吉尔吉斯斯坦

“降低灾害风险”培训帮助吉尔吉斯斯坦建立安全文化

罗伯.麦克布莱德报道

吉尔吉斯斯坦申根 (Chengen),2011 年 11 月 9 日 – 在吉尔吉斯斯坦南部村庄申根,到处都是持续不断的清理场景和喧闹声。约两周前,一次重大泥石流灾害袭击该地,十岁的拉斯兰.奥姆巴伏 (Ruslan Omurbaev) 和他的三个兄弟姐妹仍然清晰地记着这痛苦的记忆。

联合国儿童基金会通讯员罗伯.麦克布莱德 (Rob McBride) 报道吉尔吉斯斯坦发生破坏性泥石流灾害后,降低灾害风险的情况。  在Realplayer中播放

 


“泥石流带走了一切 —— 我的玩具、书本,”拉斯兰颤抖着声音说。“到现在,我还会做恶梦。”

他详细述了他家门前那条平常干枯的河床,在暴雨过后突然暴发汹涌的泥石流,冲过河岸,摧毁了他们的房屋。

幸运的是,没有村民在泥石流中丧生,但这场突如其来的灾难暴露出吉尔吉斯斯坦在灾害面前是多么脆弱。在该国西南角最贫瘠的巴特肯地区,分布着沟壑和深谷,突降暴雨、迅速引发泥石流的场景很常见。

“降低灾害风险”课程

“降低灾害风险”课程在邻近的加尼巴克村庄,谈到“降低灾害风险”(DRR) 课程时,当地 “Schoola” 幼儿园的教师努古尔.卡拉伊娃 (Nurgul Karaeva) 尤其痛心。就在一周前,她的两个年幼的侄子也被附近山上暴发的泥石流夺去了生命。

“三到五岁的儿童能够真正地学到这些知识,甚至能教他们的父母怎样做。”她说:“如果我那两个侄子早点学会应对方法,也许就能活下来。”

这个社区随时面临着狂风暴雨的危险。 这里还是地震频发地区,最近一次地震发生在七月份,震级达到里氏 6 级以上,造成数百人无家可归。在与乌兹别克斯坦交界的地区,至少有 13 人在地震中死亡。

 

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Kyrgyzstan/2011
“降低灾害风险”课程对五岁的艾简.阿布迪卡里莫娃 (Aijan Abdykarimova) 尤其重要,因为她上学的路上,要经过一条干枯的河床,但在大雨天,河床就会变成急流。

“降低灾害风险”课程由联合国儿童基金会与政府和非政府组织合作伙伴联合实施,旨在建立可持续的安全文化。该项目通过欧洲委员会人道主义援助部 (ECHO) 的欧洲委员会人道主义办公室灾难预防计划提供支持。

“这对我们来说,这是个新鲜事物。”地区教育部主管阿巴迪拉希兹 (Abdilaziz Zaitov) 解释到。“过去,孩子们一遇到紧急情况只会惊慌乱窜,但是现在,他们完全知道该怎么做了。”

更大的潜在危险

在邻近村庄的幼儿园,“降低灾害风险”课程对五岁的艾简.阿布迪卡里莫娃 (Aijan Abdykarimova) 尤其重要,因为她上学的途中,要经过一条干枯的河床,但在大雨天,河床就会变成急流。

“当我们看到泥石流时,”她自信满满地说。“我们必须跑回家,和父母在一起。因为泥石流很危险,会把人冲走。”

按照计划,针对三至七岁儿童的培训将在吉尔吉斯斯坦的所有学前班展开,这样,所有儿童都能学会如何在紧急情况下逃生。

“灾害中最脆弱的群体的就是儿童和老人。”巴特肯地区紧急情况部主管伊斯兰.米希拉利伏 (Islam Misiraliev) 说道。“但是,只要接受正确的培训,同样是这些孩子,就能在需要时变成宝贵的资源。”

在吉尔吉斯斯坦,这一代儿童的成长面临着前所未有的巨大潜在危险。“降低灾害风险”课程帮助青少年学习必要的技巧,尽量避免悲剧的发生。

 


 

 

搜索

Kyrgyzstan

Disaster Risk Reduction training helps build a culture of safety in Kyrgyzstan

By Rob McBride

CHENGEN, Kyrgystan, 9 November 2011 - In the village of Chengen in southern Kyrgyzstan, the sights and sounds of the continuing clean-up are everywhere. Less than two weeks after a massive mudslide ripped through here, claiming scores of homes, the memory of it is still intensely painful for 10-year-old Ruslan Omurbaev and his three brothers and sisters.

UNICEF correspondent Rob McBride reports on the state of disaster risk reduction after damaging floods in Kyrgyzstan. Watch in RealPlayer

“The flood took everything - my toys, my books,” said Ruslan, his voice trembling.  “And it still gives me bad dreams.”

He described in detail how the normally dry river bed in front of their house became a raging torrent of mud and water following torrential rains, and how it suddenly surged over its banks, inundating their homes. 

Luckily, no one in the village died in the flood, but its speed and ferocity was a frightening reminder of how prone this part of Kyrgyzstan is to disasters. Driving through the deep ravines and gorges of the mostly arid Batken region of the country’s south west corner, it is easy to see how sudden rains can produce flash floods. 

Lessons in Disaster Risk Reduction

In the neighbouring district in the village of Jany Bak, the lesson in Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) at the local ‘Schoola’ kindergarten was particular poignant for the teacher, Nurgul Karaeva. Just a week earlier, her two teenage nephews were killed in a flood in the nearby mountains. 

“Children between three and five really absorb this information and even tell their parents what to do,” she said.  “If those two boys who died had known what to do, maybe they would have survived.”

This is a community living with the daily dangers posed by powerful rains and winds. It is also a region that is frequented by earthquakes, the most recent of which, a powerful tremor in late July, measured more than 6 on the Richter scale and left hundreds of people homeless.  Across the border in neighboring Uzbekistan, at least 13 people died.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Kyrgyzstan/2011
Lessons in DRR are particularly relevant for five-year-old Aijan Abdykarimova, as her walk home from school takes her across a dry river bed that becomes a torrent during heavy rains.

Lessons in DRR implemented by UNICEF in conjunction with Government and NGO partners are designed to build a culture of safety which becomes sustainable. The programme is supported by The European Commission Humanitarian Aid department’s Disaster Preparedness Programme DIPECHO under the European Commission Humanitarian Aid Department(ECHO)/

“This is something very new for us,” explained Abdilaziz Zaitov, Head of District Education Department. “Before children would run out panicking during an emergency, but now they know exactly what to do.”

Greater potential dangers

In the kindergarten of the neighbouring village, the lessons in DRR are particularly relevant for five-year-old Aijan Abdykarimova.  Her walk home from school, takes her across a dry river bed that becomes a torrent during heavy rains.

“When we see the flood,” she explained confidently, “We have to run for home and be with our parents - because the flood is bad and it can take you away.”

It is planned that training for children aged three to seven will be extended to all pre-schools in Kyrgyzystan, so that they will learn how to behave in emergencies.

“The most vulnerable during a disaster, are the young people and elderly,” said Islam Misiraliev, Head of Batken District Emergency Situations Department. “With the right training, though, those same children can become an asset in times of need.”

In Kyrgyzystan, a new generation is growing up facing greater potential dangers in their homelands than ever before. Lessons in Disaster Risk Reduction are going a long way to help equip young people with the necessary skills to protect them from avoidable tragedy.


 

 

UNICEF-EU Partnership

New enhanced search