巴基斯坦

联合国儿童基金会和世界粮食计划署主任探访巴基斯坦旁遮普省灾区

帕特里克.麦考密克报道

巴基斯坦古吉拉特,2010年9月2日 – 为支持巴基斯坦灾民,联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克和世界粮食计划署(WFP)执行主任乔塞特.施林(Josette Sheeran)来到在巴基斯坦重灾区——旁遮普省穆扎法加地区,考察两个机构在该地区的人道主义救援行动的开展情况。

视频:2010年8月31日 - 联合国儿童基金会记者安佳.巴伦报道联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克和世界粮食计划署执行主任乔塞特.施林探访巴基斯坦旁遮普省灾区。

 

在古吉拉特村,两个机构的主任参观了一所现在已经被改造成为收容受灾家庭的紧急救援中心的女子高中,灾民大部分是妇女和儿童,他们逃离洪灾时只穿着随身衣物,没有带任何其他物品。

尽管学校里高温难耐,苍蝇蚊虫很多,也非常拥挤,但是这些受灾家庭总算找到了栖身之所。经过数天的跋涉和与洪水的抗争,他们在这里接受到了医疗营养援助,并慢慢恢复过来。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1686/Ramoneda
联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克(中)和世界粮食计划署执行主任乔塞特.施林(右起第一位)和来自巴基斯坦旁遮普灾区的一名妇女进行交谈。

实地援助

雷克先生和施林女士参观了学校,看到受灾家庭接受到了各种援助,包括免疫注射、基本医疗包,以及为儿童、孕妇和哺乳期妇女提供的高能饼干等。

与此同时,学校了还安装了全新的水箱,并建立了水的氯化消毒系统和废物处理系统,公厕也得到修复。“女医护人员”还为灾民开设了健康教育课程。

联合国儿童基金会和世界粮食计划署主任看望了患严重营养不良的婴儿,其中大多数婴儿的母亲因洪水来袭到处奔波寻找住所,因此数天没有进食而无法进行母乳喂养。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1685/Ramoneda
联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克从联合国直升机的窗户俯看巴基斯坦旁遮普省穆扎法加地区的受灾情况。

“令人心痛”的画面

走进专门为流离儿童安排的学习娱乐的安全场所——“儿童友好空间”的房间,雷克先生看到很多年轻人用图画来表示自己对灾难的印象,很多人画了洋娃娃、花和水果等日常用品。

雷克先生看着一幅幅图画,说:“真是令人心痛,这些洋娃娃、花,虽然都是小东西,但是却是他们所留下的,是他们的美好回忆。”

雷克先生安慰孩子们说,联合国儿童基金会会让他们健康地生活,帮助他们度过难关。接着他摘下眼镜,挑动眉毛来逗他们笑,许多孩子还害羞地模仿雷克先生的动作。就在此刻,孩子们能够一时忘记他们的遭遇和面临的挑战,脸上露出了开心的笑容。


 

 

搜索

Pakistan

UNICEF and World Food Programme chiefs visit Pakistan's flood-stricken Punjab province

By Patrick McCormick

GUJRAT, Pakistan, 2 September 2010 – In a show of support for the victims of flooding in Pakistan, UNICEF and World Food Programme (WFP) Executive Directors Anthony Lake and Josette Sheeran visited the agencies’ humanitarian operations in the Muzzafargarh district of Punjab, one of the worst-affected provinces of the country.

VIDEO: 31 August 2010 – UNICEF correspondent Anja Baron reports on the visit by UNICEF and World Food Programme chiefs Anthony Lake and Josette Sheeran to flood-stricken Punjab province, Pakistan.

In the village of Gujrat, the two agency heads visited a girls’ high school that had been transformed into an emergency relief centre for hundreds of families – mainly women and children – who had fled the rising water with little but the clothes they were wearing.

Despite the searing heat, the incessant swarming of flies and severe crowding at the school, families arriving there could finally rest. They received much-needed health and nutrition assistance and gathered their strength after days trudging along roads or wading through dangerous floodwaters.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1686/Ramoneda
UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake (third from left) speaks to a health worker at a school sheltering flood-affected families in Muzaffargarh district, located in Pakistan's Punjab province. World Food Programme Executive Director Josette Sheeran is at right.

Assistance on the ground

Mr. Lake and Ms. Sheeran toured the school and met families receiving a wide range of aid, including immunization, basic hygiene kits and high-energy biscuits for children and pregnant and lactating women.

Meanwhile, brand new water storage tanks, water chlorination systems and a waste management system were being installed in the school. Latrines were being repaired. And health education sessions were being taught by ‘lady health workers.’

The UNICEF and WFP chiefs visited with severely malnourished babies, many of whose mothers were unable to breastfeed after being without food and water for days as they looked for shelter and relief from the flooding.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1685/Ramoneda
UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake observes flood damage from the window of a UN helicopter flying over Muzaffargarh district, Punjab province, Pakistan.

‘Heartbreaking’ images

Entering a room being used as a ‘child-friendly space’ – a safe place for displaced children to learn and play – Mr. Lake looked over a sea of expectant young people clutching drawings of their impressions of the disaster. Many featured everyday items such as dolls, flowers and fruit.

“It’s heartbreaking,” said Mr. Lake as he looked at picture after picture. “The dolls, the flowers, they’re small things but it is what they left behind – their memories.”

Mr. Lake reassured the children that UNICEF was there to keep them healthy and help them through their trauma. Then he took off his glasses and played a trick with his eyebrows to make the children laugh, as some of them shyly tried to mimic his gestures. Grins spread across young faces as the children forgot, for a moment, what they have been through and the challenges ahead.


 

 

New enhanced search