南非

移民在南非与津巴布韦的边境面临人道主义危机

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Video
联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼在对南非边境城镇穆西纳进行的访问中,与逃离津巴布韦等待就业和文件的年轻母亲们交谈。

Shantha Bloemen报道

南非穆西纳,2009年1月22日 – 一场人道主义危机正在南非边境城镇穆西纳展开。历史上,穆西纳一直是移民前往南非较大城市的中转站;现在,它成了许多津巴布韦人不顾一切逃离自己国家的经济和社会崩溃的入境点。

联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼最近对该地区进行访问,参观了穆西纳的“展示区”,这里是许多越境寻求庇护人士的第一站。该机构每天发放300张许可证,已经成为数千名等待证件的移民的临时住所。

 点击此处观看视频

维尼曼主任在听取当地官员的介绍,并与寻求庇护者交谈之后说:“我们在此次访问中审视了来自津巴布韦等待证件的人们的问题,我们得以与许多带着孩子来到这里的母亲们交谈,了解到他们来这里的原因是为了寻找更好的生活。”

在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,“拯救儿童”组织已经在穆西纳为携带幼童的母亲们建立了安全地带,为他们在等待内政部处理证件期间提供食品、玩具和空间。

妇女与儿童面临的危险

贝蒂和她的姐姐找不到更好的出路,都带着小婴儿穿过边境。她们冒险渡过林波波河,又从电网下爬过边境。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Video
联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼与“拯救儿童”组织的琳奈特.穆德昆耶在收容独自过境儿童的收容所中。

贝蒂抱着她六个月的女儿白兰蒂说:“津巴布韦在闹饥荒,我们无法养活自己,这就是我们带着婴儿来这里的原因。没有食品,钱是问题,工作也是问题,我们找不到工作。”贝蒂计划前往南非首都比勒陀利亚,先住在一个朋友家,直到她找到工作为止。

越来越多无人陪伴的儿童也越过边境,他们中的一些人曾经遭受专门掠夺非法过境者的暴力团伙的殴打、抢劫或虐待。许多儿童是孤儿、忍饥挨饿并且极度脆弱。他们多数人靠做零工、乞讨或偷窃勉强生存。

英国“拯救儿童”项目主任琳奈特.穆德昆耶(Lynette Mudekunye)说:“由于无人陪伴的津巴布韦儿童自己入境,他们无法获得庇护许可证。我们估计这个小镇有一千名无人陪伴的儿童,还有更多人住在周围的农村社区。”

缺乏基本服务

穆德昆耶女士在这个南非最北部的城镇说:“穆西纳远离大城市,是种族隔离时期的黑人居住地,所以服务普遍都很差。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Video
联合国儿童基金会记者盖.哈巴德就津巴布韦移民在南非边境城镇穆西纳的状况报道。

她继续说:“我们刚开始在这个区工作的时候,全镇只有一名社工人员。虽然现在增加到了五名,但是仍然还不够照顾该社区的南非儿童的。有些村庄的儿童需要步行30公里去上中学。”

穆德昆耶女士补充说,穆西纳在一条货运路线上,同时也是艾滋病的一个重灾区。

没有结束飞行的迹象

为应对大批移民,教会团体和非政府组织已经在小镇附件建立起救助中心和庇护所。

维尼曼主任在访问中参观了一座庇护所,它坐落在该镇郊外,是一个以前警察使用的拖车式活动房屋,有20名男孩住在那里,每天为他们提供三餐。她听到许多男孩表示渴望继续学习,想重新回到学校。

随着津巴布韦人道主义状况的恶化,一致认为将有越来越多的人来南非寻求庇护。因此,继续加强保护儿童的工作,并且确保为他们提供继续学业的机会将是至关重要的。

联合国儿童基金会南非办事处已经呼吁需要140万美元,用于其扩大对边境地区妇女和儿童的援助——特别是用于供水、环境卫生、个人卫生、教育和儿童保护等领域。


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会记者盖.哈巴德就津巴布韦移民在南非边境城镇穆西纳的状况报道。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

相关链接

津巴布韦瘫痪的供水和卫生系统造成五百多人死于霍乱

搜索

South Africa

Migrants face humanitarian crisis on South Africa’s border with Zimbabwe

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Video
On a visit to the South African border town of Musina, UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman talks with young mothers who have fled Zimbabwe and are waiting for jobs and papers.

By Shantha Bloemen

MUSINA, South Africa, 22 January 2009 – A humanitarian crisis is unfolding in the South African border town of Musina. Historically the transit point for migrants seeking work in the country’s larger cities, it has now become the entry point for many desperate Zimbabweans fleeing the economic and social collapse in their country.

UNICEF Executive Director Ann Veneman recently visited the area, touring the town’s ‘showgrounds’, the first stop for many who cross the border seeking asylum. With 300 permits granted a day, the facility has become a makeshift camp for thousands of waiting migrants.

VIDEO: Watch now

“On our visit we have been looking at the issue of people coming in from Zimbabwe, waiting for their papers,” Ms. Veneman said after being briefed by the local authorities and speaking with asylum seekers. “We’ve had a chance to talk to many of the mothers who have children here about why they’re coming here, and it’s looking for a better life.”

With support from UNICEF, Save the Children has set up a safe space in Musina for mothers with young children. It provides them with food, toys and a place to wait while their papers are processed by the Ministry of Home Affairs.

Dangers for women and children

Betty and her sister, both with young infants, saw no other option than to cross the border. They risked wading through the Limpopo River before climbing under the electric fence that demarcates the border.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Video
The border area, now supporting thousands of refugees from Zimbabwe, already suffered from a shortage of services as a homeland area under apartheid.

“In Zimbabwe, there is hunger. We can’t support ourselves, and that is why we brought our babies here. There is no food, money is a problem, work is a problem, we can’t find jobs,” explained Betty, clutching her six-month-old daughter, Brandy. Betty plans to travel to Pretoria, South Africa’s capital city, and stay with a friend until she can find work. 

More and more unaccompanied children are also crossing the border. Some have been beaten, mugged or abused by the violent gangs that prey on those who informally cross over. Many of the children are orphaned, hungry and extremely vulnerable. Most of them survive on small amounts of money gained through piecemeal jobs, begging and stealing. 

“Unaccompanied Zimbabwean children are unable to get asylum permits because they are coming in on their own,” explained the Director of Programmes at Save the Children UK, Lynette Mudekunye. “Our estimate is that there are 1,000 unaccompanied children in this small little town and many more in the farming communities around.”

Lack of basic services

As the northernmost town in South Africa, Ms. Mudekunye explained, Musina “is far away from big urban centres, and it was in a homeland area during apartheid, so services were generally very poor.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Video
UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman and Lynette Mudekunye of Save the Children in a shelter for children who have crossed the border unaccompanied.

She continued: “When we started working in the district, there was one social worker for the whole municipality. Although that has grown to five, it is still very inadequate even for the South African children in the community. There are villages where children are walking 30 km to get to secondary school.”

Ms. Mudekunye added that Musina, which is on a trucking route, is also in an area that has been hit by HIV and AIDS.

No end of flight in sight

To cope with the numbers of migrants, church groups and NGOs have set up drop-in centres and shelters around town.

During her visit, Ms. Veneman visited a shelter, housed in a former police trailer on the outskirts of town, where 20 boys live together and get three meals a day. She heard from many of the boys that they were eager to continue learning and wanted to go back to school.

As humanitarian conditions in Zimbabwe appear set to worsen, there is a consensus that more and more people will seek refuge in South Africa. So it will be critical to carry on and strengthen the work of protecting children, and to ensure that opportunities for them to continue their education are in place.

UNICEF South Africa has appealed for $1.4 million to scale up its response – especially in the areas of water, sanitation, hygiene, education and child protection – for women and children in the border areas.


 

 

Video

10 January 2009: UNICEF correspondent Guy Hubbard reports on the situation of Zimbabwean migrants in the South African border town of Musina.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search