海地

海地地震一年后,联合国儿童基金会回访两名年轻的地震幸存者和好朋友

海地地震:一年报告

一年后,海地的儿童们仍在应对2010年1月12日发生的地震所造成的挥之不去的影响。以下是讲述从救灾到灾后恢复的漫漫长路的系列故事之一。

托马斯.尼博报道

海地太子港,2011年1月14日 – 海地震后过后大约一个月,联合国儿童基金会的一个通讯小组采访了两位年轻的地震幸存者,他们也是最好的朋友:14岁的米拉森.盖瑞尔和他的邻居——13岁的里卡多. 洛库特。我们最近又再次来看望两名男孩,了解他们家庭目前的生活情况。

视频:联合国儿童基金会记者托马斯.尼博再次来到海地看望两名男孩,了解地震一年后他们的生活情况,他们俩是最好的朋友。  在Realplayer中播放

 

那时候,两个男孩带我们去了他们位于海底首都太子港德尔马斯地区在地震中遭到毁坏的房子。我们行走在碎石堆里,米拉森指着一个地方说,他弟弟就在那里因为墙突然坍塌而失去了生命,而他在房子的另一边躲过一劫。

里卡多告诉我们他7岁的弟弟也在学校房子倒塌时不幸丧生。

依然住在帐篷里

看过倒塌的房屋后,米拉森和里卡多又带我们来到佩蒂翁维尔地区的圣特雷斯营地,他们当时就住在这里狭窄又不干净的帐篷里。地震过去大约一年后,我们又回到这个营地,刚走进大门不到30秒,就认出了里卡多。

 

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Haiti/2010/Nybo
海地地震一年后,米拉森.盖瑞尔仍住在太子港的一个帐篷内,他最好的朋友里卡多. 洛库特则搬到了附近的一间公寓里。两个男孩都已回到学校上课。

他很快叫来了米拉森,米拉森迫不及待地要告诉我们这里的最新情况。

他们一家七口人住在一个帐篷里,只有一张床,他说:“我们还住在帐篷里。这里的情况真的急需改善,因为我们不能再继续这么住下去了。”

没有玩耍的地方

里卡多告诉我们,他妈妈几个月前在附近租了一间公寓。她妈妈在一家商店找了份工作,收入可以支付房租和食物费用。然而由于公寓周围都在地震中遭到严重毁坏,里卡多没有可以玩耍的地方。

因此,里卡多空闲时经常回到营地找米拉森玩。

里卡多说:“大家真的对现在的居住条件很失望,有时在学校,我都看不见那些付不起学费的朋友。现在又出现了霍乱疫情。以前我们可以喝任何地方的水,但是现在只能买水喝。”

接受教育

里卡多很高兴很够回到学校。他想学政治学,以后到政府部门工作,在各方面改善海地的状况,尤其是由来已久的低入学率问题。

他说:“地震过后发生的最好的一件事就是我回到了学校,但是我希望那些无法接受到教育的孩子也能有上学的机会。”

不管儿童是因为地震而中断学业,或者是从未有机会接受教育,确保所有儿童接受优质教育都是联合国儿童基金会的工作目标。到目前为止,联合国儿童基金会已经修建了57所半永久性使用学校,可以经受住飓风和地震。儿基会的目标是总共修建200所学校,目前地震灾区的60所学校正在建造之中。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Haiti

One year on, UNICEF revisits two young Haitian quake survivors and best friends

Haiti earthquake: one-year report

Children in Haiti are still reeling from the impact of the 12 January 2010 earthquake. Here is one in a series of stories on the long road from relief to recovery, a year later.

By Thomas Nybo

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 14 January 2011 – About a month after the earthquake in Haiti, a UNICEF communications team met and interviewed two best friends who survived the disaster: Miratson Guerrier, now 14, and his neighbour Ricardo Rocourt, 13. We recently revisited the boys to see how they and their families were faring.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent Thomas Nybo revisits two adolescent boys, who are also best friends, to see how they are faring a year after the earthquake in Haiti. Watch in RealPlayer

Back then, the friends took us to their destroyed homes in the Delmas neighbourhood of Port-au-Prince, the Haitian capital. As we walked through the rubble, Miratson pointed to the spot where his brother had been killed by a falling wall, and to the spot on the far side of the house where Miratson himself had jumped to safety.

Ricardo told us that he, too, had lost a brother – a seven-year-old who was killed when his school collapsed.

Still living in tents

After touring the spot where their homes had collapsed, Miratson and Ricardo took us to the Sainte Therese camp in the Pétionville district, where they were living with family members in cramped, dirt-floor tents. Nearly a year after the quake, we returned to the same camp and spotted Ricardo within 30 seconds of walking through the front gate.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Haiti/2010/Nybo
A year after the earthquake in Haiti, Miratson Guerrier is still living in a tent in Port-au-Prince while his best friend Ricardo Rocourt has moved into an apartment nearby. Both boys have returned to school.

He quickly found Miratson, who was eager to give us an update.

"We're still living in tents,” he said, noting that he shares a tent with six family members, and it has only one bed. “I really need a change to the situation because we cannot continue living like this,” he added.

No place to play

Ricardo told us that his mother had been able to secure an apartment nearby a few months ago. She has a job in a retail store, which covers her rent and food bill. Because the area around the apartment was heavily damaged in the earthquake, however, there's no place to play.

As a result, Ricardo spends a lot of his free time back in the camp with Miratson.

"People are really frustrated about the living conditions,” said Ricardo. “And sometimes, when I'm in school, I don't see many of my friends who can't afford school. And right now, there's a cholera epidemic. Before, we used to drink all kinds of water. Now, we have to buy water to drink."

Access to education

Ricardo is quite happy to have resumed his education. He wants to study political science and, eventually, to find a position in the government and make big changes in the country – especially with regard to its historically low school enrolment rates.

"One thing that is good that has happened since the earthquake is that I am back in school," he says. "But I really want the kids who have no access to be able to go to school."

Ensuring that all children have access to a quality education is a goal shared by UNICEF, whether their schooling was disrupted by the earthquake or they simply have never set foot in a classroom. So far, UNICEF has built 57 semi-permanent schools, designed to withstand both hurricanes and earthquakes. Another 60 schools are under construction in the quake zone, with the goal of building 200 in all.


 

 

New enhanced search