巴基斯坦

巴基斯坦年轻的洪灾幸存者面临营养不良的艰巨挑战

班.阿尔达依 及 薇薇安.肖 报道

巴基斯坦明戈拉,2010年10月13日 – 上个月,19岁的纳佳玛.阿里汗把7个月大的女儿鲁克萨带到位于巴基斯坦西北部斯瓦特地区塞杜教学医院的营养稳定中心。得知女儿患有严重营养不良和肠胃炎,纳佳玛感到既难过又有些困惑。

视频:联合国儿童基金会记者薇薇安.肖报道巴基斯坦洪灾过后,妇女和儿童在营养方面面临着严峻的挑战。  在Realplayer中播放

 

由于没有母乳喂养,纳佳玛从营养中心领取了牛奶来喂鲁克萨,自从今年夏天洪灾发生以来,鲁克萨一直喝的是红茶和牛乳。

鲁克萨刚来营养中心的时候,体重只有3公斤,而和她年龄相仿的儿童正常体重应达到7.6公斤。医院儿科的营养师阿迪.热玛.格尔(Adil Rehmat Gul)说:“她太虚弱了,需要补充大量的营养来恢复身体。”

暴力冲突和洪水的破坏

2009年,在纳佳玛的家乡明戈拉,政府和武装分子发生了激烈冲突,因此她和丈夫不得不带着鲁萨卡的姐姐逃离出来。她说:“我们在平原上流浪了三个月,最后才在斯瓦比营地找到安身之处。直到今年六月份,我们才得以回家。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Zak
在巴基斯坦西北部斯瓦特地区塞杜教学医院由联合国儿童基金会支持的营养稳定中心,身体极度虚弱的鲁克萨.赛伊德.阿里汗慢慢喝着牛奶,她才刚刚七个月大。

但是今年夏天,.赛伊德.阿里汗的家又遭到无情地破坏——汹涌的洪水把他们的家和所有物品都冲走了。纳佳玛一家又被迫流离失所,目前他们暂时住在生活同样拮据的亲戚家里。

即使在洪灾发生前,巴基斯坦也是南亚儿童死亡率最高的国家之一。五岁以下儿童有近1/10死亡,而大部分死亡归咎于腹泻、肺炎等可通过免疫注射而预防的疾病,以及不良的卫生条件和喂养习惯。五岁以下儿童中有约40%体重不足,家庭卫生条件不佳,农村地区尤为明显。超过四分之一的婴儿出生时体重过轻。

就目前来说,洪水对农作物和农业基础设施的破坏对粮食供应产生了不利的影响。洪灾区的儿童将有可能长期面临营养不良问题。

避免营养危机

联合国儿童基金会亚太地区共享服务中心的紧急高级营养专家诺埃尔.M.扎格勒(Noel M. Zagré)博士说:“在采取干预措施应对紧急情况的同时,我们还要为避免即将发生的危机而制定中长期计划,这也极为关键。扎格勒博士利用他的专业知识,指导合作伙伴们采取合适的措施来帮助巴基斯坦急需食物的妇女和儿童。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Dhayi
巴基斯坦西北部斯瓦特地区的塞杜教学医院里,19岁的纳佳玛.阿里汗正在给患严重营养不良的女儿喂东西吃。

为避免营养危机,联合国儿童基金会在巴基斯坦资助建立了30所营养稳定中心,并准备在洪灾区进一步增加营养中心的数量。营养中心为患有严重营养不良及其它并发症的儿童提供24小时服务。

与此同时,为进一步实施以社区为基础的管理严重营养不良疾病的项目,超过300名医生、护士和其它医护人员接受了培训。 大约3000名患严重营养不良的儿童参加了这一项目,目前正在接受治疗。

为了给营养不良的儿童提供及时充分的治疗,联合国儿童基金会还致力于满足所有执行伙伴的供给需求。儿基会向洪灾区运送了各种物资,如食疗性食品和牛奶、辅食、为孕期和哺乳期妇女和幼儿提供的高能饼干、住院包、人体医疗包及必备的药品等。

为最弱势的群体提供援助

儿童(尤其是五岁以下的儿童)最易受到营养不良的影响,因而也更易受到危及生命的疾病的威胁。巴基斯坦人民正努力从洪灾中恢复,而解决营养危机迫在眉睫。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Dhayi
在斯瓦特地区塞杜教学医院由联合国儿童基金会支持的营养稳定中心,一名患严重营养不良的儿童正在吃食疗食品Plumpy’nut。

虽然在斯瓦特,小鲁克萨在关键时刻抓住了自己的生命线,但是巴基斯坦还有数百万儿童的饮食需要因紧急情况的不断发生而被忽视,同时,由于很多护理者对良好的喂养习惯缺乏认识,导致情况更加恶化。

自鲁克萨来到营养稳定中心后,她的体重在一个月内增长了0.6公斤,肠胃炎也有所好转。专家认为,如果不能继续维持和增开类似的营养中心,那么在接下来的一年,可能有超过12.5万的巴基斯坦儿童将患不同程度的营养不良。


 

 

搜索

Pakistan

Young flood survivors in Pakistan face an uphill struggle against malnutrition

By Ban Al-Dhayi and Vivian Siu

MINGORA, Pakistan, 13 October 2010 – Last month, Najma Syed Ali Khan, 19, brought her seven-month-old daughter Rukhsar to the Nutrition Stabilization Centre at Saidu Teaching Hospital here in the Swat district of north-western Pakistan. Distressed and confused, Najma learned that the baby was not only severely malnourished but also suffered from gastroenteritis.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent Vivian Siu reports on the nutrition challenges facing children and women in the aftermath of the monsoon floods in Pakistan. Watch in RealPlayer

Unable to breastfeed, Najma received milk from the centre to feed Rukhsar, who had been surviving on black tea and cow milk in the aftermath of this summer’s severe monsoon floods.

Rukhsar weighed only 3 kilograms when she was admitted to the nutrition centre. An infant at her age normally weighs 7.6 kilograms. “She’s severely wasted,” said nutritionist Adil Rehmat Gul at the hospital’s paediatric unit. ”She needs extraordinary support to make it through.”

Uprooted by violence and floods

In 2009, Najma and her husband fled with Rukhsar older sibling after fierce fighting broke out between militants and government forces in Mingora, their hometown. “We kept roaming about the plains for three months before finding a haven in the Swabi camp,” she said. “Only in June of this year were we able to go back home.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Zak
Severely wasted Rukhsar Syed Ali Khan, seven months old, sips milk in the UNICEF-supported Nutrition Stabilization Centre at Saidu Teaching Hospital in Swat district, north-western Pakistan.

But this summer, the Syed Ali Khan family was violently uprooted again – this time by the massive floods that washed away the family’s home and all of their belongings. Najma and her family found themselves displaced yet again. Now they are staying with relatives who live hand-to-mouth.

Even before the floods, Pakistan’s infant mortality rate was one of the highest in South Asia. Nearly 1 in 10 children here do not survive to their fifth birthday, with the majority of deaths due to diarrhoea, pneumonia or vaccine-preventable diseases, combined with inadequate hygiene, sanitation and feeding practices. Almost 40 per cent of children under five are underweight and lack household sanitation, especially in rural areas. More than a quarter of children are born with low birth weight.

Now, the flood damage to crops and agricultural infrastructure is having detrimental consequences on food availability. It is very likely that child nutrition will remain at risk for a long time in flood-affected areas.

Averting a nutrition crisis

“While responding to the urgent situation with life-saving interventions, it is critical to set medium- and long-term measures to stave off an impending crisis,” said Dr. Noel M. Zagré, Senior Emergency Nutrition Specialist at UNICEF’s Asia-Pacific Shared Services Centre. Dr. Zagré is lending his expertise in Pakistan, giving guidance to partners on the steps they should take to help children and women in Pakistan who are in dire need of food.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Dhayi
Najma Syed Ali Khan, 19, feeds her severely malnourished daughter Rukhsar at Saidu Teaching Hospital, Swat district, north-western Pakistan.

To help avert a nutrition crisis, UNICEF supports 30 nutrition stabilization centres across Pakistan, and work is under way to scale up this number in flood-affected areas. The centres provide 24-hour service for severely malnourished children who also suffer from other health complications.

Meanwhile, more than 300 doctors, nurses and others have been trained in the implementation of a programme focused on community-based management of severe acute malnutrition. Approximately 3,000 severely malnourished children have been admitted into the programme and are currently being treated.

UNICEF is also working to meet the supply needs of all its implementing partners in order to provide timely and adequate treatment for malnourished children. Therapeutic paste and milk, supplementary food, high-energy biscuits for pregnant and lactating women and their children, in-patient kits, anthropometric kits and essential medicines – all have been dispatched in areas devastated by the floods. 

Aid for the most vulnerable

Children, especially those under the age of two, are most vulnerable to the impact of malnutrition, which, in turn, makes them more susceptible to life-threatening illnesses. It is critical that nutrition concerns be tackled now, as families in Pakistan try to recover from the flood disaster.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Dhayi
A severely malnourished child eats Plumpy'nut, a therapeutic food paste, in the UNICEF-supported Nutrition Stabilization Centre at Saidu Teaching Hospital, Swat district.

While young Rukhsar avails herself of a lifeline provided at a critical time in Swat, there are millions more children in Pakistan whose dietary requirements have been overlooked amidst successive emergencies – a situation exacerbated by many caregivers’ poor awareness of proper feeding practices.

In the month since Rukhsar was admitted to the Nutrition Stabilization Centre, her weight has increased by 0.6 kilograms, and her gastroenteritis condition has been mitigated. If support centres like the one that has helped her are not maintained and expanded, experts estimate that over 125,000 Pakistani children could suffer from dangerous levels of malnutrition in the coming year.


 

 

New enhanced search