巴基斯坦

巴基斯坦洪灾区急需进一步扩大干预措施

珊达娜.奥然泽布.杜兰妮报道

巴基斯坦贾尔瑟达地区,2010年8月18日 – 据政府部门估计,洪水对巴基斯坦造成了毁灭性的破坏,使约两千万人口受到影响。在该国西北部的开伯尔-普赫图赫瓦省,洪水让数百万人沦为灾民,其中大多数是妇女和儿童。

视频:2010年8月18日 – 联合国儿童基金会记者尼娜. 马丁内克报道在巴基斯坦开伯尔-普赫图赫瓦省开展紧急救援活动。

 

该省的24个地区全部遭到破坏,其中贾尔瑟达等9个地区遭受到了严重毁坏。数以千计的村庄被淹没,数不清的房屋和学校被冲毁。

“担惊受怕”

洪灾区的道路和桥梁被冲垮,这阻碍了进一步的救援活动,一些通往重灾区的道路仍未能恢复。贾尔瑟达的当地政府高中被改造成了一处避难所,收容了500多个因洪水而流离失所的家庭。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2010
巴基斯坦贾尔瑟达收留灾民的营地里,19岁的阿米娜正在联合国儿童基金会资助的医疗中心内接种疫苗。

贾尔瑟达地区的一名童子军领袖法扎勒.穆罕默德(Fazal Muhammad)说:“这是我有生以来见到的最大的灾难,我们现在又惊又怕,我们什么都没有了。”

穆罕默德先生还说,虽然他家的房子被冲垮了,他的家人也和亲戚们一起住在别的地区,但是他还是决定待在灾区附近。他说:“我不能离开我的人民,他们迫切地需要帮助。”

联合国儿童基金会当前的工作重点是向灾区供应营养品、清洁饮用水和卫生用品,以及提供医疗服务和小儿麻痹症、麻疹等疾病的免疫注射服务,从而预防疾病暴发。

穆罕默德先生指着改造后的学校说:“移动医疗小组在营地里工作。”他的童子军小组通过扩音器播放通知,从而确保营地里的妇女和儿童都去医疗点进行身体检查和疫苗注射。

巨大的损失

努斯拉来自肯达尔村,这个村庄在洪灾中遭到了毁灭性的破坏。努斯拉的姐姐带她到营地看医生,她已经怀孕三个月了,身体状况很差,精神也不好。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2010
巴基斯坦贾尔瑟达地区的营地里,医护人员正在为母亲们开展“健康与卫生”教育。

营地特别医疗小组的妇科专家鲁巴娜.哈莎(Lubna Hassa)博士说:“她又惊又恐,心理受到严重创伤,她的丈夫和两个儿子在洪水中丧生了。”

努斯拉回忆说:“我们还没反应过来,屋子里就全是水了。我的丈夫帮着我抬着两个小孩子到高地上,公共汽车等着把人们送出去。他让我们赶紧离开,自己回家去救两个大儿子。”

但是她已经两周没他们的消息了,心里很害怕。

19岁的阿米娜来自邻近的村庄,她怀孕4个月了。他们一家人住在学校改造成的避难营里,阿米娜的儿子托瑟夫患上了腹泻,所以她来到医疗中心寻求援助。

阿米娜说:“营地里的医护人员告诉妇女们要好好照顾自己的家人,尤其是孩子。”

扩大服务规模

据地方医疗官员法扎勒.阿卡巴(Fazale Akbar)博士说,贾尔瑟达地区约80%的土地被洪水淹没,他说:“这里的医疗需求量很大,我们需要国际社会的援助。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2010
疫苗接种人员在巴基斯坦贾尔瑟达的医疗中心为儿童接种疫苗。

省级医疗部门在联合国儿童基金会等人道主义援助机构的支持下,派遣了流动医疗小组前往灾区,为受灾严重和易感染疾病的家庭提供救生援助和营养供给服务。灾区报道的水传播疾病病例正在不断增多。

流动医疗小组中有医生、女医护人员和疫苗注射人员,为人们提供身体检查服务,为孕妇进行产前和产后的护理,以及提供药品和进行免疫注射。他们还向灾民宣传有关健康、营养和卫生常识,以预防水传播疾病。

除此之外,联合国儿童基金会目前已开始发放高能饼干、多种微量营养素小袋和其他治疗性食品,从而帮助体弱的妇女和儿童预防营养不良。

尽管各方作出了很大努力,但是仍有数以千计的家庭急需类似的干预措施,扩大服务规模的需求迫在眉睫,物资短缺成为开展有效救援活动的瓶颈。

据估计,共有约600万灾民“受到严重影响”,在接下来几周需要人要主义援助。


 

 

搜索

Pakistan

Urgent scale-up of interventions are urgently needed in flood-affected Pakistan

By Shandana Aurangzeb Durrani

CHARSADDAH DISTRICT, Pakistan, 18 August 2010 – Flood waters have left behind a trail of destruction affecting some 20 million people in Pakistan, according to government estimates. In Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa province in the country’s northwest, the floods have affected millions, with women and children representing the vast majority.

VIDEO: 18 August 2010: UNICEF correspondent Nina Martinek reports on emergency relief efforts in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province, NW Pakistan.

All 24 districts in the province have been affected of which nine, including Charsaddah, have suffered severe damage. Thousands of villages have been flooded, with countless homes and schools destroyed.

‘State of shock’

Bridges and roads have collapsed across the flood zone, hampering relief activities and causing some of the worst-affected districts to remain inaccessible by road. The local government high school in Charsaddah has been converted to a refuge for more than 500 families displaced by the floods.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2010
Amina, 19, receives a vaccination at a UNICEF-supported health centre in a camp for those displaced in Charsaddah, Pakistan.

“I have never seen such destruction in my lifetime,” said Fazal Muhammad, a Boy Scouts leader in Charsaddah district. “We are in a state of shock. All of us here have lost everything.”

While his house was destroyed and his family is staying with relatives in another district, Mr. Muhammad added, he has decided to stay in the devastated neighbourhood. “I can’t leave my people – they are desperate for help,” he said.

UNICEF’s top priority now is the provision of nutrition supplies, clean drinking water and sanitation, as well as health services and polio and measles vaccinations to prevent the outbreak of disease.

“Mobile health teams are in the camp,” said Mr. Muhammad, referring to the converted school. His team of Boy Scouts make loud speaker announcements to make sure all the camp’s women and children go to a health post for a check-up and vaccinations.

Devastating losses

Nusrat is a mother from the village of Khandar, which was completely destroyed by the floods. Her sister has brought her to see a camp doctor. Nusrat is three months pregnant and in a poor state of mental and physical health.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2010
Health workers conduct a 'Health and Hygiene' session with mothers staying at a camp in Charsaddah district, Pakistan.

“She is in a state of shock and severely traumatized,” said Dr. Lubna Hassa, a gynaecologist who is part of the special health team visiting the camp. “She has lost her husband and two sons in the floods.”

“Before we could realize it the house was full of water,” Nusrat recalled. “My husband helped me to take the two younger children out on higher grounds. Buses were waiting to take people out, and he told us to leave immediately and went back to get our two older sons.”

But she has not seen them in almost two weeks, and fears the worst.

Amina, 19, from a nearby village, is four months pregnant. Since taking refuge in the converted school with her family, her son, Tauseef, has become sick with diarrhoea. So she has come to the health centre to seek help.

“The health workers in the camp are telling all the women to take special care of their families, especially children,” said Amina.

Scaling up services

According to District Health Officer Dr. Fazale Akbar, a staggering 80 per cent of the area in Charsaddah district has been affected. “The health needs are immense, and we need the help of international community,” he said.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2010
Vaccinators at a health centre in Charsaddah, Pakistan immunize a child.

The provincial health department, with support from humanitarian agencies including UNICEF, have mobilized health teams to provide life-saving health and nutrition services to the families worst affected and most vulnerable to diseases. Cases of water-borne diseases are reportedly on the rise in the affected areas.

Mobile health teams comprising doctors, female health workers and vaccinators are providing check-ups, including ante-natal and post-natal care for pregnant women, essential medicines and vaccinations. They are also disseminating health, nutrition and hygiene messages on prevention of water-borne diseases.

In addition, UNICEF has started blanket distribution of high-energy biscuits, multi-micronutrient sachets and other therapeutic foodstuffs to prevent malnutrition among vulnerable women and children.

Despite these efforts, however, there remains an urgent need to scale up these services as thousands of families are in dire need of similar interventions. A shortfall in supplies is jeopardizing effective aid efforts.

An estimated 6 million people are ‘severely affected’ and will need humanitarian assistance over the coming weeks.


 

 

New enhanced search