Emergency Programmes Louis-Georges Arsenault. “It’s a humanitarian crisis which will expand by leading to certain death for children and women if we are not able to sustain these operations.”

Impact on women and children

The suspensions will have a serious impact on UNICEF’s ability to assist women and children affected by ongoing violence and drought. Much of the agency’s work in Sudan is done in partnership with NGOs that have had their licenses revoked and are currently unable to operate.

UNICEF fears that the move will seriously disrupt operations delivering water, sanitation, health care, nutrition, education and protection to vulnerable populations. An estimated 1.16 million people, mostly in Darfur, could lose access to water and sanitation supplies in the coming weeks, for example. Some 1.5 million could lose access to basic health care, including reproductive health services.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2006-2193/Cranston
A child walks past a UN helicopter delivering school supplies to South Darfur, Sudan, in 2005.

According to the joint statement – which was issued by UNICEF, the UN High Commissioner for Refugees, UN Joint Logistics Centre, World Food Programme, World Health Organization and Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs – the suspended organizations comprise more than half of the capacity for aid operations in Darfur.

A matter of urgency

While UNICEF is looking for alternative ways to maintain its programmes for children and women in Darfur and other areas of Northern Sudan, it has echoed UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon’s call for restoring the NGOs to their full operational status as a matter of urgency.

Darfur represents one of the world’s gravest humanitarian crises. Women and children bear the brunt of displacement and violence in this long-running conflict.

The suspended aid groups provide a lifeline to 4.7 million people in Darfur alone, according to the UN joint statement.

 


 

 

Video

6 March 2009: UNICEF Director of Emergency Programmes Louis-Georges Arsenault discusses UNICEF’s concerns about the humanitarian aid situation in Sudan.  VIDEO  high | low

New enhanced search