海地

联合国儿童基金会亲善大使梅西探访备受重创的海地

震后六个月:足球明星梅西鼓励儿童

塔玛.哈恩报道

海地太子港,2010年7月16日–对于太子港人民来说,震后的六个月充满了艰辛与困难,他们的生活一片混乱。尽管海地流离失所的人民的生活依然贫困,但是在昨天,至少有那么几个小时,他们却迎来了一场盛会。带着抑制不住的热情与激动,海地人民涌上街道,热烈欢迎联合国儿童基金会亲善大使梅西。

视频:2010年7月15日-联合国儿童基金会通讯员帕特里克.弗林就亲善大使梅西探望海地儿童进行了报道。

巴塞罗那队队员、阿根廷国家队队员、世界著名球星梅西探访海地,亲身感受自己之前只能通过媒体知晓的海地地震的最新情况。

在探望了5万海地流离人口居住的“十字路口航空”营地后,梅西说:“这里的营地这么拥挤,人们生活得这么贫苦,真是令人震惊。”

生还者分享他们的经验

海地人民热情如火,以至于梅西在人群中无法前行。大家身穿阿根廷队服,高举阿根廷国旗,呼喊着梅西的名字,拼尽力气想跟他们心目中的英雄握手。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1396/Markisz
海地震后6个月,联合国儿童基金会亲善大使梅西看望海地青少年,鼓动人们关注儿童的状况。

探访过营地之后,梅西来到了联合国驻海地维和部队阿根廷特遣队管理的野战医院。除了签名之外,梅西还询问医生和护士有关救助震后灾民的有关情况。

梅西之后又在联合国儿童基金会驻海地太子港办公室与参加体育活动的儿童见面,该项目由海地奥委会主办,并受到联合国儿童基金会的支持。尽管有语言障碍,梅西还是和孩子们坐在地板上聊天,握着他们的手,给他们讲笑话,孩子们也告诉梅西在震中和震后所碰到的困难。

梅西说:“我觉得体育对孩子们真的很重要,我在体育中学到了很多人生的真谛,也得到了很多机会,我希望他们也能如此。”

“激励了很多人”

然而,对很多人来说,现实是残酷的。他们住在拥挤的营地里,失去了家园和学校,以及亲人和朋友。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1398/Markisz
海地太子港,联合国儿童基金会亲善大使梅西和12岁的里克尔梅.马赛站在一起,地震两周后,马赛在太阳城附近的家中被一颗飞弹击中,目前正处于康复阶段。

由联合国儿童基金会资助的临时学校正在逐步恢复正常的教学活动,并为受地震影响的儿童提供社会心理支持。但是这些紧急援助措施只是危急时刻的权宜之计,真正的挑战是如何在全国儿童普及教育。

即使在震前,海地也仅有少于半数的学龄儿童接受教育,这说明大规模的全国普及教育运动势在必行,从而鼓动和激励人民。

在梅西访问期间,联合国儿童基金会驻海地代表弗朗索瓦.格鲁斯.阿克曼斯(Françoise Gruloos-Ackermans)说:“今天,我们很高兴梅西能来到这里。我们很敬佩海地人民在震后所展现出的应对能力,梅西的到来给海地人民带来了快乐,这种快乐是他们很长时间以来都未感受到的,今天的感染力真的很大。梅西用他的天赋、自律以及人格魅力激励了很多海地儿童。”


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Haiti

UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Lionel 'Leo' Messi visits earthquake-ravaged Haiti

Six months on, football star inspires children

By Tamar Hahn

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti, 16 July 2010 – For the people of Port-au-Prince, the last six months have been fraught with difficulties in the wake of the catastrophic earthquake that left their lives in shambles. But while the images out of Haiti still show displacement and poverty, they were replaced yesterday – at least for a few hours – by a sense of uncontainable excitement, as Haitians poured into the streets to greet UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Lionel ‘Leo’ Messi.

VIDEO: 15 July 2010 - UNICEF correspondent Patrick Flynn reports on Goodwill Ambassador Lionel Messi's visit to children in Haiti.

The world-renowned FC Barcelona and Argentina national football team player made a quick visit here, eager to experience firsthand what he had only witnessed through media coverage until now.

“It was overwhelming to see the overcrowded displacement camps, the poverty in which people here live,” Mr. Messi said after a visit to Carrefour Aviation, a camp where 50,000 displaced Haitians live in tents.

Survivors share their experiences

The crowds’ enthusiasm was such that Mr. Messi could barely make his way into the area. Hundreds had gathered, wearing Argentina t-shirts, waving Argentinean flags, screaming his name and desperately trying to touch their hero.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1398/Markisz
In Port-au-Prince, Haiti, UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Lionel ‘Leo’ Messi stands with Rikelme Marseil, 12, who was hit by a stray bullet two weeks after the earthquake, near his home in Cité Soleil, and is still convalescing.

From the camp, Mr. Messi went to a field hospital managed by the Argentinean contingent of the UN peacekeeping force in Haiti. Besides signing countless autographs, he spoke to doctors and nurses about their experiences assisting survivors in the days following the earthquake.

Later, at UNICEF’s office in Port-au-Prince, Mr. Messi met a group of children who participate in sports activities organized by the Haitian Olympic Committee and supported by UNICEF. They told him about their ordeals during and after the earthquake, and he sat with them on the floor as they talked, holding their hands and joking with them despite the language barrier.

“I believe that sports are really important for children,” said Mr. Messi. “I learned my most important lessons in life through sport. It is where I had my opportunity, and I wish the same for them.”

‘An inspiration to so many’

The reality for most of these children is grim, however. They live in an overcrowded camp and have lost their homes and schools, as well as many of their relatives and friends.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2010-1396/Markisz
UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Lionel ‘Leo’ Messi visits with young people in Haiti to help draw attention to the situation of children six months after the 12 January earthquake there.

Temporary schools assisted by UNICEF are slowly restoring structure and stability for quake-affected children and providing them with and psycho-social support. But these efforts represent only the most urgent measures needed to ensure continuity of education amidst the emergency. The real challenge is expanding access to learning opportunities for all children, across the nation.

Only about half of school-aged children went to school in Haiti even before the earthquake – meaning that a large-scale, nationwide movement for learning is required to inspire and mobilize change.

“We are immensely pleased to have Leo with us today,” said UNICEF Representative in Haiti Françoise Gruloos-Ackermans during Mr. Messi’s visit. “We are in awe of the response we have seen from people everywhere, and we think that his presence gives a sense of joy to Haitians today, which they have not had in quite some time. And that is incredibly powerful. Leo is an inspiration to so many children through his talent, his discipline and his humanity.”


 

 

New enhanced search