海地

四名海地电影制片人在地震两年后探索当地儿童的状况

玛丽安娜.帕拉弗拉报道

海地太子港,2012 年 1 月 12 日 - 地震过去两年之后,联合国儿童基金会让年轻的海地电影制片人展现他们对祖国的看法和当地儿童的状况。

视频:观看皮埃尔.卢克森.贝勒加德 (Pierre Lucson Bellegarde) 的电影《罗盘》(The Compass),影片讲述了一个在 2010 年地震中受重伤的妇女的故事。  在Realplayer中播放

 

“这个电影计划的目的是倾听海地的声音,了解儿童的生活。”计划协调员托马斯.尼博 (Thomas Nybo) 说,“我们发布了一个征求虚构短片或记录短片的提议,挑选了四名电影制片人,其中三名女性来自电影学院 (Cine Institute)。”电影学院位于海地南部城市雅克梅勒,是海地唯一的电影学校。

这些短片展现了一些海地儿童目前面临的最严峻的问题:在地震中失去父母;身为家仆的女孩们的困境;家庭面临的经济困难,特别是送孩子上学的费用。

各种观点

这些电影制片人背景不同,观点各异。

“其中一个电影制片人皮埃尔.卢克森.贝勒加德拍摄的故事是:一位在地震中受重伤的老人,虽然自己也住在难民营,经济条件困难,但她还是在震后收养了两个孤儿。”尼博说道。

视频:米歇尔.玛丽安 (Michelle Marrion) 的电影《迷失》('The Stray),讲述一名专用于吊唁的家仆。  在Realplayer中播放

 

贝勒加德7岁那年,在手术恢复期间,开始对艺术产生了兴趣。

“手术之后,我最好的朋友就是一支铅笔和一个笔记本,我用它们记下了我所有的小秘密。”在电影学院,贝勒加德修习影视摄影、表演、剧本创作和音效。他时常关注那些边缘社区和残疾人群的困境。

米歇尔.玛丽安专注地拍摄了一位家仆的故事——作为职业“哭丧人”,她要参加各种素未谋面的人的葬礼。

玛丽安在美国出生,父母是海地人,曾在霍华德大学学习影视摄影。1999 年,她开始在海地进行第一个摄影计划,之后又回到美国参加多个后续计划。从 2009 年开始,她就在海地和美国两地往返,目前正在进行几个国际多媒体计划的工作,包括在太子港拍摄一个正片长度的记录片。

视频:观看埃比.安吉尔.路易斯 (Ebby Angel Louis) 的电影《上学迟到》(Late for School),影片讲述的是一个父亲想办法用独轮手推车送女儿按时上学的故事。  在Realplayer中播放

 

灾后的家庭

其他电影制片人探索的主题是在地震灾后的困境中挣扎的家庭。

埃比.安吉尔.路易斯拍了一部调皮的电影,作品讲述了一位不识字的父亲,为了将女儿按时送到学校,而不得不用上了他的独轮车。

路易斯目前是电影学院的一名学生。他在海地的乡下长大,家人培养了他对讲故事的兴趣。

“乡下是我的庇护所,”他说,“晚饭后,在明亮的月光下,祖母会给我们讲所有表兄弟姐妹的故事。”

视频:马可达拉.普雷沃特 (Macdala Prevot) 的电影《我父母花园中的避难所》(A Refuge in the Garden of My Parents),讲述了一个女孩在父母去世后,努力维护家庭团结的故事。  在Realplayer中播放

最后,马可达拉.普雷沃特讲述了一个年轻女孩在父母去世后努力维护家庭团结的故事。

普雷沃特过去在电影学院学习,已经参与了几部影片的制作,分别担纲艺术导演、音效师、摄影师和制片人。她还是一名歌手,2010 年,她到美国参与录制歌曲《We are the World》,这首歌的收益用于帮助地震幸存者。

他们的电影都有一个共同点,即反映了海地儿童的生活和面临的困难。

“通过让海地青年参与并发表看法,”联合国儿童基金会驻海地代表弗朗索瓦丝.古洛斯.阿克曼(Fran oise Gruloos-Ackermans)说,“我们不仅能够倾听他们的声音,还能鼓励他们发挥创造力,更好地了解他们的现状。”

 


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Haiti

Four Haitian filmmakers explore conditions for children two years after the quake

By Mariana Palavra

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 12 January 2012 – UNICEF challenged young Haitian filmmakers to reveal how they view their country – and its conditions for children – two years after the January 2010 earthquake.

VIDEO: Watch Pierre Lucson Bellegarde's film, 'The Compass', about a woman who was seriously injured in the 2010 earthquake. Watch in RealPlayer

“This film project is all about listening to the Haitian voice and understanding children's lives,” said Thomas Nybo, coordinator of the project. “We issued a call for short-film proposals, either fiction or documentaries, and we chose four filmmakers, three of whom are from Cine Institute” – Haiti’s only film school, located in the Southern city of Jacmel.

The short films feature some of the biggest challenges facing Haiti’s children: losing parents to the earthquake; the plight of a girl working as a restavek, a domestic servant; and the challenges, especially economic, confronting families when they send their children to school. 

A range of perspectives

The filmmakers came at the project from a variety of perspectives and backgrounds.

“One of the filmmakers, Pierre Lucson Bellegarde, profiled an older woman who was seriously injured in the earthquake, and adopted two children after the quake, despite living in a camp and being of limited financial means,” said Mr. Nybo.

VIDEO: Michelle Marrion's film, 'The Stray, features a young domestic servant hired as a professional mourner.  Watch in RealPlayer

Mr. Bellegarde became interested in the arts at the age of 7, while he was recovering from surgery.

“After my operation, my best friend was a pencil and a notebook, which held all my secrets,” he said. At Ciné Institute, Mr. Bellegarde trained in cinematography, performance, script writing and sound. His work frequently focuses on the plight of marginalized communities and people living with disabilities.

Michelle Marrion took an unflinching look at a restavek enlisted to be a professional ‘crier’ at a funeral for someone she had never met.

Ms. Marion was born in the United States to Haitian parents, and studied film and photography at Howard University. In 1999, she began her first photographic project in Haiti, and subsequent projects always seemed to bring her back to the country. Since 2009, she has split her time between Haiti and the United States, and is currently working on several international multimedia projects, including a feature-length documentary taking place in Port-au-Prince.

VIDEO: Watch Ebby Angel Louis's 'Late for School', a film about a father trying to get his daughter to school on time in a wheelbarrow. Watch in RealPlayer

Families in the aftermath

The other filmmakers explored the theme of families struggling in the aftermath of the earthquake.

Ebby Angel Louis made a playful film about an illiterate father and his mad dash to get his young daughter to school on time using his wheelbarrow.

Mr. Louis is currently a student at Ciné Institute. He grew up in Haiti’s countryside, where his family helped him cultivate an interest in storytelling.

“The countryside was a refuge for me,” he said. “At night after dinner, under a full moon, my grandmother would tell us the family stories of all our cousins.”

VIDEO: Macdala Prevot's film, 'A Refuge in the Garden of My Parents', tells the story of a girl fighting to keep her family together after the death of her parents. Watch in RealPlayer

Finally, Macdala Prevot told the story of a teenage girl fighting to keep her family together after the death of her parents.

Ms. Prevot studied at Ciné Institute and has worked on several films as an art director, sound technician, cinematographer and producer. She is also a singer, and in 2010, she travelled to the United States to help record ‘We are the World,’ a song whose proceeds benefited earthquake survivors.

Together, their films offer a glimpse into the lives and struggles of Haiti’s children.

“By giving a voice to Haiti’s youth,” said UNICEF Representative in Haiti Francoise Gruloos-Ackermans, “we are not only able to listen to what they want to say, but we can also encourage their creativity and we can better understand their reality.”


 

 

New enhanced search