海地

物流专员帮助联合国儿童基金会为海地儿童运送营养物资

海地地震:一年报告

本杰明. 施泰因勒希纳报道

海地太子港,2011年1月17日 – 营养物资在拯救海地和全球患营养不良的儿童方面发挥了极为重要的作用,这一点毋庸置疑。

视频:2011年1月14日 – 联合国儿童基金会记者加布里埃尔.梅内塞斯报道儿基会为海地地震灾区患严重营养不良的儿童运送营养物资。 在Realplayer中播放

但是若没有物流运送团体的参与,这些营养物资绝对发挥不了这样大的作用。物流专员正如人道主义救援中未被歌颂的英雄,他们在幕后与项目人员并肩工作,为灾区提供重要支援。

随着海地霍乱疫情的肆虐,人民的生命岌岌可危,社区诊所和其它医疗机构依然要依靠联合国儿童基金会运送的Plumpy’nut等营养物资。Plumpy’nut是一种营养含量很高的花生糊,富含多种维生素和矿物质。

必要的补充

例如几周前海地国内发生动乱时,太子港加纳普维尔特地区的诊所发现其急需新的物资补充。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Haiti/2011/Dormino
海地首都太子港加纳普维尔特社区诊所里,珍妮.巴普蒂斯特.罗德琳坐在妈妈的腿上吃Plumpy’nut营养糊。

诊所主管玛格利特.玛勒特(Margaret Mallet)医生说:“我们没有食物提供给营养不良的儿童,如果没有Plumpy’nut营养糊,孩子们可能会陷入更严重的境况。”

联合国儿童基金会已经向海地全国的医疗中心运送了数万公斤必要的食物补充。加纳普维尔特地区的诊所每个月要治疗约25名5岁以下患严重营养不良的儿童。玛格利特.玛勒特医生指出,自2010年1月地震发生以来,由于人民日趋贫困,患营养不良的人数似乎有所上升。

家庭的挣扎

在政治动乱平息后的最近一天,工作人员在联合国儿童基金会的仓库往货车里装物资、清算物品箱,并向灾区运送物资作为储备。一辆货车装满了装有Plumpy’nut营养糊的红色箱子,运往加纳普维尔特地区的诊所,那里的母亲们抱着孩子在安静地排着队。

 

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Haiti/2011/Dormino
海地首都太子港加纳普维尔特地区的社区诊所里,一位护士把几包Plumpy’nut营养糊(一种营养补充剂)递给米斯利特.莱森,让她给女儿珍妮.巴普蒂斯特.罗德琳吃。

米斯利特.莱森抱着约三岁大的女儿珍妮.巴普蒂斯特.罗德琳。莱森12月初第一次来到诊所,为女儿领取了Plumpy’nut营养糊。虽然后来珍妮体重长了一斤多,但是瘦削的脸上的一双眼睛还是显得很大,她需要继续食用营养糊。

莱森现在又怀孕了,她说:“我把女儿带到这里是因为我很担心她,她看起来真的很虚弱,我们一家人现在都为生计操心,我还有另外三个孩子要养活。”

运送物资改变生活

诊所护士给莱森16包Plumpy’nut营养糊带回家,并告诫她在打开包装之前一定要用肥皂洗手。莱森点头同意,把营养糊小心地放进塑料袋里。

 

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Haiti/2011/Dormino
在一座俯瞰海地太子港的山上,米斯利特.莱森抱着女儿珍妮.巴普蒂斯特.罗德琳站在搭建的帐篷旁边。

然后她穿过营地往家走,和数十万海地灾民一样,她们全家挤在一间简陋的帐篷里。自地震发生以来,寻找日常用品成了大难事。莱森说,她很庆幸附近有间诊所,这里可能会拯救女儿的生命。

联合国儿童基金会物流专员每天夜以继日地协助运送仓库物资,海地人斯特凡.杜兰德(Stephane Durand)就是其中一员,他说:“我们向灾区运送物资,总是能够和受益的灾民直接接触。对我来说最大的奖励就是看到我们的工作真正地改变了人们的生活。”


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Haiti

Logistics specialists help UNICEF deliver nutrition supplements to Haitian children

Haiti earthquake: one-year report

By Benjamin Steinlechner

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 17 January 2011 – It’s hard to overstate the life-saving role that nutritional supplements can play in bringing acutely malnourished children back from the brink in Haiti and around the globe.

VIDEO: 14 January 2011 - UNICEF's Gabrielle Menezes reports on efforts to deliver nutritional supplements to earthquake-affected Haitian children suffering from acute malnutrition. Watch in RealPlayer

But without the enabling participation of logistics, such supplements could never fulfil that role. As unsung heroes of humanitarian relief, logistics specialists work behind the scenes, side-by-side with programme staff, to deliver critical aid.

And as the cholera epidemic continues to take lives in Haiti, community clinics and other health facilities still rely on UNICEF deliveries of nutritional supplements such as Plumpy’nut, a highly nutritious peanut-based paste containing multiple vitamins and minerals.

Necessary supplements

Several weeks ago, for example, when civil unrest rocked the country, the clinic in Port-au-Prince’s Canape Vert district found itself in desperate need of new supplies.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Haiti/2011/Dormino
Jeanne Baptiste Rodelin eats Plumpy'nut nutritional paste as she sits on her mother's lap at the Canape Verte community clinic in Port-au-Prince, the Haitian capital.

“There is no other food that we use to treat malnourished children,” said the clinic’s director, Dr. Margaret Mallet. “If it was not for Plumpy’nut, children would fall into a very serious medical state.”

UNICEF has delivered tens of thousands of kilograms of this necessary food supplement to the community health centres across Haiti. Each month, the Canape Vert clinic treats approximately 25 severely acutely malnourished children under the age of five. According to Dr. Mallet, malnutrition seems to have increased as people have grown poorer since the January 2010 earthquake.

Families struggle

On a recent day here, after the political turmoil had calmed down, the UNICEF warehouse bustled with workers loading trucks, counting boxes and sending out deliveries to make up for a backlog. One truck was loaded with red boxes of Plumpy’nut and sent to the Canape Vert clinic, where mothers stood quietly in line, gently cradling their children.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Haiti/2011/Dormino
A nurse gives packets of Plumpy'nut, a nutrition supplement, to Miscillite Leisson for her daughter Jeanne Baptiste Rodelin at the community clinic in Canape Verte district, located in Port-au-Prince, Haiti.

Miscillite Leisson held her daughter Jeanne Baptiste Rodelin, who is almost three years old. Ms. Leisson initially came to the clinic at the beginning of December, when Jeanne Baptiste received her first Plumpy’nut supplements. Even though the little girl had gained over half a kilo since, her eyes were still huge in her too-thin face and she needed to continue being fed with the nut paste.

“I brought her here because I was worried about her,” said Ms. Leisson, who is pregnant with another child. “She seemed really sick. We are struggling to feed everyone in the family. I have three other much older children.”

Deliveries change lives

The clinic nurse gave Ms. Leisson 16 packets of Plumpy’nut to take home. The mother also received strict instructions to wash her hands with soap before touching and opening the foil wrapped packets. Ms. Leisson nodded and put them carefully in a plastic bag.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Haiti/2011/Dormino
Miscillite Leisson holds her daughter Jeanne Baptiste Rodelin next to their tent in a camp atop a hill overlooking Port-au-Prince, Haiti.

Then she walked back through the camp to her home, where – like hundreds of thousands in Haiti – she lives in a flimsy shelter with her entire family. Finding everyday essentials since the earthquake has been a constant struggle. Ms. Leisson said she was grateful for having the clinic close by, which probably saved her daughter’s life.

“Delivering the supplies, we are always in direct contact with our beneficiaries,” said Stephane Durand, a Haitian national and UNICEF logistics specialist – one of many who work around the clock to keep supplies moving out of the warehouse. “The greatest reward for me is to see that our efforts actually change people’s lives.”


 

 

New enhanced search