菲律宾

“课本之外”–有关危机情况教育的播客系列

播客#16:我安全吗?儿童的作用以及减少灾难风险的教育

UNICEF Photo: ‘Beyond School Books’, podcast, disasters
© UNICEF/NYHQ2006-2132/Bito
每年全世界有大约1.75亿儿童可能遭受与气候相关的灾难的影响。

皮.詹姆斯报道

美国纽约,2009年7月1日- 在参加6月中旬于日内瓦举行的第二届全球减少灾害风险平台会议之后,联合国儿童基金会的减少灾害风险专家安东尼. 斯帕尔登(Antony Spalton)和16岁的菲律宾男孩瑞(Rhee)与联合国儿童基金会广播电台的艾米.科斯特洛(Amy Costello)讨论有关儿童在保护其社区免受自然灾害袭击方面的作用。

 点击此处收听音频

根据“拯救儿童”组织提供的数据,全世界每年大约有1.75亿名儿童可能遭受与气候相关的灾难的影响,这个问题非常严重。 

不同的脆弱程度

斯帕尔登先生指出,灾难的影响程度往往取决于社区的防范工作是否到位,而不是灾难本身的严重性。

他说:“比如,地震发生在美国,除非是非常强烈的地震,通常不太会造成重大影响。如果同样程度的地震发生在印度尼西亚或菲律宾,可能就会造成严重影响。这个原因不是灾害本身,而是因为人口比较脆弱。”

斯帕尔登先生继续说:“减少灾害、暴风雨、干旱、地震和飓风影响的原理是相通的。不过,我们如何与社区合作,使它们更加安全和灵活...都必须适应当地的文化和社会经济背景。”

感觉安全的权利

瑞在菲律宾自己家乡的社区,与同学们发现他们的学校处于一个高风险的滑坡地区,并积极行动起来,成功地促使学校搬到新址。

瑞说学生们在一次灾害风险测绘中发现学校地处险境,他们“非常害怕”。

社区居民在学校是否搬迁的问题上发生分歧,但瑞说,孩子们自己“真的希望迁移,我们想搬到一个更安全的地方去。”

斯帕尔登先生先生说:“孩子们对他们自己的安全有不同的,而且肯定是非常有根据的感受。显然,如果儿童在学校感觉不安全,那么这将影响到他们的快乐程度和学习成绩。”

儿童减少风险

瑞认为,在他的国家,乃至全球的儿童们越来越认识到气候变化所产生的危险影响,并需要减少这些风险。

他说:“现在,我们在教室里讨论气候变化、如何解决这个问题、及我们现在正在做的事情。亚洲的其他国家、欧洲和非洲的学生和学校(也)在寻找降低社区和学校风险的途径。”

当谈到减少灾害风险的日内瓦会议时,斯帕尔登先生支持一项建议,即“儿童需要坐到会议桌前,...不只是在社区层面,而是与他们的政府在国家层面”参与减少风险的工作。

请点击这里(Real player播放软件),收听联合国儿童基金会广播电台有关儿童的作用与减少灾害风险教育的播客讨论。嘉宾包括:联合国儿童基金会的减少灾害风险专家安东尼.斯帕尔登和16岁的菲律宾男孩瑞。


 

 

音频(英文)

播客#16:
儿童的作用以及减少灾难风险的教育。艾米. 科斯特洛采访联合国儿童基金会的安东尼.斯帕尔登和16岁的菲律宾男孩瑞。
 音频 试听

观看相关视频

搜索

At a glance: Philippines

‘Beyond School Books’ – a podcast series on education in emergencies

Podcast #16: Am I safe? The role of children and education in disaster risk reduction

UNICEF Image: ‘Beyond School Books’, podcast, disasters
© UNICEF/NYHQ2006-2132/Bito
Each year, some 175 million children worldwide are likely to be affected by climate-related disasters.

By Pi James

NEW YORK, USA, 1 July 2009 – After participating in the Second Global Platform on Disaster Risk Reduction – held in Geneva in mid-June – UNICEF Disaster Risk Reduction Specialist Antony Spalton and Rhee, a 16-year-old boy from the Philippines, spoke with UNICEF Radio’s Amy Costello about the role of children in protecting their communities from natural disasters.

AUDIO: Listen now

The issue is a critical one given that some 175 million children are likely to be affected by climate-related disasters each year, according to Save the Children. 

Differing vulnerabilities

It’s often not the severity of disasters but the preparedness of communities that determines the extent of their impact, Mr. Spalton noted.

“An earthquake, for instance in the US, is unlikely to have a major effect unless it’s a very strong earthquake,” he said. “The same level of earthquake … in Indonesia or the Philippines would have a major impact. And that’s not because of the hazard; that’s because people are more vulnerable.

“The principles of reducing vulnerability to hazards, to storms, to droughts, to earthquakes, to hurricanes, is universal,” Mr. Spalton continued. He added, however, that “how we work with communities to make them safer and more resilient … has to be adapted to the local cultural and socio-economic context.”

The right to feel safe

In the context of his home community in the Philippines, Rhee was active in a successful campaign to get his school moved to a new site when he and his classmates discovered it had been built in an area at high risk for landslides.

Rhee said the students were “very afraid” when they realized the potential dangers, which came to light during a disaster risk-mapping exercise.

Community members were split on the question of whether to relocate the school, but the children themselves “really wanted to relocate, and we wanted to be in a safer place,” said Rhee.

“Children have a different, and certainly a very valid, perception of their own safety,” said Mr. Spalton, “and obviously if a child is at school and doesn’t feel safe, then that’s going to have an impact on their happiness – but also on their performance at school.”

Children reducing risk

Rhee believes there is a growing awareness among children in his country, and globally, about the dangerous effects of climate change and the need to reduce those risks.

“In our classrooms we talk about … climate change, how to deal with it and what are we doing now,” he said. “Students and schools in other countries in Asia, Europe and Africa [are also] finding ways to reduce risk in their communities and their schools.”

Referring to the Geneva meeting on disaster risk reduction, Mr. Spalton supported a recommendation “that children need to be at the table … not just at the community level but at the national level with their governments,” to engage in the process of reducing risk.

Click here (Real player) to listen to this UNICEF Radio podcast discussion on the role of children and education in disaster risk reduction, featuring these guests: Antony Spalton, UNICEF Disaster Risk Reduction Specialist, and Rhee, 16, from the Philippines.


 

 

Audio

Podcast #16:
The role of children and education in disaster risk reduction. Amy Costello speaks to UNICEF’s Antony Spalton and Rhee, a 16-year-old boy from the Philippines.
AUDIO listen

New enhanced search