被占领的巴勒斯坦领土

在加沙地带,重返校园的孩子们因暴力冲突心灵受到严重创伤

凯瑟琳.怀布尔(Catherine Weibel)报道

被占领的巴勒斯坦领土加沙城,2012年11月27日 —— 加沙地带各所学校重新开课,孩子们脑海里满是 —— 他们目睹的暴力行为,无法忘记。

联合国儿童基金会通讯员克里斯.尼尔斯(Chris Niles)报道一周暴力冲突后加沙地带的学生重返校园。  在Realplayer中播放

 

在加沙城的恩阿尔-古拉学校,年幼的女孩们走过堆满瓦砾和玻璃碎片的操场,紧张地张望着被损毁的场景。他们很高兴能重返校园,但学校却已是满目疮痍,甚至最熟悉的东西也呈现令人伤怀的面貌。

在其中一间教室,尽管墙壁炸出了一个洞,但孩子们在黑板上写的字仍清晰可见。多间教室的墙壁已经倒塌。当空袭炸弹击中隔壁的内政部时,这些教室的墙壁被炸毁。透过倒塌的墙壁,内政部建筑物的残骸尽收眼底,其屋顶落在大街上。

学校被毁

加沙沿海飞地与以色列之间爆发的一周暴力冲突造成加沙地带至少136所学校和幼儿园被毁,而且这一数字预计仍会增加。

加沙的160万人口中,半数是儿童。

十岁的卡欧劳德(Kholoud)在被炸弹炸毁的家具和无合叶的门板间拾掇着家中财物。她的衣服满是厚厚的灰尘,这些灰尘漂浮在空中,刺痛我们的喉咙。

“那天,家里有电,妈妈喊我。那时她正看着新闻,说:‘你看,空袭炸弹击中了内政部,你的学校也被炸坏了。’”卡欧劳德回忆说,“我在电视上看到学校的样子。我简直不敢相信。今天,我亲眼见到,学校现在的样子比我想象的更糟糕。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-1590/El Baba
被占领的巴勒斯坦领土加沙城内恩阿尔-古拉(Um al-Qura)女子学校外的海报警示地雷及其他战争遗留爆炸物可能引起的危险。

卡欧劳德的朋友劳尔汉(Nourhan)仍会被过往的车辆惊吓。“过往车辆的声响听起来就像导弹在附近落下。”她小声说。

在院子里,孩子们围在残垣断壁上贴着的海报周围。这些海报展示了奇怪物体的照片,警示孩子们不要从废墟中拾起任何像这些物体的东西,以免受到伤害。这些海报是由联合国儿童基金会与联合国排雷行动服务部(United Nations Mine Action Service)主导的、旨在提高认识的运动的一部分。这项运动警示儿童及其家庭避开战争遗留爆炸物可能引起的危险。

加沙城的另一所学校被毁程度较轻,但学生们感觉还是很难在这里好好学习。许多人无法忽视隔壁加沙体育场(Gaza Stadium)绿色草坪上被空袭炸弹炸出的两个巨大弹坑。

暴力冲突对儿童心灵的创伤

“暴力冲突遗留的残骸无处不在,孩子的心灵创伤如何才能开始愈合?”在同事们清除碎玻璃,为破损窗户安装塑料片材时,阿尔.法拉比(Al Farabi)学校的校长华发.扎基.阿里(Wafa Zaki Ali)说。

除了一个11岁的女生因眼睛被玻璃碎片划伤无法上学,所有儿童都已重返校园。所有学生都经历了或多或少的暴力侵害。有些人说起有亲人丧生或受伤;许多人都看到自己家或邻居的房子被空袭炸弹和炮弹炸毁。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-1592/El Baba
在加沙地带南部城市拉法(Rafah),孩子们从被炸开的一处大洞向屋外倾倒瓦砾。儿童及其家庭仍在遭受最近在加沙与以色列之间发生的暴力冲突所造成的苦难。

“孩子们无法集中精力学习。他们希望倾诉所经历的暴力事件。他们希望讨论暴力冲突发生的原因及是否会再次发生。”学校辅导员纳迪亚.阿尔.阿什卡(Nadia Al Ashqar)说。她认为很难让孩子们相信他们现在很安全的事实。许多人在四年前的“铸铅行动”(Operation Cast Lead)期间曾遭受暴力侵害,目睹过毁灭场景。

“所有这些孩子都有故事,也听到过其他无数的故事。一个5岁的小女孩告诉她的朋友,她的叔叔在去往女友家求婚的路上被空袭炸弹击中离开了人世。”阿尔.阿什卡女士说。

一些最年幼的女孩会被非常小的声响惊吓;其他人也不会单独去洗手间。“一个女孩告诉我,她担心炮击会再次开始,她可能会死。”阿尔.阿什卡女士说。

孩子们的绘画反映出他们的心灵创伤。许多人画的是暴力场景,如:军用飞机从空中投掷炸弹时,家人在屋内默默等待。

修复校园是工作的重中之重

“只有当孩子们在家里和学校都感到安全时,他们的心灵创伤才开始愈合。这就是为什么修复学校是联合国儿童基金会工作的重中之重。”联合国儿童基金会驻加沙地方办事处主任黛安.阿拉基(Diane Araki)说。

在未来数周内,2万个书包将分发给学生,118所学校将对轻微损坏进行修复。心灵创伤将需要更长时间才能愈合。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: State of Palestine

In Gaza, children returning to school are scarred by violence

By Catherine Weibel

GAZA CITY, occupied Palestinian territory, 27 November 2012 – As schools reopen across Gaza, children have only one thing on their minds – the violence they have witnessed and cannot forget.

UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on the return to school in Gaza following a week of violence. Watch in RealPlayer

At Gaza City’s Um al-Qura school, little girls walk through a playground littered with debris and glass, nervously peering at the damage. They were happy to go back to school, but have found a pockmarked landscape in which even the most familiar sights have taken on haunting aspects.

In one of the classrooms, sentences written by children are still visible on the blackboard, despite a hole carved by a blast. Several of the rooms are missing walls. They were blown open when an air strike hit the Ministry of Interior next door. The openings offer a panoramic view over the remains of that building, its roof lying on the street.

Schools suffer damage

At least 136 schools and kindergartens were damaged in Gaza during the week of violence between the coastal enclave and Israel, and the number is expected to rise.

Children make up half of Gaza’s population of 1.6 million.

Ten-year-old Kholoud searches for her belongings among scattered furniture and doors blown off their hinges by the blast. Her clothes are full of the thick dust that floats in the air and burns our throats.

“One day there was electricity, and my mother called me. She was watching the news and said: ‘Look, an air strike hit the Ministry of Interior, and your school was damaged,’” Kholoud recalls. “They were showing my school on TV. I could not believe it. Today, I came to see for myself, and it’s worse than I thought.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-1590/El Baba
A poster outside Um al-Qura school for girls in Gaza City, occupied Palestinian territory, warns of the dangers associated with landmines and other explosive remnants of war.

Kholoud’s friend Nourhan is still startled each time a car drives by. “It sounds like a missile is falling nearby,” she whispers.

In the courtyard, children gather around posters plastered on the remaining walls. They display photos of strange objects and warn children not to pick up anything from the rubble that looks like these objects, as they might die. The posters are part of an awareness-raising campaign led by UNICEF and the United Nations Mine Action Service (UNMAS) to alert children and their families to the danger of explosive remnants of war.

Another school in Gaza City suffered less extensive damage, but the students find it difficult to study. Many can’t take their eyes from two giant craters carved into green lawns by air strikes on Gaza Stadium, next door.

Violence echoes, in children

“How can children start healing when the scars of violence are everywhere?” asks Al Farabi School Principal Wafa Zaki Ali, as colleagues clean up broken glass and tap plastic sheeting to cover blown-out windows.

All of the children have come back to school, except for an 11-year-old girl who was injured in the eye by a shard of glass. All of the students have experienced some degree of violence. Some speak of relatives killed or injured; many have seen their house or their neighbour’s house damaged by air strikes or shelling.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-1592/El Baba
In Rafah, southern Gaza, children remove rubble from their destroyed home through a hole in its infrastructure. Children and their families continue to endure the effects of the recent violence between Gaza and Israel.

“The children cannot focus on their studies. They want to share their experience of violence. They want to discuss why it happened and whether it will happen again,” says school counselor Nadia Al Ashqar. Ms. Al Ashqar says it is difficult to convince children that they are safe. Many had already experienced violence and destruction four years earlier, during Operation Cast Lead.

“All these children have a story to tell and heard myriads of other stories. A 5-year-old girl told her friends that her uncle was killed in an air strike as he walked to his girlfriend’s house to propose,” says Ms. Al Ashqar.

Some of the youngest girls start shaking at the smallest sound; others will not go to the bathroom alone. “One girl told me she feared the shelling would start again and she might die,” says Ms. Al Ashqa.

The trauma is reflected in children’s drawings. Many have produced violent images, such as families waiting in houses as military aircraft drop bombs from the sky.

Repairing schools is a priority

“Children will start healing only once they feel safe at home and at school. This is why repairing the schools is a priority for UNICEF,” says UNICEF Chief of Field Office in Gaza Diane Araki.

In the coming weeks, 20,000 school bags will be distributed, and 118 schools will be repaired for minor damage. The emotional wounds will take longer to heal.


 

 

New enhanced search