联合国儿童基金会在紧急情况中

在格鲁吉亚第比利斯和俄罗斯联邦北奥塞梯,两个家庭面临共同的未来

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Georgia/2008/Nikolaishvili
大多数来自格鲁吉亚南奥塞梯和阿布哈兹冲突地区及周边的无家可归者被安置在幼儿园和学校。图为8岁的达托.甘巴希泽与他的祖父在格鲁吉亚第比利斯的希望幼儿园。

瑞士日内瓦,2008年8月28日 — 这是两个分别来自格鲁吉亚南奥塞梯和其周边地区的两个家庭的故事:他们有各自不同的经历,住在不同地方的两个临时避难所里,但是他们有一个共同的不确定的未来。

粉刷整洁和修茸一新的‘Imedi’(希望)幼儿园位于格鲁吉亚首都第比利斯。它原本是用来迎接9月份结束暑假回来上来的孩子们的。然而由于命运的改变,它的重新开放比原计划放早了很多。原本打算迎接度假回来晒得黝黑的孩子们的幼儿园,很快就变成了从8月7日和8日格鲁吉亚冲突中逃出来的无家可归者的避难所。

类似的故事还发生在俄罗斯联邦的北奥塞梯。在阿拉格尔镇(Alagir),虔诚的妇女们祈祷的宁静的修道院,也暂时用于安置从北边战争中逃出的人们。

随着8月中旬的停火协议继续生效,格鲁吉亚国内无家可归者和北奥塞梯的难民现在都回到了家里。然而人类冲突的悲剧结果将会在相当长的时间内折磨人们的内心。幼儿园和修道院见证了这个悲剧。

格鲁吉亚:幼儿园
住在幼儿园里德勒万.甘巴希泽(Levan Gambashidze)一家来自南奥塞梯首府茨欣瓦利13公里以外一个叫艾瑞提(Eredvi)的村庄。

“我们的车里一共有八个人。我们本来打算去哥里市,但后来听说哥里市被炸毁了。最后,我们到达了第比利斯的这家幼儿园,”他双手颤抖着对联合国儿童基金会说。“我们告别了一切——我们年长的亲属,我们的房屋……我们不知道接着会发生什么事。”

在勒万说话的时候,他的孩子们——9岁的马里安(Mariam)、8岁的达托(Dato)和5岁的艾琳恩(Elene)在周围玩闹。他们似乎很快乐。

“我们只告诉孩子们,我们来这儿办事呆几天,很快就会回去。但我觉得他们感到了事情不太正常,”62岁的祖母娜努丽(Nanuli)解释道。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Russian Federation/2008/Muchnik
怀孕的母亲泽拉撒和她的四个孩子中的两个栖身于俄罗斯联邦北奥塞梯阿拉格尔保格亚夫兰斯基修道院的临时避难所里。

俄罗斯联邦北奥塞梯:修道院
泽拉萨(Dzerassa)是一个有四个年幼孩子的母亲,目前正在怀第五胎。在袭击发生的第一天她就向北逃到了茨欣瓦利。她的避难所是已经成为难民营的北奥塞梯阿拉格尔保格亚夫兰斯基修女院。
 
泽拉萨对联合国儿童基金会说:“我的房子彻底被毁了。我的亲戚察看后告诉我了这一情况,我的丈夫失踪了。几天来,没人见过他,我不知道要想些什么。”

在格鲁吉亚,600多座建筑物变成了收容估计达12.8万无家可归者的场所,而在北奥塞梯, 40座建筑物为来自南方的人提供临时的佑护。最初逃到北奥塞梯的大约有3万人,其中许多和亲戚住在一起,其余的仍留在诸如修道院这样的公共避难所。

恢复正常是工作重点
联合国儿童基金会驻格鲁吉亚办事处和俄罗斯联邦完成了对无家可归者迫切所需的快速评估,并迅速开始提供援助。现在联合国儿童基金会加快速度对返回者提供援助。随着卫生箱和婴儿辅助食品的供应,儿童社会心理支持已被确定为重大优先事项。

对儿童的影响是毁灭性的,联合国儿童基金会驻格鲁吉亚代表乔万纳.巴波里斯(Giovanna Barberis)说。“家长过度紧张,杀戮和儿童目睹的炮击,流离失所:所有这一切给儿童们留下了很深的心理创伤,他们回到正常的生活将需要数月,也许要数年,”她说。

恢复正常是联合国儿童基金会应急反应的重点之一。目前在格鲁吉亚分发了400个紧急‘学校用具箱’,为9月15日返校做准备。每个用具箱包含供100名学生使用的教育用品和教材。联合国儿童基金会同当地教育教育一道,把社会心理支持引入课程中,其中也包括和平与宽容的教育。

社会心理恢复
在北奥塞梯,联合国儿童基金会对当地政府提供支持,以确保儿童拥有学习用品及条件良好的教室。

但有一点,也是他们工作关键的一部分,将是协助儿童应付心理创伤。

“这是一个挑战,”联合国儿童基金会北高加索地区办事处负责人拉希德.穆斯塔法(Mustafa)说。“但在此之前,我们有过这样的经验,2004年别斯兰学校危机后,我们实施了广泛的社会心理康复方案。”

几乎所有临时避难所都接收国内缺乏饮用水和基本卫生条件,以及缺乏电力的无家可归者。由于家园遭到了毁坏,村庄不安全,那些人仍然留在避难所,他们将面临多灾多难的秋天,在天气转冷时,收容中心的条件会越来越恶化。

在第比利斯的幼稚园,勒万的长女马里安说:“在这里,我很怀念我的朋友和留在家里的宠物。但我希望,我们可以尽快回家,我会再次和他们重逢。”

所以,在这个叫做‘希望’的幼儿园里,希望还是存在的。

但是,在北奥塞梯修道院避难所里,怀孕的泽拉撒说,她没有地方去了。说着这些的时候她不仅啜泣起来,她说,她唯一的希望就是她的宝宝一切平安。


 

 

视频(英文)

2008年8月27日: 联合国儿童基金会记者艾米.贝内特对俄罗斯联邦北奥塞梯,接受避难家庭的儿童的心理需要进行了报道。
 视频  高速 | 低速

2008年8月27日: 联合国儿童基金会李昆就格鲁吉亚无家可归民众的情况进行了报道。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

UNICEF in Emergencies & Humanitarian Action

Two families face the future – in Tbilisi, Georgia, and North Ossetia, Russian Federation

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Georgia/2008/Nikolaishvili
Most of those displaced from conflict zones in and around South Ossetia and Abkhazia, Georgia, are housed in kindergartens and schools. Shown above: Dato Gambashidze, 8, with his grandfather at the ‘Imedi’ (Hope) kindergarten in Tbilisi, Georgia.

GENEVA, Switzerland, 28 August 2008 – From the same conflict in and around South Ossetia, Georgia, these are the stories of two families: two stories, two temporary shelters in different places, but one very uncertain future.

Neatly painted and recently renovated, the ‘Imedi’ (Hope) kindergarten is located in Tbilisi, the Georgian capital. It was supposed to welcome children after the summer holidays in September. Yet by turn of fate it reopened a lot sooner than planned. Instead of welcoming back tanned and rested children, the kindergarten quickly became a haven for people displaced by the conflict that broke out in Georgia on 7-8 August.

A similar story has occurred in North Ossetia, Russian Federation. There, in the town of Alagir, a peaceful and contemplative monastery for devout women was also temporarily re-purposed to house people who fled north from the fighting.

As the ceasefire agreed in mid-August continues to hold, internally displaced people in Georgia and refugees in North Ossetia are now heading home. But the tragic human consequences of the conflict will continue to be felt for a long time. A kindergarten and a monastery have borne witness to that.

Georgia: In the kindergarten
Levan Gambashidze’s family arrived at the kindergarten from Eredvi, a village located 13 km from Tskhinvali, the capital of South Ossetia.

“There were eight of us in a car. We were trying to go to Gori, but then heard that Gori was being bombed. Finally, we ended up in Tbilisi, in this kindergarten,” he told UNICEF as his hands trembled. “We left everything behind – our elderly relatives, our houses … and we do not know what will happen next”.

Levan’s children – Mariam, 9, Dato, 8, and Elene, 5 – were buzzing around their father as he spoke. They seemed quite happy.

“We just explained to the children that we came here on business for a couple of days and would return soon. But I think they felt that something went wrong,” their 62-year old grandmother, Nanuli, explained.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Russian Federation/2008/Muchnik
Dzerassa, a pregnant mother, with two of her four children at the Bogoyavlensky Monastery, a temporary shelter in Alagir, North Ossetia, Russian Federation.

North Ossetia, Russian Federation: In the monastery
Dzerassa, a mother of four young children, is pregnant with her fifth baby. She fled Tskhinvali on the first day of the attacks and headed north. Her sanctuary: the Bogoyavlensky Women’s Monastery in Alagir, North Ossetia, which has been transformed into a refugee shelter.

“My house is completely destroyed. My relatives checked it and told me,” Dzerassa said to UNICEF. “My husband is missing. No one has seen him for days and I don’t know what to think.” 

In Georgia, more than 600 buildings were converted to house an estimated 128,000 displaced people, while in North Ossetia, 40 buildings offered temporary shelter to people who came up from the south. Some 30,000 people initially fled to North Ossetia – many to stay with relatives; others, to stay in public shelters such as the monastery.

Focus on restoring normalcy
UNICEF offices in Georgia and the Russian Federation completed their rapid assessments of the immediate needs of displaced people and quickly began providing assistance. Now, UNICEF is shifting gears to provide assistance to returnees. Along with provision of hygiene kits and complementary food for infants, children’s psycho-social support is a major priority.

The impact on children is devastating, said UNICEF’s Representative in Georgia, Giovanna Barberis. “Parents’ nervousness, the killings and shelling that children witnessed, the displacement: All of this left children with deep psychological trauma, and it will take months, maybe years, to get children back to normal life,” she said.

Restoring normalcy is one focus of UNICEF’s emergency response. It is currently distributing 400 emergency ‘School-in- a-Box’ kits in Georgia in preparation for a return to school on 15 September. Each kit supplies educational and school materials for 100 students. UNICEF will work with education authorities to mainstream psycho-social support into classes and, in the medium term, peace and tolerance education as well.

Psycho-social recovery
In North Ossetia, UNICEF has responded by supporting the local government to ensure that children also have school supplies and that classrooms are in good condition.

But here, too, a key feature of the work will be to assist children cope with the psychological trauma.

“It is a challenge,” said the head of UNICEF’s North Caucasus office, Rashed Mustafa. “But we have had experience with this before as we conducted an extensive psycho-social recovery programme in the aftermath of the Beslan school crisis in 2004.”

Almost all the temporary shelters established to receive internally displaced persons lack potable water and basic sanitary conditions; some also lack electricity. Those who remain in the shelters because their homes were destroyed or their villages are unsafe will face a precarious autumn, when the cold weather comes and conditions in the collective centres worsen.

In the kindergarten in Tbilisi, Levan’s eldest daughter, Mariam, said: “What I miss here a lot is my friends and my pets that I left behind. But we’ll soon go back home and I will see them again, I hope.” So there is hope in the kindergarten named ‘Hope’.

But pregnant Dzerassa, in the monastery shelter in North Ossetia, said she has nowhere to go back to. She started sobbing uncontrollably and said she only hopes her baby will be all right.


 

 

Video

27 August 2008: UNICEF correspondent Amy Bennett reports on the psycho-social needs of children whose families are taking shelter in North Ossetia, Russian Federation.
 VIDEO  high | low

27 August 2008: UNICEF correspondent Kun Li reports on conditions for internally displaced families in Georgia.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search