科特迪瓦

在科特迪瓦的最大城市阿比让,联合国儿童基金会帮助失散的儿童与家人团聚

伊娃.吉列姆报道

联合国儿童基金会旗舰出版物《2012年世界儿童状况报告:城市化世界中的儿童》将于2月28日发布,聚焦城市地区的儿童。世界上有10亿儿童生活在城市环境中,而且该数字还在急剧增加之中。但是,城市内部存在着巨大差距,许多儿童无法接受教育、获得医保、享用卫生设施 —— 尽管这些服务和设施就在他们身边。本故事是反映这些儿童需求的系列报道之一。

科特迪瓦阿比让,2012年2月21日 —— 9岁的小库利巴利在与父亲吵架后,一怒之下离开了家。那是2011年1月中旬的一个周五下午。9个月之后,他才再次见到父亲。

视频:2012年1月31日 —— 联合国儿童基金会通讯员伊娃.吉列姆报道在科特迪瓦选举后的暴力冲突中,7岁的米歇尔与家人分离的故事。 在Realplayer中播放

自六周前的总统选举以来,紧张的局势不断加剧,最终爆发冲突。当时,小库利巴利正在尤普宫(该国最大的贫民窟之一)玩耍。

他的父亲亚森多.库利巴利(Yassindou Coulibaly)说:“尤普宫的人看到了最糟糕的一切。当时很危险——尤其对男性来说。所以我不得不离开,否则,就可能有生命危险。”

在城市中孤立无援

2011年选举后的暴力事件迫使许多儿童与家人分离。然而,即使在和平时期,由于各种原因,儿童也经常与家人失散。

在城市地区,更是如此。许多儿童来到城市,寻找工作或受教育的机会。大多数情况下,他们与家人一起来,但有时他们也会自己单独进城,这使他们很容易遭到剥削。而且,这些儿童往往会发现,他们所向往的每一个机会,都与他们无缘。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Cote d'Ivoire/2011/Gilliam
在科特迪瓦阿比让选举后的危机中,9岁的小库利巴利(Coulibaly)与家人分散。现在,他已与家人团聚。

联合国儿童基金会科特迪瓦儿童保护项目负责人拉提提亚.巴兹(Laetitia Bazzi)说:“尽管城市里通常有更多的服务,如供水、供电、学校教育和医疗保健,但这并不意味着每个人都能获得这些服务。对于那些极端贫穷的外来儿童来说,更是如此。”

这些儿童大多生活在卫生条件很差的贫民窟,几乎无法获得安全的饮用水,学校人满为患,他们往往会被排斥在外。

为了逃离贫民窟里的环境,生活在那里的儿童可能会离家出走。然而,他们却不得不独自面对更恶劣的现实。巴兹女士说:“没有父母的支持,他们经常遭受虐待——有时在工作中,有时甚至在大街上”。 

失散儿童的生命线

位于阿比让市中心的阿比让救生中心(阿比让救生艇中心)为小库利巴利提供了安全庇护。该项目由国际天主教儿童局(BICE)管理,由联合国儿童基金会支持。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
在科特迪瓦选举后的暴力冲突中,7岁的米歇尔(Michel)与家人分离。社会工作者帮助他寻找家人期间,他在联合国儿童基金会支持的阿比让救生艇中心(Lifeboat Centre)生活了7个月。

该中心协调员贝特.卡凡(BertéKafiné)说:“冲突事件突出了无人陪伴的儿童的问题。当危机来临时,大量儿童涌入这里。有些人从贫民窟中逃离,徒步行走20多公里,却发现他们完全迷失在都市建筑之中。有些孩子在街上被陌生人发现,将他们带到这里。还有一些孩子从农村来,最初他们与父母一起,直到后来走散。”

卡凡女士和救生中心的团队为无成人陪伴儿童提供床、食物、教育和娱乐,帮助他们稳定下来。同样重要的是,他们还提供心理支持服务,以帮助这些儿童应对与家人失散所造成的压力。

与父母团聚

阿比让救生中心的工作人员会陪着儿童,办理司法和行政手续,希望帮助他们找到家人,或者将其安置到有安全和稳定照顾的场所。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
许多儿童来到科特迪瓦最大的城市阿比让,寻找工作或者受教育的机会。

卡凡女士说:“团聚通常都会让孩子们高兴,但时他们会想到与家人分离的不愉快,可能会再次受创伤。”

还有一些孩子可能会觉得自己不再属于家里的一员了。联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴正在努力,通过赞助学费或为家庭提供心理支持等途径,以确保儿童与家人的团聚是健康和可持续的。

卡凡女士知道,对于儿童而言,城市生活可能会异常艰难。

“在城里,每个人都只能靠自己,”卡凡女士说,“牵起邻居孩子的手,已不再是本能。因此,这里就有需要我们地方。而且,这能让儿童的命运有所改善。”

在阿波波(Abobo)狭窄的水泥庭院里,小库里巴利正与家人吃饭。他的父亲说,他们再也不为功课或家务而争吵了。

库里巴利先生说:“回家后的他跟以前有所不同。现在,他总是我们跟我们形影不离,有时还帮助他弟弟和妹妹做功课。就好像他全心全意地想待在这里。而这让我感到非常高兴,非常自豪。”  


 

 

搜索

Côte d'Ivoire

In Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire, assisting children alone in the big city

By Eva Gilliam

UNICEF’s flagship report, ‘The State of the World’s Children 2012: Children in an Urban World’, will launch on 28 February, focusing attention on children in urban areas. One billion children live in urban areas, a number that is growing rapidly. Yet disparities within cities reveal that many lack access to schools, health care and sanitation, despite living alongside these services. This story is part of a series highlighting the needs of these children.

ABIDJAN, Côte d'Ivoire, 21 February 2012 – After a fight with his father, 9-year-old Junior Coulibaly left his house in a huff.  It was a Friday afternoon in mid-January 2011.  Nine months would pass before he would see his father again.

VIDEO: 31 January 2012 - UNICEF correspondent Eva Gilliam reports on 7-year-old Michel's separation from his family during violence in Côte d'Ivoire. Watch in RealPlayer

Junior was playing in his neighbourhood of Yopougon, one of the country’s largest slums, when conflict erupted – the result of tension that had been building since the presidential elections six weeks earlier.

“This neighbourhood saw some of the worst of it,” said Yassindou Coulibaly, Junior’s father. “It was dangerous – particularly for men, so I had to leave, or risk being killed.”

Alone in the city

The post–election violence of 2011 separated many children from their families. Yet even in times of peace, children find themselves separated from their families for a variety of reasons.

This is particularly true in urban areas. Many children migrate to cities in search of work or education. Mostly, they come with their families, but sometimes they arrive by themselves, vulnerable to exploitation. And too often, these children find themselves excluded from the very opportunities they came for.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Cote d'Ivoire/2011/Gilliam
Nine-year-old Junior Coulibaly was separated from his family in Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire, during the post-election crisis. He has since been reunited with his family.

“While urban environments usually have more services, such as water, electricity, schools and health care, this does not mean that everyone has access to these services,” explained Laetitia Bazzi, UNICEF Chief of Child Protection in Côte d'Ivoire. “This is particularly the case for migrating children who are extremely poor.”

These children tend to live in slums with poor sanitation, minimal access to safe drinking water and overcrowded schools. 

Children living in slums may leave home to escape these conditions, only to be faced by worse conditions on their own. “They have no parental support, and are often submitted to abusive treatment – sometimes in a work situation – or on the street,” Ms. Bazzi said. 

A lifeline for separated children

Junior found safety at the Centre Sauvetage d’Abidjan (the Abidjan Lifeboat Centre) in downtown Abidjan. The programme is managed by the Bureau International Catholique de l’enfance (BICE) and supported by UNICEF.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Michel, 7, was separated from his family during the post-election violence in Côte d'Ivoire. He spent seven months at a transit centre for separated and abused children while social workers searched for his family.

The conflict highlighted the issue of unaccompanied children, said Berté Kafiné, the centre’s coordinator. “When the crisis hit, we had a huge influx of children here,” she explained. “Some kids walked over 20 km, fleeing the hotspots in the slums, only to become completely lost, and simply point themselves towards the city buildings. Others were brought in by strangers who found them in the street.  And then others came from the rural areas – initially with their parents, until they became separated.”

Ms. Kafiné and her team at the centre offer stability for unaccompanied children, providing beds, meals, classes and recreation. And just as importantly, they offer psychosocial support services to help children deal with the stress caused by separation.

Reuniting with parents

Workers at the Centre Sauvetage d’Abidjan accompany children through the judicial and administrative proceedings, with the goal of reuniting them with their families or placing them in safe and stable care.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Many children come to Abijian, Côte d'Ivoire's largest city, looking for work or an education.

“The reunion is often a happy one, but sometimes the child can have such negative memories of the separation. They can be re-traumatised,” Ms. Kafiné said.

Other children may feel they no longer have a place at home; UNICEF and partners are working to ensure reunions are healthy and sustainable, sometimes assisting with school fees or providing psychosocial support for families.

Ms. Kafiné knows that city life can be very harsh for a child.

“In the city, it’s every man for themselves,” Ms. Kafiné said. “Taking the hand of a neighbour’s child is no longer instinctual. That is why we’re here. And let me tell you, it makes a difference.”

Back in a narrow cement courtyard in Abobo, Junior sat down for a meal with his family. His father said they no longer argue about schoolwork or chores. 

“Something in him changed when he came home,” said Mr. Coulibaly. “He is with me all the time, and he even helps out his little brother and sister with their schoolwork.  It’s like he wants to be here with all his heart.  And that makes me so happy, so proud.”


 

 

New enhanced search