巴基斯坦

救援人员开展工作重点预防巴基斯坦洪水灾区的疾病暴发

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1569/Zaidi
巴基斯坦西北部的开伯尔-普赫图赫瓦省,一名小女孩坐在家里抢救出来的物品中间。该地区250万人口受到洪灾影响,洪水摧毁了女孩所在村子里约80%的房屋。

开伯尔-普赫图赫瓦省白沙瓦地区加拉贝拉村,孩子们排队等待从联合国儿童基金会援助的水车里取清洁用水。该省是巴基斯坦遭受洪水灾害最严重的地区。

 点击此处收听音频

与此同时,天气预报预计下周还将出现暴雨,政府部门已经向全国很多地区发布了洪水预警信息。

联合国儿童基金会巴基斯坦项目专家穆罕默德.拉菲克博士(Mohammed Rafiq)近日访问了西北部开伯尔-普赫图赫瓦省省会白沙瓦市受洪灾影响严重的社区,该地区灾情最为严重,受灾人口达到约250万。

拉菲克博士在接受联合国儿童基金会电话采访时说:“没有人能记起比这场洪水更严重的灾难了。”

担忧水传播疾病

他接着指出,洪水过后,大片农田遭到破坏,食品价格已经开始上涨。对此,联合国儿童基金会已经向数千名儿童发放了高能量饼干。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1559/Zak
巴基斯坦西北部的开伯尔-普赫图赫瓦省的一个受灾村里,一名男孩提着从水车里刚取的水。为防止疾病暴发,联合国儿童基金会提供了卫生包、清洁饮用水、塑料桶以及其它用水和卫生用品。

除了应对营养危机之外,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴还致力于开展工作预防霍乱、疥疮、腹泻及其它易于在生活环境不卫生和饮用水资源不卫生的人群中传播的疾病。

水传播疾病尤其对儿童威胁最大,甚至有潜在的致命危险。

卫生包和水车

但是拉菲克博士说,洪灾地区与外界交流不便,这给救援人员带来了很大困难。由于灾区没有手机信号,他只能通过广播与当地社区联系,告知受灾群众要保护自己和儿童免受疾病的影响。

拉菲克博士说:“我告诉大家,如果他们在三楼或更高的楼层有个水车,就应该把它当成世界上最宝贵的东西,并且只喝水车里的水。如果没有水车,就应该收集雨水。如果迫不得已必须喝洪水,那么就应该使用净水药片。”

为帮助解决用水和卫生问题,联合国儿童基金会向灾区提供了卫生包和水车,并修缮了70多口井,可供80万人使用,还帮助24所医疗营地进行快速部署,从而为约100万民众提供服务。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1558/Zak
开伯尔-普赫图赫瓦省白沙瓦地区加拉贝拉村,孩子们排队等待从联合国儿童基金会援助的水车里取清洁用水。该省是巴基斯坦遭受洪水灾害最严重的地区。

社区隔绝

另一个重大挑战是向因道路中断或通信被切断而隔绝地区的人们传递健康信息和其他消息。

拉菲克博士说:“我们目前最担心的是那些无法到达的地区,道路被毁坏,桥梁被冲垮,让我们的工作更加困难。现在虽然还未有任何疾病疫情出现,但是希望在我们无法到达的地区也没有疫情出现。”

即使在接受到紧急援助的地区,很多儿童也遭受着因灾难而带来的痛苦遭遇的影响。

拉菲克博士说:“洪水来袭,他们在睡梦中被父母从床上拖起来,不得不逃往安全地带。他们收到的唯一预警信号来自当地的清真寺,通知大家迅速离开。人们逃离时没有穿鞋,也没有带任何财物。”

长期影响

巴基斯坦约140万儿童受到洪灾影响,当洪水退去,人们找到栖身之所后,学校恢复正常的教学仍然需要一定的时间。

尽管联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴为了让儿童早日摆脱危机,在支援学校复课方面作出了很大努力,但是很多学生所接受的教育仍然遭到了中断。

拉菲克博士说:“我们认为这场灾难将会对未来几年都产生影响。”


 

 

音频(英文)

2010年8月4日:联合国儿童基金会巴基斯坦项目专家穆罕默德.拉菲克谈他近日访问受洪灾影响的白沙瓦地区的情况。
音频 收听

搜索

Pakistan

Aid workers focus on staving off disease outbreaks in Pakistan flood zone

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1569/Zaidi
A child sleeps on a bed surrounded by floodwater at his home in Khwas Koorona village, located in in north-western Pakistan's Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa Province. An estimated 2.5 million of the province’s 3.5 million residents have been affected by the disaster.

NEW YORK, USA, 4 August 2010 – As relief efforts accelerate in provinces of north-western Pakistan inundated by torrential rains this week, floodwaters are slowly receding and some stricken areas are finally becoming accessible. The Government of Pakistan and its humanitarian partners – including UNICEF – are now assessing the full extent of crisis.

AUDIO: Listen now

At the same time, weather forecasts are predicting heavy rainfall for the coming week, and the government has issued new flood warnings for many parts of the country.

UNICEF Pakistan Programme Specialist Dr. Mohammed Rafiq returned today from a visit to flood-affected communities in Peshawar, capital of the north-western province of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. It is the area hit hardest by the flooding, with some 2.5 million people affected in that province alone.

“Nobody has any memory of a worse disaster,” Dr. Rafiq said in a telephone interview with UNICEF Radio.

Concern over waterborne illness

He went on to note that food prices have already begun to rise in the aftermath of the floods, which devastated large areas of agricultural land. In response, UNICEF Pakistan has already distributed high-energy biscuits to thousands of children.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1559/Zak
A boy carries water from a tanker in a flood-affected village in Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa Province, Pakistan. To prevent disease outbreaks, UNICEF is providing hygiene kits, safe drinking water, plastic buckets and other water-and-sanitation supplies.

In addition to addressing nutrition concerns, UNICEF and its partners are working to prevent any rise in cholera, scabies, diarrhoea or other diseases that spread easily among people living in unsanitary conditions with unsafe water sources.

Waterborne diseases are especially threatening, and potentially deadly, for young children.

Hygiene kits and water tankers

But communication in the flood zone has posed challenges for aid workers, according to Dr. Rafiq. Because there is no mobile phone reception in the affected areas, he contacts local communities via radio twice a day to help inform flood victims about protecting themselves and their children from disease.

“I tell them that if they have a water tank on the third floor or higher, they should treat this as the most precious thing in the world and only drink from it,” said Dr. Rafiq. “If people do not have this, then they can collect rainwater. If they have to drink floodwater, they should use water-purifying tablets.”

To help alleviate water and sanitation problems, UNICEF has provided hygiene kits and water tankers to flooded areas. It has also repaired more than 70 wells benefitting 800,000 people and supported the rapid deployment of 24 medical camps equipped to serve approximately 1 million people.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1558/Zak
Children queue up for safe water from a UNICEF tanker in Jala Bela village, located in the Peshawar district of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Province, the province hit hardest by recent flooding in Pakistan.

Communities cut off

Another major challenge is getting vital health information and other messages to people in areas that may now be cut off from roads and communication channels.

“Our biggest concern is the places we have not been able to reach yet,” said Dr. Rafiq. “Roads have been destroyed and bridges washed away, which makes our work even more difficult. We have not seen an epidemic of any disease yet, but God forbid that there is one somewhere we have not been able to reach yet.”

Even in areas already reached by emergency aid, many children are suffering from the impact of their terrifying experiences during the disaster.

“They were grabbed out of their beds by parents in the middle of the night and had to run to safe ground as water poured into their houses,” explained Dr. Rafiq. “The only warning they had was from local mosques telling them to leave. They ran without their shoes and without their belongings.”

Long-term impact

About 1.4 million children have been affected by the floods in Pakistan. Once the waters subside and people find shelter, it may still take time before schools are up and running.

Despite efforts by UNICEF and its partners to restore schooling as quickly as possible in order to help children recover from the crisis, many students could face a disruption of their education.

“We will feel the effects of this disaster for years to come,” said Dr. Rafiq.


 

 

Audio

4 August 2010:  UNICEF Pakistan Program Specialist Dr. Mohammed Rafiq speaks about his recent visit to the flood-affected Peshawar area.
AUDIO listen

New enhanced search