被占领的巴勒斯坦领土

联合国儿童基金会与澳大利亚国际/海外发展署 (AusAID) 共同支持巴勒斯坦环境卫生设施的改善,惠及众多在校学生

莫妮卡.阿瓦德报道

被占巴勒斯坦领土希伯伦,2011 年 4 月 11 日 - 约旦河西岸城市希伯伦艾什库女子小学的孩子们终于第一次拥有了属于自己的环境卫生设施。

2011年4月4日:联合国儿童基金会报道,该组织与澳大利亚政府一起通过为被占巴勒斯坦地区新建环境卫生设施,改善儿童尤其是女生的学习环境。  在Realplayer中播放

 

环境卫生设施缺乏让艾什库小学450名孩子的学习生活非常不便。直到2010 年 12 月,这些学生还必须要借用旁边达拉尔穆格拉比中学的厕所。达拉尔穆格拉比女子中学拥有600名学生。

艾什库小学9岁的安萨拉说:“我过去只能去达拉尔穆格拉比中学,去借用她们的厕所。很多时候,因为人多,我必须要等10 多分钟!”

她接着说:“现在终于不用等了,我们自己的学校也有了厕所,真是太方便了。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF OPT/2011/Izhiman
在约旦河西岸城市希伯伦,艾什库女子小学的学生们正在以舞蹈形式庆祝新的供水和环境卫生设施的建成,这些设施由澳大利亚国际/海外发展署资助、联合国儿童基金会修建。

澳大利亚国际/海外发展署的支持

供水、环境卫生以及个人卫生条件的限制对巴勒斯坦儿童造成了巨大影响,不良的环境导致疾病,并且正在侵蚀孩子们尤其是女孩接受良好教育的权利。

受益于澳大利亚政府海外援助计划和澳大利亚国际/海外发展署的支持,去年在艾什库小学,联合国儿童基金会修建了新的环境卫生设施,包括9个隔间的厕所 - 其中一个隔间可以满足残疾儿童的特殊需求。

这些新建设施让孩子们更愿意上学。2011年3月,只有3%的学生缺课超过1天;相比2010年的 10%,缺勤率大大降低。

鼓励健康行为

澳大利亚国际/海外发展署助理总干事凯瑟琳.沃克说:“澳大利亚国际/海外发展署认识到健康和教育是这个地区发展最为重要的两个方面。改善学校的供水以及环境卫生设施,不仅仅对孩子们的健康有直接的益处,而且会提高孩子们的出勤率,尤其是女生。”

2010 年,在澳大利亚国际/海外发展署的支持下,联合国儿童基金会为约旦河西岸和加沙的59所学校新建了供水以及环境卫生设施,惠及40000学生。今年,将有另外55所学校44000名学生因此受益。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/OPT 2011/Izhiman
艾什库女子小学六年级的学生,11 岁的萨米哈正在洗脸。这些新的环境卫生设施由澳大利亚国际/海外发展署资助、联合国儿童基金会在约旦河西岸城市希伯伦修建。

“在澳大利亚国际/海外发展署的资助下,联合国儿童基金会通过与教育部以及高教部合作,正在不断改善学校以及社区的供水和环境卫生设施。同时也在加强个人卫生方面的教育以鼓励人们健康的行为。”联合国儿童基金会特别代表让.高夫表示。

改善学习环境

艾什库小学危险的学习环境依然令人担忧。整个学校只有13间拥挤不堪、年久失修的教室。最旧的一个建于1916年,当时是牲口棚的草料仓。在1960年,将草料仓改造成了学校并同时兴建了一些小的教室。

校长法德瓦.贾迈勒说:“学校的建筑物存在安全隐患,在潮湿多雨的冬季,孩子们的学习环境十分危险。”

尽管艾什库各界非常重视教育,但是并没有形成一个关爱儿童的环境。不合格的教室以及严重缺乏课外活动的设施使教学雪上加霜。

“我希望有干净、坚固的教室、电教室、图书馆…还有能够做运动的操场。”10岁的在校生欧胡德说。

要充分改善学习条件,供水、环境卫生设施仅仅是一个起步。比起环境卫生设施,如果能够提供一个安全、舒适的校园环境,则更能够帮助安萨拉、欧胡德和他们的同学们实现美好明天的梦想。


 

 

女童教育倡议官方网站

联合国儿童基金会女童教育倡议的官方网站
UNGEI banner

回到正轨

搜索

At a glance: State of Palestine

UNICEF and the AusAID support improved sanitation for Palestinian students

By Monica Awad

HEBRON, Occupied Palestinian Territory, 11 April 2011 – For the first time ever, students at the Al Shioukh elementary school for girls in the West Bank city of Hebron have access to their own sanitation facilities.

VIDEO: 4 April 2011: UNICEF reports on efforts made in partnership with the Australian Government to improve the learning environment for children in the Occupied Palestinian Territory - especially girls - by providing new sanitation facilities.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

The 450 students who attend Al Shioukh had long suffered from a lack of proper sanitation. Until December 2010, the young girls there had to use the facilities at the Dalal Al Mughrabi secondary school, a nearby girls’ school with 600 students. 

“I used to go to Dalal Al Mughrabi school to use their toilets’, says Al Shioukh student Ansam, 9. Most of the time, I had to wait for more than 10 minutes to use the bathroom, because it was always overcrowded.”

Ansam adds: “Now I can use the toilet whenever I need to. We have our own toilets in our school.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF OPT/2011/Izhiman
Students at the Al Shioukh elementary school for girls dance during celebration of new water and sanitation facilities built by UNICEF, with AusAID support, in the West Bank city of Hebron.

Support from AusAID

Poor water, sanitation and hygiene conditions have serious repercussions for Palestinian children, sickening hundreds every day and denying others – particularly girls – the right to quality education.

Last year at Al Shioukh, with support from the Australian Government’s overseas aid programme, AusAID, UNICEF built a new block of sanitation facilities with nine toilets, including one for children with special needs.

And the new facilities have encouraged students to attend school more regularly. In March 2011, only 3 per cent of the students missed out on at least one school day – down from 10 per cent in March 2010.

‘Healthy behaviours’ encouraged

“AusAID recognizes that health and education are two vital areas for development in the region,” notes AusAID First Assistant Director General Catherine Walker. “Improving water and sanitation facilities in schools not only has a direct impact on better health for children, but it also improves school attendance, especially for girls.”

In 2010, with support from AusAID, UNICEF built water and sanitation facilities for 59 schools in the West Bank and Gaza, reaching 40,000 students. This year, 44,000 students attending 55 schools will benefit from similar initiatives.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/OPT 2011/Izhiman
Sixth grader Samiha, 11, washes her face at new sanitation facilities built by UNICEF and funded by AusAID at the Al Shioukh elementary school for girls in the West Bank city of Hebron.

“In partnership with the Ministry of Education and Higher Education, and with funding from AusAID, UNICEF is improving water supplies and sanitation facilities in schools and communities, and is promoting hygiene education to encourage the development of healthy behaviours for life,” said UNICEF Special Representative Jean Gough.

Improving the learning environment

But education at the Al Shioukh school has also been compromised by a dire learning environment. The school comprises 13 crowded, shabby classrooms. The oldest portion was built in 1916 as a barn to house livestock. In the 1960s, the barn was converted into a school and additional small rooms were built.

“The school is still housed in unsafe buildings, with rainfall flooding classrooms during winter, exposing children to danger,” says Principal Fadwa Al Jamal.

While the Al Shioukh community highly values education, a child-friendly environment is lacking. The unfit classrooms and the absence of facilities for extracurricular activities make learning even more difficult.

“We need new clean and healthy classrooms, a computer lab, a library and a safe schoolyard to play in,” says Ouhoud, a 10-year-old student at the school.

Improving water, sanitation and hygiene facilities in schools is one of many steps needed to substantially improve students’ performance. Beyond improved sanitation, a safe, protective and comfortable school environment is essential to help students like Ansam and Ouhoud realize their dreams of a better future.


 

 

UNGEI website

The site of the United Nations Girls' Education Initiative
UNGEI banner
New enhanced search