巴基斯坦

在巴基斯坦,灾区儿童再次得到上学的机会

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2012/Zeeshan Suhail
在旁遮普省南部巴斯蒂保利,政府小学(Government Primary School)的学生们正在认真听老师讲课,他们的监护人则在教室后面等他们下课。

梓桑.苏黑尔(Zeeshan Suhail)报道

巴基斯坦拉詹普尔区(RAJANPUR),2012年12月19日 —— 天气很热,14岁的法哈特(Farhat)席地而坐,她手上拿着笔记本,正在等待上课。她是学校里年龄最大的学生,也是最出色的学生之一。她于2010-2011学年入学,因勤奋好学,在18个月内已经升入三年级。她的父亲古拉姆.阿巴斯(Ghulam Abbas)供养着八个孩子,在位于拉詹普尔区的巴斯蒂保利(Basti Poly)村做泥瓦匠工作。当收入稳定时,他每天的平均收入是3美元,但经济衰退对他的经济状况造成了很大影响。

尽管遭受2010年洪水严重影响,古拉姆及其妻子都认为,孩子们需要接受教育。法哈特以前所在的学校在洪水中被毁,替代校舍的建筑无法容纳日益增多的学生。社会动员人员会见了当地社区成员,并了解到女童们对继续学业兴趣很高。联合国儿童基金会在旁遮普省南部建造了过渡教室(TSS),其中包括法哈特村庄的一间教室。

教育中断

2010年7月袭击巴基斯坦的特大洪灾使本已不堪重负的教育系统陷入瘫痪状态。2010年暑假过后,当学校重新开放时,大多数校舍仍被洪水淹没。在洪水消退的地方,校舍损毁严重,覆盖着厚厚的泥巴。

联合国儿童基金会设计了多种过渡教室作为一个创新的、具成本效益的解决方案,以快速启动灾区适龄儿童的教育工作。为创造符合学生期望的良好学习环境,在建造临时教室时,采用了高品质的绝缘材料,并且最终批准的设计方案提供了通风良好且光照充足的空间。每个过渡教室都有儿童友好型课桌椅、极具吸引力的游戏材料和必要的学习用品,并开设幼儿教育(ECE)课程。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2012/Zeeshan Suhail
法哈特(中间)与一名校友正在分享快乐时光。她的左边是社会动员人员。

在2012年洪灾期间,灾区的学校往往只有过渡教室在洪水中幸存。

女童享有受教育的权利

法哈特的社区因新建成的过渡教室受益非浅。“我们想上学,但我们这里没有学校接收女孩入学,我们无法步行10英里去上学。”法哈特说。联合国儿童基金会在巴斯蒂保利政府小学开设了幼儿教育课程,并派遣了一名幼儿教育护理员兼服务员之后,法哈特的家人终于允许她到过渡教室上课。当她的父母发现是附近村庄一名受尊敬教师的儿子教导这些孩子们时,便允许她继续学业。逐渐地,社区信任感得到增强,更多的学生入学了……法哈特成功说服她的所有朋友入学,现在她们在两间临时教室内上课。“在我们当地,大人们不让自己的女儿接受教育,因为他们不赞成女孩接受教育。现在,他们已经认识到,女孩也应该接受教育。我们的同学也被劝告接纳我们,尊重我们,所以,我们在学校没有遇到任何困难。”

在社区支持下,孩子们回到学校

法哈特对自己的未来满怀期望。她坚定地认为社区需要女教师和儿童友好型学校,并且相信无论如何她都会接受教育的。联合国儿童基金会为其所在社区建造的这所学校有三间通风良好、光照充足的教室、四间卫生间(为有特殊需要的儿童配有坡道)、储水箱和大量供孩子们玩耍的休闲空间。

这些学校也获得社区的极大支持。许多学校建在村民们捐赠的土地上。一名村民的土地上原有的房屋毁于洪灾,于是,该村民就近重建作为校舍使用。在社区开始如此重视教育后,法哈特想长大后成为一名教师的想法也就不足为奇。

联合国儿童基金会教育主任古娜兹.杰斌.卡恩(Gulnaz Jabeen Khan)为法哈特及其社区取得的进步深感欣慰。“巴斯蒂保利人让其儿子及女儿接受教育的热情和决心堪称典范。这表明,即使这样一个偏远的弱势地区的人们现在也认识到子女接受教育的迫切需要。”古娜兹说,“正是人们认识到教育的重要性,社区居民才会捐赠土地,牺牲农作物产量,用眼前的小小经济损失换取子孙更好的未来。”


 

 

搜索

Pakistan

In Pakistan, flood-affected children get a second chance to attend school

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2012/Zeeshan Suhail
Students at the Government Primary School in Basti Poly, southern Punjab, listen attentively to their teacher as their guardians wait for class to end.

By Zeeshan Suhail

RAJANPUR DISTRICT, Pakistan, 19 December 2012 – Farhat, 14-years-old, sits with a notebook in her hand, awaiting her lesson on a hot summer day. She is the oldest student in her school, and certainly one of the brightest. She was admitted in the 2010-2011 school year, and within eighteen months has progressed to the third grade, owing to her keen interest and eagerness to study. Her father, Ghulam Abbas, is a father of eight and works as a mason in their village of Basti Poly, located in Rajanpur district. He earns an average of USD 3 a day when he has a steady income, but that has been infrequent due to the economic downturn.

Despite being heavily affected by the 2010 floods, Ghulam and his wife believed that the children needed to be educated. Farhat’s previous school was destroyed, and the structure which replaced the school was insufficient for the growing number of students. Social mobilizers met with local community members and realized that there was tremendous interest from girls to continue learning. UNICEF constructed transitional school structures (TSS) in southern Punjab, including one in Farhat’s village.

Education interrupted

The devastating floods that hit Pakistan in July 2010 paralyzed the already over-burdened education system. When schools re-opened after the summer break in 2010, most were still inundated with flood water. In areas where water had receded, the school buildings were badly damaged and covered with mud.

UNICEF developed several TSS as an innovative, cost efficient solution to jumpstart the education of children whose schools were affected by the floods. In order to create a learning environment conducive to student satisfaction, high-quality insulated material is used in the construction of the temporary structures and the final approved design provides room for cross ventilation and appropriate light. Each TSS includes child friendly furniture, attractive play material, essential school supplies and introduction of Early Childhood Education (ECE) classes.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2012/Zeeshan Suhail
Farhat, middle, enjoys a light moment with a friend and fellow schoolmate. On her left is the social mobiliser.

During the 2012 flood emergency, TSS were often the only un-flooded schools in the affected areas.

Girls’ empowerment through education

Farhat’s community benefited greatly from the newly constructed TSS. “We want to learn, but there are no schools for girls in our area, and we cannot walk 10 miles to go to a school,” says Farhat. Her family allowed her to study at the TSS after UNICEF introduced an (ECE) class in the Basti Poly government primary school through provision of a female ECE care giver and attendant.Her parents allowed her to continue her education when they found out that the son of a respected teacher from a nearby village was teaching the students. Slowly, the trust of the community increased, and more students enrolled.. Farhat recruited all her friends, who now attend classes in their two-room temporary structure. “In our locality, the elders don’t educate their daughters because they were not in favour of girls’ education. Now they have realized that girls should also receive education. Our fellow students have also been counselled to accommodate us, and respect us, and so we don’t face any problems while in school.”

With community support, children go back to school

Farhat is excited about what the future holds for her. She is adamant about the community’s need for female teachers and child-friendly schools, but believes she will get an education regardless. The school UNICEF constructed for her community has three rooms with good ventilation and natural light, four bathrooms (with a ramp for access by children with special needs), a water storage tank and lots of recreation space for children to play.
These schools  enjoy much support from the community as well. Many of the schools were constructed on land donated by residents of the villages themselves. The land in one village actually had a house constructed on it, which was demolished and re-constructed by the owner at a nearby location to make space for the school. It’s no surprise that Farhat would like to be a teacher when she grows up, after having been raised in a community that places such importance on education.

Gulnaz Jabeen Khan, Education Officer at UNICEF, is pleased with the progress that Farhat and her community havemade. "The enthusiasm and will of people of Basti Poly to educate their children, girls as well, is exemplary. It is an indication that people, of even such a remote under-served and under-privileged area are now realizing the urgent need of time - education for their children,” said Gulnaz. “It is this will that led the community to donate land, sacrificing the standing crop, realizing that the present small financial loss will form a base for better future gains for generations.”


 

 

New enhanced search