中非共和国

米亚.法罗访问饱受冲突磨难的中非共和国

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ07-0068/Pirozzi
联合国儿童基金会亲善大使米亚.法罗女士第一次访问中非共和国,在首都班吉的沃克斯德括儿童中心问候孩子们。

莎拉.可鲁报道

中非共和国班吉2007年2月13日 - 在紧张安排的仪式上,弗朗索瓦.博齐泽总统授予联合国儿童基金会亲善大使米亚.法罗总统荣誉勋章,以表彰法罗女士对他的国家做出的贡献。

著名的人道主义者和国际知名演员法罗女士来到中非共和国,以唤起人们关注这一世界上最被忽视的危机,一个部分冲突是从邻国乍得和苏丹波及而来,已经为这个内陆的孤立国家造成大约15万人的流离失所

据报道,对于法罗女士不远万里从美国来到深受冲突之苦的中非,总统要授予她勋章以示感谢。总统勋章通常授予国家领导人或
自1960年中非独立于法国之后,为国家做过杰出贡献的人士。

身着简单的黑色礼服,娇小的法罗女士面对总统官邸,站在红色地毯上,身后是 雄壮的军乐队。当总统给她别上青绿色的勋章时,法罗女士显然非常感动。

她说:“我会将这枚勋章配戴在靠近心脏的地方,它不仅只是来自这个美丽国家的纪念品,它会时刻提醒自己这个国家人民的勇气。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ07-0074/Pirozzi
在中非共和国靠近苏丹边境的北部城镇碧皓,米亚.法罗给婴儿喂口服小儿麻痹疫苗。

再度袭击的威胁

法罗女士星期六抵达中非后,已经访问过位于中非东北角的城镇碧皓,这一不稳定地区靠近乍得、苏丹和达尔福尔的边境。 色彩缤纷的人群出来迎接她,并带他们的孩子参加急需的免疫计划。

仅仅几个月之前,这里还是战场。  由法国军方支持的中非和乍得部队与叛军作战夺回碧皓。现在这里冲突的唯一标志是戒备森严――高射炮、手持自动步枪的中非和乍得联军以及随时待命的法国军队。

但是人们还是生活在担心再度冲突的威胁当中。

法罗女士在碧皓听妇女们说述她们中的很多人曾经被叛军强奸,他们被迫逃离家乡,因为家乡的大部分地区已经完全被毁坏。在这种浑沌的、错综复杂的冲突中,人们毫无疑问的最迫切需要的是保护。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ07-0076/Pirozzi
米亚.法罗在中非共和国的碧皓出席儿童健康与生存活动,和当地妇女握手,并呼吁关注冲突的影响。

需要外界的援助

“保护、保护、保护是先于一切的,这里的人们最需要的,”法罗女士接着说:“他们急于重新开始生活,重建家园,他们当然在这方面需要援助, 但是如果没有安全保障,什么努力都是枉然。  他们迫切需要联合国的介入,派遣国际维和部队,提供安全保障。”

但是在维和部队与和平到来之前,那些最被忽视的中非的儿童,需要受到保护,为他们预防麻疹、痢疾和小儿麻痹等疾病。这里的联合国儿童基金会工作人员正在积极设法接触那些最难接触到的孩子,但是随着雨季的来临以及糟糕的道路设施,使工作进展受到限制。

因有那么多人因冲突而流离失所,中非政府正在继续寻求国际社会的援助。 针对中非共和国情况的第七章命令已经发到联合国维和部队,这使他们得以保护中非的老百姓,但是维和部队还未确定到达该地区的日期。

法罗女士的此次访问中,在碧皓,她还会见了流浪儿童并探访艾滋病项目,在位于首都西南部的罗贝,慰问侏儒社区。 她正在就此次访问写自己的博客日志,可以访问她的网站www.miafarrow.org,进一步追踪她的中非之行。


 

 

视频

2007年2月13日:
联合国儿童基金会记者莎拉.克劳报道亲善大使米亚.法罗女士访问冲突灾区的中非共和国。
视频 高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量视频

搜索

Central African Republic

Mia Farrow visits conflict-afflicted Central African Republic

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ07-0068/Pirozzi
During her visit to the Central African Republic, UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow greets boys at Voix de Coeur, a child centre in Bangui, the capital.
By Sarah Crowe

BANGUI, Central African Republic, 13 February, 2007 – In a rapidly arranged ceremony, President François Bozizé awarded UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow a presidential Medal of Honour in recognition of her services to his nation.

A renowned humanitarian and internationally acclaimed actress, Ms. Farrow is in the Central African Republic (CAR) to highlight one of the world’s most neglected crises – a conflict that has partly spilled over from neighbouring Chad and Sudan, and has left some 150,000 people displaced in this landlocked, isolated country.

The president was reportedly impressed that Ms. Farrow travelled from the United States to visit far-flung, conflict-affected parts of CAR, and he wanted to honour her as a gesture of his gratitude. The presidential medal is usually reserved for heads of state or for nationals who have distinguished themselves in the nation’s service since its independence from France in 1960.

Dressed in a simple black dress, the petite Ms. Farrow stood on the red carpet facing the presidential palace with the pomp of the military brass behind her. She was clearly moved as the president pinned the turquoise-blue medal on her:

“I will wear this medal close to my heart not only as a souvenir of this beautiful country. It will be a constant reminder of the courage of its people,” she said.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ07-0074/Pirozzi
Mia Farrow administers oral polio vaccine to an infant in the northern town of Birao, near the Sudan border, Central African Republic.

Fear of renewed attacks

Since her arrival on Saturday, Ms. Farrow has visited Birao, the volatile northeast corner of the country close to the borders of Chad, Sudan and the Darfur region. Crowds came out to greet her and take their children for much-needed immunization.

Just two months ago the area was a battleground, as French military-assisted forces from CAR and Chad fought to retake the town of Birao from rebels. Now the only signs of the conflict are heavy security – anti-aircraft guns, a mix of Central African and Chadian troops armed with automatic rifles, and French military at the ready.

But the population still lives in fear of renewed attacks.

Ms. Farrow heard testimony from women in Birao who said many of them had been raped by rebels and were forced to flee during the battle for the town – much of which was destroyed. In the haze of this complex conflict, what is not in doubt is the pressing need for protection.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ07-0076/Pirozzi
Shown here greeting women in Birao, Central African Republic, Mia Farrow is participating in a child health and survival campaign calling attention to the effects of conflict.

Need for outside assistance

“Protection, protection, protection. Above all, that’s what people are in need of here,” said Ms. Farrow. “They are so eager to rebuild their lives and rebuild their villages, and of course they need help with that. But until there is security, no one can do anything. They desperately need the UN to come in and send an international peacekeeping [force] and provide security.”

But before peace and peacekeepers come, those most neglected of all – the country’s children – need to be protected from killer diseases like measles, malaria and polio. UNICEF’s staff here is actively trying to reach the most hard-to-reach children, but with heavy seasonal rains and poor infrastructure, access is limited.

With so many people displaced by the conflict, CAR is still looking to the outside for help. UN peacekeepers have been given a Chapter Seven Mandate for CAR, which allows them to defend civilians, but a date for their arrival in the region has not yet been set.

Ms. Farrow also met street children and visited HIV/AIDS projects in Bangui, and pygmy communities in Lobbaye, southwest of the capital. She is writing a blog of her trip to the region, which can be followed on her website, www.miafarrow.org.


 

 

Video

13 February 2006:
UNICEF correspondent Sarah Crowe reports on Goodwill Ambassador Mia Farrow’s visit to conflict-afflicted areas of the Central African Republic.
VIDEO high | low

14 February 2007:
UNICEF correspondent Kun Li reports on Mia Farrow receiving a Medal of Honour from Central African Republic President François Bozizé.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search