海地

海地的一位母亲回忆起改变她生活的一幕幕往事

海地地震:一年后

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Haiti/2010/McBride
伊札娜.泰尔士(Ezana Tales)和她的三个孩子站在太子港被摧毁的棣凯莱小学和幼儿园前面。2010年1月12日海啸袭击之前,孩子们在这个学校里上学。

一年后,海地的儿童们仍在应对2010年1月12日发生的地震所造成的挥之不去的影响。以下是讲述从救灾到灾后恢复的漫漫长路的系列故事之一。

海地太子港,2011年1月4日 – 伊札娜.泰尔士(Ezana Tales)是三个孩子的母亲–11岁的杰夫拉维(Jefflove)、9岁的维克尔森(Vekerson)、4岁的马诺普哈(Manoupnepha)。他们从去年1月发生的地震中幸存下来。她最近回忆起她的家人在灾难中和灾难后所经历的创伤。

下面,是泰尔士女士自己叙说的故事。

灾难来袭

“1月12日,一个朋友接我的孩子下学。两个稍大点的孩子正在做功课,我最小的孩子马诺普哈正在别的屋里看电视。”

“孩子们放学后很饿,所以我给他们准备了小吃。维克尔森正在做作业,我也正打算帮他一起做。下午4:52分,房子开始摇晃。我一刹那间意识到我的孩子们在两个不同的房间里,而我最小的孩子没有人陪。地震造成的晃动让我走路失去了平衡,所以走到孩子的身边很困难,但是我还是努力找到了所有的孩子。”

“电视架倒在了马诺普哈的脚上,不过谢天谢地,她没有骨折。”

在户外过夜

“晃动停止后,我们都吓呆了。我们和其他人聚集在小区里的一片空地上。我都没时间去拿鞋。我的丈夫不在家,我马上就意识到肯定有很多人死了。”

“在我们房子附近,有一座学校完全坍塌了。我知道当时有好多孩子还在学校里面。”

“最后,我的丈夫用手机给我们打来电话,然后和我们在空地上碰了面。我们在户外睡了两个晚上,随后就去了勒凯普,在那里住了4个月。”

担心未来

“地震让孩子们很不安,他们现在还受到很严重的影响。他们不想吃,忧心忡忡。杰夫拉维问我,‘你觉得我还能完成学业吗?’我尽可能地鼓励她。她很聪明,也很有信仰。我的儿子维克尔森不愿意离开我。”

“他们都想知道到底是怎么回事–先是地震,然后是飓风,现在又是霍乱。”

“作为母亲,我遭受了很多痛苦。灾难影响了我的健康。我有高血压,我很紧张。地震发生之前,我很高兴地在家看孩子,但是现在我不想一个人承担这一切。我很爱我的孩子们,我也担心他们的未来。我已经为他们和我的国家流了很多眼泪了。”

本故事由塔尼亚.麦克布赖德(Tania McBride)编译。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Haiti

A mother in Haiti recalls the moments that changed her family's life

Haiti earthquake: one-year report

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Haiti/2010/McBride
Ezana Tales with her three children in front of the destroyed Dei Gloria primary school and kindergarten in Port-au-Prince, which the children attended before the earthquake struck on 12 January 2010.

Children in Haiti are still reeling from the lingering impact of the 12 January 2010 earthquake. Here is one in a series of stories on the long road from relief to recovery, a year later.

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 4 January 2011 – Ezana Tales is a mother three children – Jefflove, 11, Vekerson, 9, and Manoupnepha, 4 – who all survived the earthquake that struck Haiti last January. She recently recalled the trauma her family experienced during and after the disaster.

Here, in her own words, is Ms. Tales’s story.

Disaster strikes

“On 12 January, a friend of mine picked the children up from school. The two elder children were doing their homework, and my youngest, Manoupnepha was watching television in a separate room.

“The children were hungry after school so I prepared them a snack. Vekerson was struggling with his homework and I was about to help him. At that exact moment – at 4:52 p.m. – the house started swaying. Instantly, I realized that my children were in two different rooms and my youngest was alone. It was difficult to get to them as the movement of the earthquake kept throwing me off balance, but I managed to get to all of the children.

“The television shelf had fallen onto Manoupnepha’s feet but, thankfully, nothing was broken.

Nights spent outside

“When the shaking had stopped, we were in complete shock. We gathered with other people in our neighbourhood in a field. I didn’t even have time to collect my shoes. My husband wasn’t home, and I knew immediately that there had been a lot of death.

“Near our house there was a school that had totally collapsed. I knew that there were a lot of children inside at the time.

“Finally, my husband called on the mobile and came to meet us in the field. We spent two nights sleeping outside and then went to Le Cap in the country for four months.

Worried about the future

“The children were very upset by the earthquake and still are severely affected. They don’t want to eat, and they worry a lot. Jefflove asked me, “Do you think I will finish my studies?” I encourage her as much as I can. She is a very intelligent and religious girl. My son Vekerson doesn’t like to be too far from me.

“All of them wonder what is going on – first the earthquake, then the hurricane and now cholera.

“As a mother, I have suffered a lot . It’s affected my health. I have high blood pressure and I’m nervous. Before the earthquake I was happy to be a stay-at-home mother, but now I don’t like to be there on my own. I really love my children and am worried about their future. I have cried a lot of tears for them and my country.”

Tania McBride complied and translated this story.


 

 

New enhanced search