马尔代夫

儿童友好学校造福马尔代夫的儿童

儿童友好学校

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF 2009/Maldives/McBride
四岁的阿夫南.安华,在马尔代夫密芏岛的儿童友好学校上学。

马尔代夫拉环礁密芏岛,2009年12月22日 – 课堂充满了互动和乐趣。讲课的老师不时翻着书页让学生们看书里的各种动物。孩子们迫不及待地举着手,想要模仿不同动物的叫声。自五年前发生海啸后,这所幼儿园同很多这里的学校一样,经历了儿童友好式的改造。

 点击此处观看视频报道

欢快的教室里放满了能让幼儿们集中精神并感兴趣的图书、游戏、玩具和其它材料。透过敞开的窗户,海水轻柔地浮动在海岸线上。附近的环礁看起来就像地平线上的几条细细的铅笔道。看着现在这般美丽的景色,人们很难想象在2004年那悲惨的一天,巨大的水墙所造成的恐慌。

四岁的阿夫南.安华是受益于海啸后变化的众多儿童中的一个 。她说:“我最喜欢玩洋娃娃。”

课程结束后,孩子们帮忙打扫教室。阿夫南的妈妈瓦鲁达.卡西姆(Varuda Gasim)把她接走了。卡西姆女士带大了三个年龄更大一点的孩子,所以她可以比较出现在的学校和以前的学校的区别。
她说:“教学现在更加注重游戏,而且还有很多供孩子们使用的材料。”

 “每个人都会写,每个人都会读”

当阿夫南进入小学后,她还将在那里感受到儿童友好的氛围。在一所附近的学校里,一个班的学生们正分成小组制作海报;而另一个班的学生们在和老师阿哈迈德.朔巴(Ahmed Sobah)玩互动式的文字游戏。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF 2009/Maldives/McBride
在马尔代夫密芏岛的一所儿童友好幼儿园里,一名小女孩站在阅览室的角落。

他接受了联合国儿童基金会举办的儿童友好技巧培训。

朔巴先生说:“你注意到孩子们的主动性发生了改变。他们完成一项任务,然后又主动地去完成另一项任务。”

朔巴先生还认为儿童友好变化也有益于老师:“我备课的方法和管理课堂时间的方法也帮助我培养自己的语言技能。”

为了支持教育系统的革新 ,联合国儿童基金会还帮助在马尔代夫所有环礁上建立教室资源中心。这些中心供老师和学生们使用,并提供一些最新的高科技教学工具,如交互式智能板和宽带网,从而帮助教学取得佳绩。

中心的协调员易卜拉欣.拉希德(Ibrahim Rasheed)说:“过去,每个班里我们都能找到六七个不会读、不会写的学生说。但现在你去看看,每个人都会写,每个人都会读。”

让父母参与

密芏小学放学后,老师邀请孩子的父母们来到学校,在总结会上听取学生们一天都学到了什么。然后,家长和孩子们沿着岛上纵横交错的沙巷各自散去。

对联合国儿童基金会驻马尔代夫办事处来说,教育系统所发生的深刻变化是在帮助岛屿恢复正常方面所取得的最令人满意的成果之一。

联合国儿童基金会驻马尔代夫代表曼苏尔.阿里(Mansoor Ali)说“今天,如果你遇见一个刚从儿童友好学校毕业的孩子,他或她肯定是聪明、机灵、自信的,而且对世界有着自己独特的见解。”

面对眼前气候变化的严峻挑战,这种广泛的知识将对后代至关重要,因为他们将在确保国家生存方面发挥自己的作用。


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会通讯员罗布.麦克布莱德就马尔代夫新建的儿童友好学校进行的报道。

视频:  |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

海啸五周年

搜索

Maldives

Child-friendly schools benefiting students in the Maldives

Child-friendly schools

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF 2009/Maldives/McBride
Afnaan Anwar, 4, attends a child-friendly school in Meedhoo Island, Maldives.

By Rob McBride

MEEDHOO, Raa Atoll, Maldives, 22 December 2009 - The session is interactive, spontaneous and fun. Led by a teacher who turns the pages on a book to reveal different animals, the children eagerly raise their hands wanting to mimic the sound each makes. This pre-school has, like so many other schools here, undergone a child-friendly transformation since the tsunami five years ago.

VIDEO: Watch now

The cheerfully decorated room is filled with books, games, toys and other materials to keep young minds engaged and interested. Through the open window, beyond the gentle surf of the shoreline and the sea, the neighbouring atoll islands appear as pencil thin lines on the horizon. An idyllic setting now, it is hard to imagine the terror that the wall of water must have produced on that fateful day in 2004.

Afnaan Anwar, 4, is one of the children benefiting from the post-tsunami changes. “I like playing with dolls the best,” she said.

At the end of class, when the children have helped to tidy up, Afnaan is picked up by her mother, Varuda Gasim. Having brought up three older children, she is able to compare the schools now, with those that existed before.

“The teaching now is based far more on play and there are lots of materials for the children to use,” she said.

‘Everybody can write, everybody can read’

When she progresses to elementary school, Afnaan will enjoy a child-friendly atmosphere there too. In the nearby school, one class of students work in groups on a poster project, while in the next classroom, children are involved in an interactive word game with their teacher, Ahmed Sobah.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF 2009/Maldives/McBride
A young girl stands in the library/reading corner of the child-friendly preschool she attends on Meedhoo Island, Maldives.

He has undergone training in child-friendly techniques, conducted by UNICEF.

“You notice the difference in the initiative children take,” Mr. Sobah said. “They finish one task, and then move onto the next without being asked.”

Mr. Sobah also believes the child-friendly changes have benefited the teachers as well: “The way I prepare for class and how I manage my classroom time is also helping the development of my own language skills,” he said.

To support the changes in the education system, UNICEF has helped to establish Teacher Resource Centres throughout the atolls of the Maldives. Used by teachers and pupils alike, the centres offer some of the latest in high-tech teaching tools, such as interactive Smart Boards and broadband internet access, to achieve remarkable results.

“In every class we used to find six or seven students who can’t read, who can’t write,” said Ibrahim Rasheed, co-ordinator of the centre. “But now you go and see. Everybody can write, everybody can read.”

Getting parents involved

As classes end at the Meedhoo elementary school, the children’s parents are invited in by the teachers, to share in the wrap-up session, explaining what the students have learned that day. Then, parents and children disperse for the day along the sandy lanes that criss-cross their island.

For UNICEF in the Maldives, the profound change in the education system has been one of the most satisfying achievements in restoring the islands to normalcy.

“Today, if you meet any child who has just graduated from a child-friendly school,” said Mansoor Ali, UNICEF Representative in the Maldives, “he or she is bright, responsive, very confident and quite knowledgeable about the world.”

Faced with the enormous challenges ahead due to climate change, such worldly knowledge will be especially vital for this next generation, who will have to play their part in ensuring their country’s survival.


 

 

Video

UNICEF correspondent Rob McBride reports on the new child-friendly schools in the Maldives.

VIDEO: high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search