科特迪瓦

尽更大努力:联合国儿童基金会为科特迪瓦西部地区流离人口提供物资援助

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Côte d’Ivoire/2011/Slavin
联合国儿童基金会工作人员科纳特.亚雅完成了向科特迪瓦西部地区运送救援物资的三天的艰巨行程。

帕特里克.斯莱文报道

科特迪瓦芒地区,2011年1月24日 – 上周晚些时候,经过三天曲折的行程(中途还因安全问题改变了路线),联合国儿童基金会的货车终于安全抵达,为科特迪瓦西部近两万流离民众送来了紧急救援物资。

从联合国儿童基金会位于阿比让的仓库运送来的物资包括为学前教师和4000名学生准备的教学物资以及为2500名儿童准备的娱乐设施。在将物资发放给附近三个镇里安置流离民众的营地之前,这些物资暂时存放在联合国儿童基金会的安全仓库里。

帮助最弱势群体

联合国儿童基金会驻科特迪瓦办事处主管希尔维.多苏(Sylvie Dossou)说:“在一般情况下,从阿比让到芒的车程是12小时,但是一些直接路线现在属于红色区域,被联合国安全官员列入禁入区域。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Côte d’Ivoire/2011/Slavin
联合国儿童基金会货车抵达其驻科特迪瓦芒地区的实地办事处。

她还说:“我们的货车司机——工作人员科纳特.亚雅(Konate Yaya)开了整整三天的车,其中有一段土路走得特别慢——7个小时才走了136公里!我很为他感到骄傲,也很欣慰联合国儿童基金会的救援物资将要分发给最弱势人群。”

抵达联合国儿童基金会实地办事处的物资还有1500张海报,这些将用于宣传用肥皂洗手和喝可饮用水等,海报将张贴在帐篷上,成为社区医护工作者的宣传工具。此外,运送来的1500本艾滋病毒预防指南手册也将发放给非政府组织合作伙伴和营地志愿者。

“每个儿童玩耍的权利”

运送的学前物资包括:玩偶、建筑积木、橡皮泥、蜡笔、纸和拼图板等。娱乐包里有足球、飞盘、跳绳、排球和排球网等。

UNICEF Photo
工作人员正在从货车里下卸联合国儿童基金会的救援物资,再分发给科特迪瓦西部地区的流离民众。

联合国儿童基金会驻芒地区实地办事处团队领导伊莱.拉马蒙吉苏瓦(Eli Ramamonjisoa)博士说:“要尊重每个儿童玩耍的权利。”该地区办事处负责监督对迪埃奎镇约15000名流离民众的救援工作。自去年11月科特迪瓦选举发生政治危机后,随后在本月初,迪埃奎镇也发生了激烈冲突。

为应对持续的危机,联合国安理会已经同意增援2000名士兵和60名警务人员来处理由非武装的群众引发的威胁。到目前为止,非洲联盟对该国政党各派的调解行动尚未有任何进展。此外令人担忧的是,接下来几个月的食品安全问题也可能愈演愈烈。


 

 

搜索

Côte d'Ivoire

Going the extra mile: UNICEF supplies for the displaced reach western Côte d’Ivoire

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Côte d’Ivoire/2011/Slavin
UNICEF staff member Konate Yaya completed an arduous three-day journey to deliver emergency supplies to western Côte d’Ivoire.

By Patrick Slavin

MAN, Côte d’Ivoire, 24 January 2011 – Late last week, after an exhausting three-day drive across the country – a trip that was rerouted for security concerns – a UNICEF cargo truck safely offloaded emergency supplies for nearly 20,000 displaced people in western Côte d’Ivoire.

The shipment from the UNICEF warehouse in Abidjan included school supplies for pre-school teachers and 4,000 students, as well as recreation equipment for 2,500 children. The supplies were stored temporarily in a secure UNICEF warehouse prior to being distributed in displacement camps located in three nearby towns.

Reaching the most vulnerable

“Normally the drive from Abidjan to Man takes 12 hours, but parts of the most direct route are now zone rouge, which UN security officials have classified as off limits,” said UNICEF Côte d’Ivoire Officer-in-Charge Sylvie Dossou.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Côte d’Ivoire/2011/Slavin
UNICEF cargo truck reaches the agency's field office in Man, Côte d’Ivoire.

“Our truck driver, staff member Konate Yaya, commenced a three-day trip, including crossing a dirt track where it was really slow going – seven hours to drive 136 kilometres! I am very proud of Konate and grateful that UNICEF emergency supplies will now reach the most vulnerable,” she added.

Among the other materials that reached the UNICEF field office here were 1,500 posters for the promotion of handwashing with soap and drinking potable water, which will be posted in tents and used by community health workers. A shipment of 1,500 HIV-prevention guides were also transported for distribution to non-governmental organization partners and camp volunteers. 

‘Every child’s right to play’

The pre-school supplies include puppets, construction blocks, modelling clay, crayons and paper, and board puzzles. The recreation kits contain footballs, Frisbees, skipping rope, volleyballs and volleyball nets.

UNICEF Image
UNICEF emergency supplies are offloaded from the cargo truck for distribution to displaced people in western Côte d’Ivoire.

“Every child’s right to play must be respected,” said Dr. Eli Ramamonjisoa, team leader of the UNICEF field office in Man, which is overseeing relief efforts for some 15,000 displaced people in the town of Duékoué. Violent clashes erupted in the town earlier this month, part of a national crisis that has gripped Côte d’Ivoire since elections were held in late November. 

The UN Security Council has approved a troop increase of 2,000 soldiers and 60 police personnel to address threats posed by unarmed crowds amidst the continuing crisis. To date, the African Union’s mediation efforts among the country’s political factions have not resulted in any major breakthroughs. There is also concern that food insecurity is likely to increase in the coming months.


 

 

New enhanced search