索马里

索马里南部饥荒蔓延,救济中心治疗营养不良的儿童

“我以为我会饿死”

克里斯.奈尔斯报道

美国纽约,2011 年 8 月 8 日 — 哈比卜.艾萨克第一次离开她位于索马里南部瓦吉德的家,但这并不是出于她的自愿选择。干旱导致庄稼被旱死,家畜死亡。彻底的绝望促使她带着孩子们出走,徒步前往紧邻埃塞俄比亚边界的多洛镇寻求帮助。

视频: 2011 年 8 月 4 日 — 联合国儿童基金会记者克里斯.奈尔斯 (Chris Niles) 报道了联合国儿童基金会为应对索马里南部饥荒问题而采取的大规模紧急援救行动。  在Realplayer中播放

 

“从瓦吉德到这里,我花了九天时间。”她说。“在路上的时候,我非常饥饿。我们没有钱买食物。 我丈夫把我单独留到这儿,因此,我不得不独自一人带着孩子,完成这一旅程。我以为自己会饿死。”

现在,在一个位于多洛镇的难民营,联合国儿童基金会支持的救济中心每天为艾萨克女士和她的家人提供三顿饭。饥荒和战争迫使数百万索马里人背井离乡,而这个营地是帮助他们的项目的一部分。

危在旦夕的儿童

很多救济中心的难民经在前往多洛镇的途中,经历了漫长而危险的旅程,因此,他们的健康状况很差。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-1226/Holt
在索马里摩加迪沙营地的一家救济中心,救援人员为流离失所的难民提供煮好的玉米。

“有些人身体状况还不错,因为他们只经历了 50 公里的旅程。”联合国儿童基金会营养专家艾琳.麦克劳斯基 (Erin McClowskey) 说。“但是有些从更远的八冶和巴尔博亚地区来的人,就显得很虚弱。他们都很瘦弱,有些人还患有很多疾病。”

此次饥荒已经夺去了成千上万人的生命,其中一半是五岁以下的儿童。未来几周内,饥荒可能会蔓延至整个索马里南部地区。超过一百万儿童的生命危在旦夕。

“我们看到,现在严重营养失调的儿童的比例已经达到了50%,”联合国儿童基金会驻索马里代表罗珊.科尔顿 (Rozanne Chorlton) 说。“这个比例令人十分担忧。”

加速响应

联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴正在加速应对索马里和非洲之角其他国家面临的危机。目前,联合国儿童基金会已经带来了足够救助索马里南部6万5千名儿童的物资。据估计,在未来的六个月,救助所有索马里受困儿童需要1.77 亿美元的资金投入。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-1220/Holt
一位父亲带着他生病的女儿在摩加迪沙一家诊所旁的安检站停了下来,很多病人都到那里寻找食物。

“在过去的三、四年里,索马里开展了一项营养计划,最近,该项目援助范围迅速扩大。我们还设立了约 500 个治疗严重营养不良的中心,以覆盖整个索马里。”联合国儿童基金会高级营养专家彼得.黑利 (Peter Hailey) 说。

他还说:“我们以此作为应对当下紧急危机的基础,并不断扩大该项目的覆盖范围 —— 包括使用流动医疗队和社区卫生工作者,以尽可能地救助更多儿童。”

治疗挽救生命

这种举措已经开始挽救生命了。在索马里首都摩加迪沙,一位四个孩子的母亲带着她营养不良的小儿子,来到了联合国儿童基金会救济中心,回忆着她们经受过的苦难。

为了来到救济中心获得帮助,这位母亲在遭受旱灾的土地上徒步行进了160公里。

像其他许多母亲一样,她亲眼看着家畜死亡,孩子的健康日益恶化。“以前,我们养过牛,但在过去的两年里,滴雨未下,一切都没了。”她说,“所有的牛都死了。”

然而,多亏救济中心的治疗,她的儿子目前正在康复中。


 

 

搜索

Somalia

Feeding centres treat malnourished children amidst famine in southern Somalia

'I thought I'd die from hunger'

By Chris Niles

NEW YORK, USA, 8 August 2011 – Habib Isack has left her home in Wajid, southern Somalia, for the first time – but not by choice. Drought killed her crops and her livestock. Sheer desperation drove her to take her children and set out on foot for Doolow, near the border with Ethiopia, in search of help.

VIDEO: 4 August 2011 - UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on the massive scale-up of emergency aid efforts in response to the famine in southern Somalia.  Watch in RealPlayer

“It took me nine days to get here from Wajid,” she said. “On the way, I was very hungry. We had no money to buy food. My husband sent me here alone, so I had to make the journey alone, carrying my children. I thought I’d die from hunger.”

Ms. Isack and her family are receiving three meals a day at the UNICEF-supported feeding centre at a displacement camp in Doolow. The camp is part of programme to help the millions of Somalis who have been driven out of their homes by famine and conflict.

Children at immediate risk

Many people at the feeding centre have faced long and dangerous journeys to get to Doolow and are in poor health.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-1226/Holt
Aid workers cook and serve maize at a feeding centre at a camp for displaced people in Mogadishu, Somalia.

“We have some that are in an OK state because they have only come from about 50 kilometres away,” said UNICEF Nutrition Specialist Erin McClowskey. “But some who have come from further, the Baye and Baiboa areas, are very weak. They are very thin and some of them have a lot of illnesses.”

The famine, which could spread to all of southern Somalia in the next few weeks, has already claimed the lives of tens of thousands of people, half of them children under the age of five. The lives of more than a million children are at immediate risk.

“We are seeing now that the proportion of malnourished children who are severely malnourished is already at 50 per cent,” said UNICEF Representative in Somalia Rozanne Chorlton. “This is an extremely worrying proportion.”

Stepped-up response

UNICEF and its partners are racing to step up their emergency response to the crisis in Somalia and the rest of the Horn of Africa. So far, the agency has brought in enough supplies to feed 65,000 children in southern Somalia. An estimated $177 million will be needed to reach all Somali children in need over the next six months.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-1220/Holt
A man who is carrying his sick daughter is stopped at a security checkpoint at a clinic in Mogadishu, where many patients have come in search of food.

“Somalia has had a programme which has been rapidly expanding for nutrition over the last three or four years, and we are covering all of the country with about 500 centres for treatment of acute malnutrition,” said UNICEF Senior Nutrition Manager Peter Hailey.

“Using that as a base now for the emergency that we are facing,” he added, “we are rapidly scaling up that programming – including using mobile teams and community health workers to reach out to as many children as possible.”

Treatment saves lives

This support is already saving lives. In Mogadishu, the capital of Somalia, a mother of four brought her malnourished young son to a UNICEF feeding centre and recalled the ordeal they had endured.

The mother had walked about 160 km through drought-stricken land get help. Like many others, she has seen her livelihood and her children’s health disintegrate. “We had cows, and over the two years with no rain, all was lost,” she said. “They all died.”

Thanks to treatment at the feeding centre, however, her son is recovering.


 

 

New enhanced search