巴基斯坦

在洪灾过后的巴基斯坦,临时学习中心在动荡中提供了受教育的机会

UNICEF Photo: Laxmi, 10, cares for her younger brother while their parents are working in Naukot, Pakistan.
© UNICEF Pakistan/2012/Chaudhry
在巴基斯坦的瑙果德(Naukot),10岁的卢思密在父母外出工作时负责照看弟弟。

瑞艾拉.乔杜里(Raheela Chaudhry)报道

巴基斯坦瑙果德,2012年3月15日— —在信德省瑙果德一条偏僻的小路旁,布满破旧的帐篷。很多帐篷是使用塑料布和布临时搭建的,而且很矮,成年人在里面几乎不能直起身子。但是,对10岁的卢思密及其家人而言,这其中的一顶帐篷就是他们的家。

去年夏天,倾盆而下的季风雨袭击了巴基斯坦这片地区,损毁了她家的小屋。暴雨过后,只剩下了一些私人物品和绳床,这是他们的全部家当。自那天起,卢思密、父母和四个兄弟姊妹就住在这顶帐篷里。

无法预知的未来

这并不是一个舒适的避难所。猛烈的沙漠风穿过塑料罩子刮进屋里,每天卢思密醒来时身上都覆盖着一层沙尘。她最年幼的弟弟因寒冷而整夜哭闹。

在巴基斯坦信德省和俾路支斯坦省受到严重洪灾影响的约510万人中,约有一半是儿童。据估计,约79.7万个家庭的房屋受到损毁,其中的41%为严重损毁。受灾最严重的地区是巴基斯坦一些最贫困地区,这些地区在2010年已经受到过大规模洪水的影响。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2012/Chaudhry
巴基斯坦瑙果德,卢思密和她的弟弟在联合国儿童基金会支持的一个临时学习中心内学习数数。

虽然大部分的受灾群众已陆续返回家乡社区,但仍有些家庭像卢思密家一样流离失所。在这个帐篷营地,有数十个家庭面临着同样的困境:或者没有钱回家,或者仍在等待家乡洪水的消退。

受教育的机会

在这样的困境下,卢思密为能有一个令人兴奋的新机会而感到欣慰。在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,临时学习中心(TLC)或应急帐篷学校在营地中建立起来。卢思密的有个哥哥是那里的学生,卢思密也开始去那儿上学。这是她第一次有机会上学,这在以前是令人不敢想象。

“我希望学习更多的知识。等长大了,我可以像城里的女孩一样工作。”她说,“说不定我还能成为一名教师。但要实现这个愿望很难。因为我只学会了字母和数数。”

受灾地区有60%的学校受损,联合国儿童基金会已建立2070个临时学习中心,惠及信德省和俾路支省的10万多名儿童。为确保教育的连贯性,临时学习中心还接收了超过39000名第一次上学的儿童(其中包括16000名女孩)。因为人们陆续返回家园,临时学习中心会从营地迁往他们的家乡,从而确保儿童可以继续学业。

临时学习中心还致力于加强正确的个人卫生和环境卫生教育,帮助防止疾病在滞水地区和缺乏适当卫生设施地区传播。约500个临时学习中心安装了存储安全饮用水的水箱,受益儿童逾45000名。此外,联合国儿童基金会还通过各种渠道,为150万人提供个人卫生、环境卫生和疾病预防的信息。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2012/Chaudhry
巴基斯坦瑙果德,因洪灾而流离失所的家庭所居住的营地。

需要更多援助

瑙果德营地仍亟需援助。很多人在严冬中倍受煎熬。一名妇女表示:“我们的孩子吃不饱。因为寒冷,他们晚上睡不着。我们没有任何医疗设施。”

对于返回家园的她和其他家庭而言,重建家园需要持续的援助。许多返回家园的人们缺乏重建家园的物质条件,只好亟需生活在营地中。据估计,98%的营地缺乏管理。为此,援助合作伙伴正努力提供进一步的援助(包括技术指导),但这些工作都亟需更多资金支持。


 

 

回到正轨

搜索

Pakistan

In post-flood Pakistan, temporary learning centres offer education amid uncertainty

UNICEF Image: Laxmi, 10, cares for her younger brother while their parents are working in Naukot, Pakistan.
© UNICEF Pakistan/2012/Chaudhry
Laxmi, 10, cares for her younger brother while their parents are working in Naukot, Pakistan.

By Raheela Chaudhry

NAUKOT, Pakistan, 15 March 2012 – On a lonely roadside in Naukot, Sindh Province, is a small collection of shabby tents. Many of them are makeshift constructions, plastic sheets covered in clothing, barely large enough to accommodate an adult standing upright. But for 10-year-old Laxmi and her family, one of these tents is home.

Last summer, torrential monsoon rains struck this region of Pakistan, destroying the small hut where her family lived. They were left with just a few personal belongings and the rope beds that constitute their only furniture. Since that day, Laxmi, her parents and four siblings have lived in this tent.

An uncertain future

It is not a comfortable shelter. The sharp desert wind blows through the plastic sheeting, and Laxmi often wakes up to find herself covered in dust. Her youngest brother cries all night because of the bitter cold.

They are among the 5.1 million people, half of them children, who were affected by the severe flooding that struck Pakistan’s Sindh and Balochistan provinces. An estimated 797,000 homes were damaged, and 41 per cent of them were destroyed. The worst-hit areas are some of Pakistan’s most impoverished, and had already been affected massive flooding in 2010.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2012/Chaudhry
Laxmi and her younger brother learn to count at a UNICEF-supported Temporary Learning Centre in Naukot, Pakistan.

While most of those affected have gradually returned to their home communities, some, like Laxmi’s family, are still displaced. Dozens of families in this tent settlement are in the same situation, either lacking the money to return home or still waiting for the floodwaters to recede from their home communities.

An opportunity to learn

Under these difficult circumstances, Laxmi takes comfort in an exciting new opportunity. With UNICEF support, a Temporary Learning Centre (TLC), or emergency tent school, has been established in the camp. One of her brothers is a regular attendee, and Laxmi has started going as well. It is the first chance she has had to go to school, and it is opening up possibilities that were previously unimaginable.

“I want to learn more. When I grow up, I can start working like girls in the cities,” she said. ”Maybe I can become a teacher. But it is difficult. I have only just learnt my alphabet and counting.”

With 60 per cent of schools in affected areas damaged, UNICEF has established 2,070 TLCs, benefiting over 100,000 children in Sindh and Balochistan. Intended to ensure that education is not interrupted, the TLCs have also attracted over 39,000 children to school for the first time, including 16,000 girls. As people head home, TLCs are being shifted from camps to areas of return, so children’s schooling can continue.

TLCs are also designed to promote proper hygiene and sanitation, helping prevent the disease of spreading in areas with stagnant water or lacking access to adequate sanitation. Water tanks have been installed to store safe drinking water in some 500 TLCs, benefitting over 45,000 children. Through various channels, UNICEF has also provided 1.5 million people with information on hygiene, sanitation and disease prevention.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2012/Chaudhry
Flood-displaced families in a camp in Naukot, Pakistan.

More help is needed

Nevertheless, the Naukot encampment is short of vital support. Many are struggling to get through the bitter winter. Said one woman, “Our children don’t have enough food. They cannot sleep at night because of the cold. We don’t even have any medical facilities.”

For her and for families who return home, continued support will be essential to rebuilding their lives. Many returnees lack the means to reconstruct their homes, and are living in spontaneous settlements. An estimated 98 per cent of settlement sites lack management. Aid partners are working to provide further assistance, including technical guidance, but additional funding is urgently required.


 

 

New enhanced search