黎巴嫩

黎巴嫩境内的叙利亚难民生活窘困,担扰家人

西蒙.英格拉姆报道

黎巴嫩法奇哈(Al Faqiha),2012年5月7日——法奇哈这座山顶小镇位于贝卡谷地的偏远角落,是黎巴嫩东部边境的一片肥沃土地。这里也是距离叙利亚这个麻烦不断的邻国最近的地方,俨然一个天然庇护所,很适合逃离家园、躲避动荡的叙利亚家庭暂时容身。

2012年4月:联合国儿童基金会通讯员西蒙.英格拉姆(Simon Ingram)报道叙利亚难民在黎巴嫩的困境。  在Realplayer中播放

 

乌姆.卡里姆(Um Karim)*是七个孩子的母亲,近日刚刚来到法奇哈。当她所生活的社区被卷入国内冲突时,惊恐之下,她猝然决定穿山越岭,逃离家园。

“我抓起孩子就跑,”她说,“我们没时间带任何东西,连身份证件都没带。我们穿过一座座山谷,来到这里。”

她的丈夫是一位出租车司机,未能与其家人一同离开。乌姆.卡里姆逃出来后,至今没有他的音讯。

努力应对

她和三个孩子(两个才刚刚学步,最大的14岁)来到法奇哈以后,一个当地家庭腾出一个房间让她们住下。房间里几乎没有家具,也没有取暖设施抵御沿附近山坡刮过的冷风。

这里也没什么吃的。乌姆.卡里姆指着墙角,有几个小塑料罐盛着米、小扁豆、果酱和其他基本用品。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-0239/Kate Brooks
艾米拉(化名)站在黎巴嫩贝卡谷地。因她所住的村庄发生了激烈交战,她与丈夫和孩子逃离了叙利亚。她在逃跑时被甩出了卡车,伤得不轻。

“我们还缺很多东西,”她说,“我们会想办法。尽管我们在叙利亚的生活不是这样。感谢上帝!我们会努力应对。”

尽管黎巴嫩当局允许叙利亚青少年儿童进入当地学校,但是乌姆.卡里姆的孩子们还没有上课。

为家中亲人提心吊胆

面对苦难,失去家人和房产,漂泊不定,仍能处变不惊、坚韧抗争,此类叙利亚家庭的故事,在这一地区随处可见。最近的评估认为目前有大约8500名逃亡叙利亚人在贝卡谷地避难。总计有22000叙利亚人滞留在黎巴嫩。

许多人像24岁的艾米拉*一样,从留下的伤疤就能看出她们的遭遇。当战火降临她生活的村庄时,她和许多人被迫逃离。她的脸上仍旧清晰可见被甩出卡车时留下的伤痕。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-0234/Kate Brooks
黎巴嫩贝卡谷地,乌姆.哈希姆(化名)在休息,一只手杵着额头。她在叙利亚的家被摧毁了,她也逃到了黎巴嫩。

对于在这里滞留很久的人来说,做到收支平衡则是最大的负担。

“在这里,我丈夫没有工作,”有三个孩子的萨尔瓦(Salwa)*说道,“我们得到了一些援助,比如罐头食品。有些亲戚给我们提供了家具,但是租金很贵,房子很潮湿。我给儿子找到了一份工作。他每天能挣10美元,可以支付租金。”

乌姆.哈希姆60多岁,已经在黎巴嫩滞留一年多,由一个逃亡叙利亚家庭援助小组照护。尽管她承认生活困难,但她最大的担忧还是仍在叙利亚国内的儿子以及其他男性亲属的命运。

“我们感谢黎巴嫩人接纳了我们,还给我们柴米油盐和其他东西,”她说,“但我仍旧终日担忧家里的状况。”

* 为保护难民身份,文中人名系化名。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Lebanon

Syrian refugees in Lebanon cope with hardships, fear for their families at home

By Simon Ingram

AL FAQIHA, Lebanon, 7 May 2012 – The little hilltop town of Al Faqiha is located in one of the more remote corners of the Bekaa Valley, a fertile swath of land along Lebanon’s eastern frontier. It’s also the region closest to Syria, Lebanon’s troubled neighbour, making it a natural refuge for Syrian families seeking sanctuary from the unrest in their homeland.

April 2012: UNICEF correspondent Simon Ingram reports on the plight of Syrian refugees in Lebanon.  Watch in RealPlayer

Um Karim*, mother of seven, is one of the more recent arrivals in Al Faqiha. Her decision to flee across the mountains was made in one fearful instant, as clashes suddenly engulfed her neighbourhood.

“I just grabbed the children and ran,” she said. “We didn’t have time to take anything, not even our identity papers. We came through the valleys until we reached here.”
Her husband, a taxi driver, was unable to leave with the rest of the family. Um Karim has not heard from him since they fled.

Trying to cope

When she and her children – two of them toddlers, the eldest aged 14 – reached Al Faqiha, a local family offered them a single room to use. The room is sparsely furnished, and there’s no heating to warm them against the cold wind that sweeps off the nearby mountain slopes.

There’s not much to eat either. Um Karim points to a corner where a few plastic tubs contain rice, lentils, jam and other basic supplies.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-0239/Kate Brooks
Ameera [NAME CHANGED] stands in the Bekaa Valley, Lebanon. She fled Syria with her husband and child while their village was under heavy fire. She was badly bruised when she was thrown from a truck while escaping.

“We’re missing a lot of things,” she said. “We can manage, but this is not the life we had in Syria. We thank God. We just try to cope.”

Despite offers by Lebanese authorities to place Syrian children in local schools, but none of Um Karim’s children are currently attending class.

Fear for relatives back home

Stories like these, of stoicism and resilience in the face of hardship, loss and uncertainty, can be heard from Syrian families across the region. Latest assessments suggest there are now approximately 8,500 displaced Syrians sheltering in the Bekaa Valley. In total, there are more than 22,000 Syrians staying in Lebanon.

Some, like 24-year-old Ameera*, bear visible scars of their experiences. Her face is still badly bruised from when she was thrown out of a truck while she and others were escaping shellfire that descended on their home village.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2012-0234/Kate Brooks
Um Hashem [NAME CHANGED] rests her forehead on her hand in the Bekaa Valley, Lebanon. Her home in Syria was destroyed, and she fled to Lebanon.

For those who have been here longer, the task of making ends meet is the biggest preoccupation.

“Here, my husband has no work,” said Salwa*, a mother of three. “We are getting some assistance, like canned food. Some relatives provided me with furniture, but rent is very high and the house is damp. I managed to find work for my son. He earns $10 a day, which helps with the rent.”

Um Hashem*, who is in her 60s, has been in Lebanon for more than a year, and belongs to a support group for displaced Syrian families. Although she acknowledges life is difficult, her biggest worry is about the fate of her son and other male relatives still inside Syria.

“We thank the Lebanese for receiving us and for giving us rice and oil and other things,” she said. “But there’s not a day that passes when I don’t worry about what’s happening back home.”

*Names changed to protect refugees’ identities


 

 

New enhanced search