海地

帮助海地震后“奴仆”儿童与父母重新团聚

M.P.纳南报道

海地太子港,2010年11月3日——费耶.伊斯卡勒临时看护中心,是一个联合国儿童基金会援助的儿童避难所,在这里,表演是治疗的一种形式。

视频:联合国儿童基金会通讯员M.P.努南就海地震后与家人失散的“奴仆”儿童与其家人重新团聚进行报道。 在Realplayer中播放

穿着传统服饰的少女们走上一个小舞台,在海地风格的鼓声中旋转和扭摆着腰肢。避难所的一些最年幼的儿童们作为后补舞伴在伴舞。

但是当儿童们在麦克风前轮流讲述自己的故事时,唱歌和跳舞的人数被一种伤感情绪打断。42位现住在费耶.伊斯卡勒临时看护中心的儿童过去大都是“奴仆”(该词来自法语“留宿”或“寄宿”),指被父母遗弃,并充当无偿家佣的儿童。

儿童们说出自己的心声

“当他们打我耳光的时候,他们对自己的孩子却非常宝贝,”一个十几岁的女孩说道。“家务活是我的。到市场买东西是我的活。还要干所有刷洗和做饭。而不能上学,这就是我的生活。有时还甚至要被人殴打。这就是我的生活。”

 

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1288/Ramoneda
海地太子港的费耶.伊斯卡勒临时看护中心,一个多个儿童合用的帐篷里,一位少女走向床边。该中心为那些在海地地震中与家人失散的儿童提供住宿。

另一位十几岁的男孩回想了他和妹妹被拐卖到多米尼加共和国的那一天。

“这一天是我悲剧的开始。多米尼加士兵拖着我们的衬衫抓人。他们还打我们,”他说道。“当到达目的地后,他们让我们像牛马一样干活,而且没有任何报酬。还想强奸我的妹妹并强迫她卖淫。”

剥削和虐待

联合国儿童基金会估计,海地有25万名儿童被充当奴仆。

普遍认为这种现象的起因是贫困的父母希望给孩子一个更美好的生活而形成的。

 

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1289/Ramoneda
哈特兰联盟是一个联合国儿童基金会支持的非政府组织,一位帮助儿童与家庭团聚的员工与来自海地首都太子港儿科医院的一位临时看护交谈。

“通常这些儿童从农村被带到富裕家庭,”联合国儿童基金会驻海地代表弗朗索瓦.古鲁仑.阿克曼斯解释道。“他们为这些家庭提供服务,但同时寄宿家庭也为他们提供教育、食物和照顾。这是几十年前的成因。”

但是,一切都变了,现在的寄养儿童成为无偿佣人或实质上的奴隶。“可以想像虐待、及被虐待和暴力事件发生的可能,”古鲁仑.阿克曼斯女士说道。

重新与家庭团聚

费耶.伊斯卡勒临时看护中心(或“中转中心”)的主要任务是帮助寄养儿童与其父母团聚,这些儿童通常可能还没有意识到自己已身处虐待环境。

联合国儿童基金会还向家庭提供经济援助,有时以对小型商务提供微量资金的形式,使他们不会因同样的压力将孩子送人。儿童保护工作人员将对这些家庭进行一系列后续访问,确保这些家庭的子女能上学并得到关照。

在进行帮助儿童与其家庭团聚这敏感的一步之前,费耶.伊斯卡勒临时看护中心的工作人员要对儿童的父母进行面试,确定他们是否真希望自己的孩子回家。约百分之九十的时候,父母的确是这样想的。

育儿难点

但有时,在海地抚养一个儿童的实际情况的确是太难了。

“有一个案例中,孩子的父母说:‘不,我不想要这个孩子。我已经有九个孩子了。这个女孩现在已13或14岁了,她正处于青春期,我对这类问题已经厌烦了,”联合国儿童基金会儿童保护干事吉斯莱.博尔德说道。

在这种情况下,这个女孩被送进了她表姐家。“大部分家长宁可死,也不愿自己的孩子处于被虐待的情况,”博尔德先生说道。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Haiti

Reintegrating 'restavek' children with their parents in post-earthquake Haiti

By MP Nunan

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 3 November 2010 – For the children at Foyer l’Escale, a UNICEF-supported children’s shelter, performance is a form of therapy.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent MP Nunan reports on the reintegration of unaccompanied 'restavek' children with their families in post-earthquake Haiti. Watch in RealPlayer

Adolescent girls in traditional costumes come out on a small stage to swirl and sashay to a drumbeat in Haitian style. They’re accompanied at times by some of the youngest children, also residents of the shelter, serving as back-up dancers.

But the song and dance numbers are punctuated by a certain pathos, as the children take turns at the microphone to tell their stories. Most of the 42 residents now living at Foyer l’Escale are former ‘restaveks’ – from the French ‘rester avec’ or ‘to stay with’ – a term describing children who were given away by their parents to serve as unpaid domestic servants.

Children speak out

“While they were slapping me, they were cherishing their kids,” says a teenage girl. “The housework was mine. Going to the market was mine. Washing and cooking were all my mine. Not going to school – that was me. Even being beaten by someone – that was me.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1288/Ramoneda
An adolescent girl walks to her bed in a tent shared with other children at the Foyer l’Escale Interim Care Centre in Port-au-Prince, Haiti. The centre houses unaccompanied children who were separated from their families in the Haiti earthquake.

A teenage boy recalls the day when he and his sister were trafficked to the Dominican Republic.

“This day was a tragedy for me. Dominican soldiers grabbed us by the shirt. They beat us,” he says. “When we arrived there, they made us work as hard as a horse without getting paid. And they wanted to rape my sister and force her into prostitution.”

Exploitation and abuse

UNICEF estimates that there are 250, 000 children in Haiti serving as restaveks.
The phenomenon is widely believed to have started as a means for poor parents to give their children a better life.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1289/Ramoneda
A family-reunification worker from Heartland Alliance, a UNICEF-supported NGO, speaks with a child’s interim caretaker at a paediatric hospital in Port-au-Prince, the Haitian capital.

“Usually these were children coming from the rural areas who were brought to rich families,” explains UNICEF Representative in Haiti Françoise Gruloons-Ackermans. “They were providing services to the families, but they were also given education and food and care. This was how it happened decades ago.”

But all that has changed – and restavek children now serve as unpaid domestic servants, or virtual slaves. “You can just imagine the abuse, the possibility of abuse, the potential of violence that can happen,” says Ms. Gruloos-Ackermans.

Family reintegration

At Foyer l’Escale (or ‘Home Stopover’), the emphasis is on reintegrating restavek children with their parents, who often did not know they were placing them into abusive situations.

UNICEF also offers financial assistance to families – sometimes in the form of micro-grants for small businesses – so that they do not come under the same pressures to give a child up. Child-protection officers conduct a series of follow-up visits to these families to make sure their children are going to school and being cared for.

Before the sensitive step of reintegrating a child with his or her family, the parents are interviewed by Foyer l’Escale staffers to determine whether they truly want the child back. Ninety per cent of the time, they do. 

Difficulties of child-rearing

But sometimes, the realities of raising a child in Haiti make that simply too hard.

“There was one case when the parents said, ‘No, I don’t want the child. I already have nine children. This girl is 13 or 14 now and she’s hitting puberty – I’m not interested in those sorts of problems,” says UNICEF Child Protection Officer Geslet Bordes.

In that case, the girl was welcomed into the home of her cousin. “Most of the parents would rather die than have their kids in an abusive situation,” says Mr. Bordes.


 

 

New enhanced search