巴基斯坦

联合国儿童基金会帮助巴基斯坦西北部一个遭受水灾的村庄重建学校

巴基斯坦洪灾:一年以后

在巴基斯坦发生特大洪灾一年之后,儿童及其家庭继续战胜困难并重建新生活。 这是发生洪灾一年后关于灾区儿童及其家庭状况的系列报道之一。

大卫.杨梅耶尔报道

巴基斯坦瑙仕拉,2011 年 8 月 1 日 – 2010 年 7 月,洪水冲向开斯吉-巴拉村,马亚姆的学校紧邻喀布尔河,洪水首先摧毁了她的学校。 以往的喀布尔河像一个沉睡的巨人,而当 2010 年的强季节性暴雨来临时,河水急剧上涨,吞没了河岸,学校陷于三米高的洪水和半米高的淤泥中。

视频: 联合国儿童基金会记者克里斯.奈尔斯报道一所女子小学重建和重新开学的情况。该小学位于巴基斯坦开伯尔-普赫图赫瓦省,它在2010 年季节性暴雨引发的洪灾中遭到严重破坏。  在Realplayer中播放

 

“当洪水冲到屋里时,我非常害怕,赶紧没命地跑,”11 岁的马亚姆回忆说,“我和家人跑到高地上和朋友们待在一起,那里比较安全。”

当马亚姆在洪水退去后返回自己的村子时,看到洪水肆虐后的悲惨景象,感到非常的悲伤。 她说:“我马上哭了起来,因为我想到了我的家人,想到可能再也无法回到村子居住,也看不到所有的朋友了。”

受到重创的学校

在马亚姆和家人,包括她的四个弟弟妹妹无家可归的日子里,马亚姆常常爬上他们的临时栖身处附近的小山。 从山上可以看见她的学校。 她不断的在想,自己是否还能返回到学校学习。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2011/Quraishi
在巴基斯坦开伯尔-普赫图赫瓦省的开斯吉-巴拉政府女子小学,11 岁的马亚姆正在回答老师的提问。 该学校在 2010 年季节性暴雨引发的洪灾中遭到严重破坏。

马亚姆渴望返回的学校就是开斯吉.巴拉村的政府女子小学,该小学位于巴基斯坦西北部的开伯尔-普赫图赫瓦省的瑙仕拉地区,是该地区受灾最严重的小学之一。 淤泥阻塞了学校的水井、水箱和卫生间。 教室里的桌椅板凳、学生记录、围墙和水管不是被冲毁,就是已经无法使用了。

幸运的是,学校的混凝土结构仍然完好,没有象附近的泥土房那样被完全冲垮。

大约一个月以后,马亚姆的家被重新修建,她和家人得以返回村子居住。 2010 年的暑假过后,马亚姆和她的同学们在一个临时的露天教室继续上课,学校仍然无法使用。

联合国儿童基金会提供的援助

洪灾过后,联合国儿童基金会与政府和非政府组织密切合作,评估人道主义需求,并为开伯尔-普赫图赫瓦及其他受灾地区提供紧急援助。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2011/Quraishi
在巴基斯坦开伯尔-普赫图赫瓦省的开斯吉-巴拉政府女子小学,10 岁的艾曼正在新安装的水龙头前用肥皂和水洗手。

例如,联合国儿童基金会与执行合作伙伴可持续发展研究会 (SSD) 一起,迅速评估了瑙仕拉地区八个工会在洪灾中被毁的学校。 (瑙仕拉是开伯尔-普赫图赫瓦省受洪灾影响最为严重的地区之一,71,000 多栋房屋被冲毁。) 同时,联合国儿童基金会还与100多个合作伙伴密切合作,解决巴基斯坦受灾社区的取水和卫生问题。

迄今为止,联合国儿童基金会的水和卫生干预系列服务已经惠及这些社区中的1530所永久性学校和临时学习区中的14万名儿童,其中就包括开斯吉.巴拉政府女子小学。

为重返学校而高兴

在马亚姆的学校,人们花了大约一个月的时间来清除淤泥、重建和改进取水和卫生设施,并重新粉刷墙壁。  学校安装了用于饮水的新的水箱和水泵,还安装了学生用来洗手的水龙头。

“我们非常感谢联合国儿童基金会的帮助,”古尔.斯亚巴老师说,“学校的旧设施得到了改进,现在,学校的条件比以前更好了。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2011/Quraishi
在巴基斯坦开伯尔-普赫图赫瓦省的开斯吉-巴拉政府女子小学校园内,女孩们正在做游戏。 2010 年的洪灾过后,校园里堆积了大量淤泥,在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,该学校得以重建。

马亚姆和其他学生志愿者帮助老师们进行重建学校的收尾工作,运送清洗用水、清洁碗柜,并搬入新更换的教室用具。

为了防止水源性疾病的蔓延,联合国儿童基金会还为儿童及其家庭提供了卫生用品、肥皂、简便油桶和水桶,同时 SSD 还举办教育学生养成良好卫生习惯的培训班。 马亚姆是学校卫生俱乐部的成员。该俱乐部由教师和学生组成,不断强调用肥皂洗手和养成其他必要的卫生习惯的重要性。

马亚姆说,对于能够和她的两个姐妹重返原来的学校学习,她感到非常高兴。 她还补充说,她希望将来成为一名医生,这样她就能帮助病人并创造更美好的未来。

 


 

 

回到正轨

搜索

Pakistan

UNICEF helps to rebuild a school in a flood-ravaged village in north-west Pakistan

Pakistan flood crisis, one year on

Children and families continue to cope – and rebuild their lives – a year after devastating monsoon floods struck Pakistan. This is one in a series of stories on their situation, one year on.

By David Youngmeyer

NOWSHERA, Pakistan, 1 August 2011 – In July 2010, when floods reached the village of Kheshgi Bala, Maryam’s school – located right next door to the Kabul River – sat directly on the front line. Normally a sleeping giant, the river swelled with the intense monsoon rains and surged onto the land, filling the school with up to three metres of water and half a metre of mud.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on the rehabilitation and re-opening of a girls' primary school in Pakistan's Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province, which was severely affected by monsoon floods in 2010. Watch in RealPlayer

“I got scared and ran away when the floodwater came into my house,” recalls Maryam, 11. “My family went to stay with friends on higher ground so that we would be safe.”

When Maryam returned to her village after the waters had receded, she was saddened by the devastation the flood had left in its wake. “I just cried,” she says, “because I thought my family and I wouldn’t be able to return to the village or see all my friends again.”

Hard-hit school

During the time when her family was displaced – including Maryam and her four younger siblings – she used to climb a hill near their temporary home. From there, she could see her school. She kept wondering whether she would ever be able to go back.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2011/Quraishi
Maryam, 11, responds to a teacher’s question at Kheshgi Bala Government Girls Primary School in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province, Pakistan. The school was severely damaged by monsoon floods in 2010.

The object of Maryam’s longing, Kheshgi Bala Government Girls Primary School, was one of the hardest-hit schools in Nowshera District, located in north-west Pakistan’s Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province. The mud clogged the school’s well, water tank and toilets. Classroom furniture, student records, a boundary wall and water pipes were either destroyed or left unusable.

Fortunately, unlike the neighbouring mud houses that were washed away entirely, the school’s concrete structure remained intact.

After about a month, Maryam’s home was rebuilt and she was able to return to the village with her family. When the 2010 summer vacation was over, she and her classmates continued classes in a temporary open-air space, as their school was still out of action.

Support from UNICEF

After the floods, UNICEF worked closely with the government and non-governmental organizations to assess humanitarian needs and provide emergency assistance in districts throughout Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and other affected areas.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2011/Quraishi
Aiman, 10, washes her hands with soap and water at a newly installed tap in the rehabilitated Kheshgi Bala Government Girls Primary School in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province, Pakistan.

Along with one implementing partner, the Society for Sustainable Development (SSD), for example, UNICEF quickly assessed damaged schools in eight union councils in Nowshera District. (Nowshera was one of the worst-affected parts of the province, with more than 71,000 households disrupted.) At the same time, UNICEF worked with more than 100 partners to address water, sanitation and hygiene issues in flooded communities across Pakistan.

To date, UNICEF’s integrated package of water, sanitation and hygiene interventions has reached 140,000 children in 1,530 permanent schools and temporary learning centres in these communities – including the Kheshgi Bala Government Girls Primary School.

Happy to be back

It took about a month to clear away the sludge from Maryam’s school, rehabilitate and upgrade the school’s water and sanitation facilities, and repaint its walls. A new tank and pump for drinking water, and taps for students to wash their hands, were installed.

“We are very grateful to UNICEF for their help,” says teacher Gul Seyab. “The old facilities have been improved and the school is in a much better condition now.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2011/Quraishi
Girls play in the schoolyard of Kheshgi Bala Government Girls Primary School in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province, Pakistan. Floods in 2010 left thick layers of mud in the school, which was rehabilitated with support from UNICEF.

Maryam and other student volunteer helped the teachers put the finishing touches on the school, carrying water for washing, cleaning cupboards and moving in replacement furniture.

To help prevent the spread of waterborne diseases, UNICEF provided hygiene kits, soap, jerry cans and buckets for children and their families, while SSD ran classes teaching students good hygiene. Maryam is one of the students in the school hygiene club, made up of students and teachers, which continues to emphasize the importance of handwashing with soap and other necessary practices.

Maryam says she is very happy to be back at her old school again with her two sisters. She adds that she hopes to become a doctor on day, so that she can help the sick and build a better future.


 

 

New enhanced search