巴基斯坦

洪水灾情持续加重,联合国儿童基金会的紧急救援物资抵达巴基斯坦

巴基斯坦卡拉齐,2010年8月12日–随着洪水灾情在巴基斯坦的不断加剧,联合国儿童基金会的一架装载100公吨紧急救援物资的货运包机今天抵达巴基斯坦南部港口城市卡拉齐。这批货物包括卫生包、营养品、助产包以及为受暴雨和洪水影响的家庭提供的防水帆布。

视频:2010年8月12日- 联合国儿童基金会记者克里斯.奈尔报道紧急救援物资抵达巴基斯坦。

 

这批救援物资中的一部分将运往巴基斯坦南部受灾最严重的信德省,另一部分将送往其它省份,其中急需帮助的妇女和儿童是救援物资发放的重点人群。

联合国儿童基金会驻信德省野外办事处主任安德罗.希拉卡德兹(Andro Shilakadze)说:“联合国儿童基金会的哥本哈根货物基地已经向灾区运送了物资,进一步开展救援行动。”

希拉卡德兹先生还说:“这是第一批救援物资,接下来还将有更多的物资运送过来。由于之前我们的一个主要仓库里的物资被洪水冲走了,所以今天抵达的这批物资真是解了我们的燃眉之急。”

阿富汗的援助

阿富汗政府在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,也向洪水肆虐的邻国发起了援助。由联合国儿童基金会提供的40吨救援物资(包括高能量饼干和用于治疗腹泻脱水的口服补液盐),已经从阿富汗送出并运往巴基斯坦灾区。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Sami
联合国儿童基金会的救援物资在卡拉齐从一架货运包机上卸下,准备发放给巴基斯坦洪水重灾区的妇女和儿童。

联合国儿童基金会驻阿富汗代表彼得.克劳利(Peter Crowley)指出,联合国儿童基金会将向对待阿富汗危机那样,尽全力为巴基斯坦提供援助。

克劳利先生说:“我们非常谨慎,确保我们有足够的物资来满足阿富汗的潜在需求。在接下来的几周,我们有充足的物资储备运往阿富汗。我们非常有信心,能够满足这里的需求并向巴基斯坦同胞提供援助。”

需要紧急援助

联合国儿童基金会估计,巴基斯坦约600万儿童受到洪灾影响,其中约270万需要紧急救生援助。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Sami
巴基斯坦西北部省份的一所学校,一名妇女在健康卫生教育课上阅读教育小册子,由于洪水泛滥,水媒疾病对儿童造成了很大威胁。

据联合国估计,洪灾影响波及人数共达约1400万。数十万受灾人口已接受到人道主义援助,但仍有数百万灾民需要住所、食物、水和医疗服务等救援物资。洪灾影响人数还在不断上升。作为由巴基斯坦政府、联合国各机构和非政府组织等机构间对危机开展的援助行动的一部分,联合国儿童基金会带领各方在两个关键领域共同努力:水和卫生以及营养,并同时与合作伙伴共同致力于儿童保护和教育。

保护与支持

如果安全饮用水、医疗卫生等人道主义援助物资不能及时到达,那么灾区将有可能因水传播疾病而面临第二次死亡高潮。若没有足够的营养援助,那么也有可能出现食品危机。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Zak
巴基斯坦西北部省份的一所学校,一名妇女在健康卫生教育课上阅读教育小册子,由于洪水泛滥,水媒疾病对儿童造成了很大威胁。

从长远来看,由于很多地区的农作物被洪水冲走,所有帮助农村社区重建生活将非常必要。

受灾人口中约有60%是妇女和儿童,他们在危机形势下更易受到虐待和剥削,因此需要保护和社会心理支持。在安置流离人口的营地建立儿童友好场所、娱乐设施以及开展教育活动,并为与家庭分离的孤儿和儿童安排住所是当下的迫切需求。


 

 

搜索

Pakistan

UNICEF emergency aid arrives in Pakistan amidst continuing flood crisis

KARACHI, Pakistan, 12 August 2010 – As the worst natural disaster in living memory continues to unfold in Pakistan, a chartered airliner carrying 100 metric tonnes of UNICEF emergency relief arrived in the southern port city of Karachi early today. The shipment includes health kits, nutrition supplies, midwifery kits and tarpaulins for families affected by weeks of monsoon rains and flooding around the country.

VIDEO: 12 August 2010 - UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on the arrival of emergency supplies bound for flood victims in Pakistan.

Some of these supplies will be dispatched to the worst affected areas of Sindh Province in southern Pakistan, while the rest will be moved to other parts of the county – all with an emphasis on reaching women and children in dire need.

“UNICEF’s main supply warehouse in Copenhagen has sent these items to support our ongoing relief activities in the flood-affected areas,” said the head of the UNICEF Field Office in Sindh, Andro Shilakadze.

“This is the first major shipment of emergency supplies and we expect more to arrive in the coming days,” added Mr. Shilakadze. “Since our pre-positioned supplies in one of the major warehouses were washed out by floods, supplies received today were urgently needed.”

Aid from Afghanistan

The Government of Afghanistan, with UNICEF’s help, has also sent aid to its flood-stricken neighbours in Pakistan. Some 40 tonnes of UNICEF supplies – including high-energy biscuits and oral rehydration salts (used to prevent diarrhoeal dehydration) – have been delivered from Afghanistan for distribution to affected communities around Pakistan.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Sami
At Jinnah International Airport in Karachi, an operations staffer checks inventory of 100 metric tonnes of emergency supplies sent from UNICEF's main warehouse in Copenhagen, Denmark, bound for Pakistan flood victims.

The aid given to Pakistan will not compromise UNICEF’s ability to respond to emergencies in Afghanistan, noted UNICEF Representative in Afghanistan Peter Crowley.

“We have been careful to make sure we have enough stock here to be able to cover potential needs in Afghanistan,” explained Mr. Crowley. “We have enough stock and supplies on the way to Afghanistan within the next few weeks. We are confident of covering needs here and offering support to our colleagues in Pakistan.”

Supplies urgently needed

UNICEF estimates that 6 million children have been affected by the floods in Pakistan and that some 2.7 million of them need immediate, life-saving assistance.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Sami
UNICEF relief supplies are offloaded from a chartered cargo plane in Karachi for immediate distribution to women and children in areas hit hard by the Pakistan flood crisis.

According to UN estimates, a total of 14 million people have been affected by the floods. Hundreds of thousands have received humanitarian aid, but millions more urgently need shelter, food, water, and health care. And the number affected could rise further in the coming days.
As part of the inter-agency crisis response by the Government of Pakistan, UN agencies and non-governmental organizations, UNICEF is leading joint efforts in two critical areas: water and sanitation, and nutrition. It is also working with partners on child protection and education.

Protection and support

If humanitarian assistance for safe water, health and hygiene is not provided soon enough, there could be a second wave of deaths caused by waterborne diseases in the flood zone. A food crisis is also possible without adequate nutrition aid.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2010/Zak
A woman reads an educational brochure during a health and hygiene education session at a school in north-western Pakistan, where waterborne diseases pose a threat, especially to children, as a result of flooding.

Over the longer term, it will be necessary to assist agricultural communities in rebuilding their livelihoods, as field crops have been destroyed by the floods in many areas.

Nearly 60 percent of the affected population are women and children, who are especially vulnerable to abuse or exploitation in crisis conditions and, therefore, need protection and psycho-social support. There is an urgent need to provide child-friendly spaces, recreation and emergency education to children in camps for the displaced, as well as shelter arrangements for orphans and children who have been separated from their families.


 

 

New enhanced search