巴基斯坦

实地日记:在巴基斯坦洪灾区的六天

联合国儿童基金会南亚区域主任记录他在巴基斯坦受破坏最严重的洪灾区的所见所闻

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Dsouza
联合国儿童基金会区域主任丹.图尔(右)访问巴基斯坦空前特大洪灾的受难者。

丹尼尔.图尔报道

本周,联合国儿童基金会南亚区域主任丹尼尔.图尔走访了巴基斯坦受洪水破坏最严重的省。以下是他发来的有关救援工作的最新消息。

巴基斯坦伊斯兰堡,2010年8月15至19日–

第一天

第一天全天在伊斯兰堡听取情况介绍会。这场灾难的规模令人难以置信,然而巴基斯坦以外的人们却并不完全了解这里的状况。这是一个“快速爆发、缓慢发展的紧急状况”。

几十年不遇的洪水淹没了整个国家。

晚上参加了联合国秘书长的任务报告会。他显得很震惊,而且也表示他很震惊。洪水破坏的范围巨大。

第二天

今天一早前往开伯尔-帕克图瓦省省会白沙瓦,高速公路两旁的洪水泛滥,庄稼已经被淹没了。查尔萨达和瑙谢拉地区遭受了大规模的破坏。到处都是淤泥,数以千计的人们正睡在道路中间临时搭建的帐篷里-几乎没有水和食物。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Dsouza
一个小男孩坐在巴基斯坦信德省的一个学校帐篷里。虽然身边的紧急状况还在持续,但是180名流离失所的儿童已经开始上课了。

联合国儿童基金会在那儿的仓库也完全被洪水淹没,损失了120万美元的紧急救援物资!我和一位年长的妇女交谈,她除了一些能随身携带的财产之外,其他的全被洪水夺去了。虽然洪水一瞬间爆发,但是几乎没有人死亡。然而,洪水破坏的范围很广。

第三天

回到了伊斯兰堡。

参加了联合国小组会,讨论了灾难的整体范围。

起初对援助的呼吁是因为估计有300万人迫切需要帮助。但是现在看来这个数字有很大的偏差,还有更多的人需要帮助。巴基斯坦政府现在估计有2000万人受到影响,被洪水淹没的面积相当于瑞士、奥地利和比利时面积的总和。

受洪水影响的面积正在日益扩大,而且今后还会有更多的降雨。

第四天

信德省。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Dsouza
巴基斯坦信德省一个临时学校里的老师和学生们。

将近400万人口流离失所。大约200万英亩的土地被洪水淹没!我搭乘直升机从空中俯瞰地面,映入眼帘的是一望无际的洪水。城镇被淹、电线杆矗立在很深的、快速流动的水中。洪水继续向前流,每天每小时都在威胁着新的地区。

与省长一起参加情况介绍会。苏库尔拦河坝办公室的工作人员为我们提供了专家对情况的分析。这个大坝是世界上最大的大坝之一。大坝不能垮,否则,所有的水利设施将被破坏,数十年取得的进展也将毁于一旦。

我走访了一个流离失所难民营地。汗水从我的脸、后背和身上流下来,天气太热了。可是很多人(大多数人)正在为斋月禁食,甚至连水都不喝。他们怎么撑得下去呢?

唯一的一线希望是一个营地的学校开学了,约180名儿童正坐在教室里开始第一天的学习。教室里还有好几个第一次上学的小女孩!

和首席部长一起吃了“iftar”,即穆斯林在斋月期间的开斋晚餐。我们讨论了正在开展救援努力的各方,包括政府、军队、联合国和地方合作伙伴。巴基斯坦人民给予了大量的支持,但是援助范围必须进一步扩大。

国际社会是否能够快速的采取行动呢?我们急需帮助。

第五天

旁遮普省南部的穆扎法尔格尔区。

哪里都充斥着热浪和苍蝇–我是否能跟这些人一样活下去呢?

来这儿的路完全被洪水淹没了,但是我们还是想办法通过了。卡车作为后备随时待命。我们的司机说近几天水位已经有所下降了。

道路正在被侵蚀,我们希望它能够坚持到洪水退去。

我和一位有五个孩子、身无分文的妇女交谈。像她这样的难民有成千上万。她和她的孩子从洪水中逃了出来,没有带任何食物,只有身上穿的衣服。虽然她现在住在营地里,能够吃上煮熟的食物,但是她还是得了腹泻病,而她的孩子们也都病了。她的帐篷只有两边是遮上的,所以下雨的时候一家人只好蜷缩在一起才不会被淋湿。

这个营地的水供应良好,而且食物似乎也很充足,但是并不是所有的营地都有这样的条件。这些家庭很幸运。

我还访问了联合国儿童基金会的“儿童友好空间”。几个成年看护人用游戏和玩具欢迎孩子们暂时摆脱黑暗的现实和逃离家园所带来的创伤。

联合国儿童基金会正快速的进行回应-拉合尔办事处将近一半的员工都在这里,还有很多其他人员。所有人都在努力确保提供清洁用水、卫生设施和营养。我们正与世界卫生组织和其他机构一起提供保健服务,如免疫、治疗腹泻的口服补液和基本药物,从而尽可能确保儿童受到保护。

第六天

仍在旁遮普省南部的穆扎法尔格尔区。在实地的最后一天。

早上9:30,我们沿着高高的堤岸向前行进,有些地方的堤岸两边都被洪水淹没了。汽车仪表板上的温度计显示外面的温度是40摄氏度(超过100华氏度)。无法想象人们在这样的高温下如何生存。

有些人还有牲口。这些牲口是他们宝贵的财产,如果他们能够养活这些牲口,就可以稍后把它们卖出去。被淹没在水面3英尺以下的芒果树很可能会死掉,就如同大片的小米和棉花一样。许多的生计都被洪水夺走了。

这将如何影响到各个家庭和社区呢?住在堤岸左边的人们失去了一切。那些住在堤岸右边的人可能在短期内受益,因为农产品的价格飙升。但是,这笔收入能持续多久呢?

我停下来和住在堤岸上的一个大家庭交谈。家里12到15名年龄不等的儿童们蜷缩在一起。

他们的父亲回家查看情况去了。自洪水来袭后,他每天都这样做。他说他家的房子有一部分还没有被冲垮,他家的牲口和一些财产还完好无缺。他担心有人会把他所剩无几的财产偷走,所以他留在了附近的堤岸上。他喝附近井里的水,还有一些小麦吃(他很幸运)。但是家里的大米和棉花已经被水淹了-完全被毁了。下一季要播种的种子都没了。各种慈善组织和邻居们一直在帮助这家人。

看到巴基斯坦人在这片被洪水淹没的土地上彼此伸出援助之手,我着实觉得这很了不起。

他的女儿们没有去政府学校上学,但是她们一直去当地一家提供免费教育和食物的宗教学校上学。然而,现在既没有政府学校,也没有宗教学校了。

政府已经延长了学校的假期,因为5000多所学校现在正为流离失所的人口提供住所。巴基斯坦全国有超过5500所学校受损或者被摧毁。今天早晨,我们路过了三所矗立在三至五英尺深的水中的学校。今后的工作还很艰巨-需要大规模的灾后重建。

在一片面积相当于英国或者弗罗里达州的灾区,超过20%的保健中心受损或者被淹。

现在是中午,温度为45摄氏度。

我和工作人员就联合国儿童基金会的工作进行了最后一次讨论。

这场灾难的规模及其影响的地理范围难以想象。从斯瓦特到卡拉奇一共1500公里,大面积的洪水充斥其间。

我们需要在地方层面快速部署一个强有力的疾病监测系统。

由于这场灾难的规模和范围,我们将不得不依赖这一监测系统所提供的信息来快速检测到疾病的爆发。虽然所有联合国儿童基金会的合作伙伴和政府都提供了援助,但是人手还是不够。如果没有这样的系统,应灾的能力将很有限。

需要做的工作任重而道远,所以在实地工作的人们给我留下了深刻的印象。

我们的工作人员正日夜兼程地工作。他们在神圣的斋月里远离家人。然而,他们却充满热情、毫无怨言地投入到工作之中。

那就是联合国儿童基金会的精神。我们必须保持住这种精神并把它传给成千上万的其他人,这样才能帮助那些最需要帮助的人们。

我会尽我所能地筹款、清除官僚主义障碍并设法获得今后几周或几个月所急需的支持。未来的任务是艰巨的,因此我们必须提供尽可能多的援助。


 

 

搜索

Pakistan

Field diary: Six days in Pakistan flood zone

UNICEF Regional Director for South Asia charts his visit to some of Pakistan's most devastated flood zones

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Dsouza
UNICEF Regional Director Dan Toole (right) visits with victims of Pakistan's unprecedented flooding.

By Daniel Toole

This week UNICEF Regional Director for South Asia Daniel Toole has been visiting the provinces worst-affected by flooding in Pakistan. Here are his latest updates on the relief effort.

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan, 15-19 August 2010 –

Day one

First full day of briefings in Islamabad. The scale of the disaster is unbelievable – and somehow still not understood outside Pakistan. It is a ‘slow-evolving, rapid on-set emergency.’ 

The floods span the country unlike anything in decades.

Participated in United Nations Secretary-General de-briefing in the evening. He was visibly shocked and said so – the scope of the destruction is massive.

Day two

Travelled early this morning to Peshawar, the capital of Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa province – flooding along the expressway and crops are submerged. Charsaddah and Nowshera districts have massive destruction. Mud is everywhere, thousands of people are sleeping in makeshift tents on the median of the road – there is little food and water.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Dsouza
A young boy sits in a school tent in Sindh province, Pakistan, where some 180 displaced children are beginning classes despite the emergency raging around them.

UNICEF warehouse there was completely underwater – $1.2 million in emergency supplies lost! Spoke to an older women who has lost everything except what she could carry. Few have been killed despite fast arriving water, but destruction is massive.

Day three

Back in Islamabad.

Attended United Nations team meeting in to discuss overall scope of the disaster.

Initial appeal for help was based on an estimate of just over 3 million people in urgent need. It is now clear that this figure is way off – many more need help. Government of Pakistan now estimates that 20 million are affected, and that an area the size of Switzerland, Austria and Belgium combined is under water.

Size of flood-affected area is growing daily, and more rains are due.

Day four

Sindh province.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Dsouza
Students and teachers in a makeshift school tent in Sindh province, Pakistan.

Nearly 4 million are displaced. Almost 2 million acres are covered in water! Took a helicopter flight over the area – there is water as far as we can see. Towns are flooded; electrical poles stand in deep, fast-flowing water. Water continues to flow onwards, threatening new areas – every hour, every day.

Attended briefing with the province governor. Expert views of the situation were provided by staff of Sukkur Barrage office. The barrage, or dam, is one of largest in the world. It must hold or all irrigation works will be destroyed and decades of progress lost.

Visited a camp for displaced people and sweat streamed down my face, back and body. It is so hot, and many (most) people are fasting for Ramadan – they don’t even take water. How do they manage?

One moment of hope – school has started in one camp and about 180 children are sitting and learning on the first day. The class includes many small girls who are in school for the first time!

Took ‘iftar’ – the evening meal when Muslims break their fast during Ramadan – with the Chief Minister. Discussed the many people working on the relief effort – government, army, UN and local partners. Support of Pakistani people is incredible, and yet all of this must expand.

Will the international community move fast enough? We need to help urgently.

Day five

Muzaffargarh district, in southern Punjab.

Again the heat and flies are everywhere – can I possibly live as these people are, and must?

Road was completely flooded on the way here, but we got through. Trucks are backed up waiting. Our driver says the water level has gone down in recent days.

The road is eroding – we hope it holds until the water recedes.

Spoke to a woman with five children who has lost everything. There are thousands – hundreds of thousands – like her. She fled the floods with her children, carrying no food, and only the clothes she was wearing. She has diarrhoea and all her children are ill despite now being at a safe camp where cooked food is provided. Her ‘tent’ is covered on only two sides, so when it rains the family huddles together to stay dry.

Water supply is good in the camp and there seems to be enough food, but conditions in all camps aren’t like this. These families are lucky.

Also visited a UNICEF ‘child-friendly space’ with games, toys and several caring adults to give children a welcome break from the grim reality and trauma of fleeing their homes.

UNICEF is responding quickly – nearly all staff from the Lahore office are here, plus many others. All are working to ensure clean water, and sanitation and good nutrition. We are working with [the World Health Organization] and others to provide health services like immunizations, oral rehydration solutions for diarrhoea and basic drugs, and to ensure – as much as possible – protection for children.

Day six:

Still in Muzaffargarh district, in southern Punjab. Last day in the field.

Its 0930 and we're driving along a high embankment -- water on both sides of the embankment in some areas --other people still safe on one side. The thermostat on the car dashboard says its 40 degrees Celsius outside (over 100 degrees Fahrenheit). Can’t imagine how people are surviving in this heat.

Some people have their livestock - precious assets they can sell later, if they can keep them alive. The mango trees are 3 ft under water and will probably die as will acres and acres of millet and cotton. So many livelihoods lost.

How will this affect families, communities? People on the left of the embankment have lost everything. Those on the right of this embankment may actually benefit in the short-term as prices for agriculture goods soar. But, for how long will this income last?

I stopped to talk to a large family on the embankment. There are at 12-15 children of various ages huddled together.

Their father has gone to their home this morning as he has done every day since the waters hit. He says his home is still partly standing and his livestock and some of his possessions are still ok. He's afraid that someone may steal what little he has left so he stays on the embankment nearby. He has some water from a nearby well and has some wheat to eat (a lucky man). But the family’s rice and cotton crop are under water – completely destroyed. All the seeds for the next planting are gone. The family has been helped by various philanthropic groups and his neighbours.

It’s amazing to see how the Pakistani people are reaching out to each other across this flooded land.

His daughters had not been going to the government school, but had been going to the local madrassa which provides free education and a meal. But now, there is no school or madrassa.

The government has rightly extended the school holidays as there are over 5,000 schools now providing shelter to the displaced. Across Pakistan more than 5,500 schools damaged or destroyed. This morning we passed three schools standing in three to five feet of water. There is a huge job ahead – massive reconstruction efforts are needed.

More than 20 per cent of health centres are damaged or flooded in an area as large as England or the state of Florida.

It’s noon and 45 degrees Celsius.

I am having a final discussion with staff about UNICEF’s work.

The scale of this disaster and the geographic scope is hard to comprehend. From Swat to Karachi its 1,500 km --- and there is massive flooding the whole length.

We need to rapidly deploy a very strong disease surveillance system at the local level.

With the scale and scope of this disaster, we will have to rely on the information from this surveillance system to quickly target disease outbreaks.  Even with all UNICEF’s partners and the government, there are just too few people and not enough capacity to respond without such a system in place.

I'm humbled by the work needed, so impressed by the people working on the ground.

Our staff are working day and night. They are far from their families during the holy month of Ramadan. And yet, they are doing this with excitement and commitment and without question.

That is the spirit of UNICEF - of all working here now. We must keep that spirit and spread it to thousands of others -- to reach those cut off and those most in need.

I can do all possible to raise funds, remove bureaucratic obstacles and get all the support urgently needed in the weeks and months ahead. The tasks are herculean and our support must be as well.


 

 

New enhanced search