马来西亚

联合国儿童基金会携手马来西亚政府,解决儿童贫困问题

荷玛.巴拉桑德姆 (Hema Balasundram) 报道

马来西亚吉隆坡,2011 年 11 月 14 日 - 自 2010 年中期以来,14 岁的以斯帖.维斯瓦尼 (Esther Vishvani) 和父母及三个兄弟姐妹就住在位于马来西亚吉隆坡的一套廉租房里。住宅区中共有 1896 个单元,他们家位于其中一个。住房部和当地政府采取了一项旨在为月收入低于 478 美元的家庭提供廉租房的措施,该住宅区是其中的一个大楼工程。在之前所住的廉价公寓被收回之后,以斯帖一家搬到了现在的廉租房中。

视频:14 岁的以斯帖.维斯瓦尼 (Esther Vishvani) 和父母及三个兄弟姐妹住在位于马来西亚吉隆坡的一套廉租公寓里。尽管以斯帖一家过得非常艰难,但是他们决心要过上好日子。荷玛.巴拉桑德姆 (Hema Balasundram) 在国际消除贫困日报道。

 

自从以斯帖的父亲拉玛克里什南 (Ramakrishnan) 2001 年被诊断出肾衰竭之后好几年,他们家的经济状况每况愈下,最终房屋被没收了。疾病导致父亲很长一段时间都无法工作,不过最近他找到乐一份保安的工作,每天上 12 个小时的夜班。他的妻子约瑟芬为了养家,一直做着两份清洁工的工作。

以斯帖对现在的家很满意,她和两个姐姐住同一间卧室。“我很容易交到朋友,我这里有很多朋友。”她在谈论这片住宅区时说道。

而在之前的房子里,她每天都面临各种困难。“要过上正常的生活太难了,没有电,我们没法学习,也做不了任何事;如果没水,我们连澡都不能洗。”她解释道。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Malaysia/2011/Balasundaram
14 岁的以斯帖、18 岁的露斯和 14 岁的以斯拉站在家门外,他们的家就是一套位于吉隆坡的廉租房。“我要努力成为一名好学生、好女儿。”以斯帖说道。

对未来的影响

对于很多儿童来说,贫困会造成长期影响。“贫困不仅仅指收入少,”联合国儿童基金会驻马来西亚代表汉斯.奥尔森 (Hans Olsen) 强调说,“贫困使儿童的基本需求都无法满足,不但会给他们造成物质上的影响,还会影响他们的情绪和精神。”

马来西亚 2010 年千年发展目标报告指出,马来西亚在降低总体贫困率方面做得很好,但预计,仍有超过 72 万名 15 岁以下的儿童由于贫困,各种需求都得不到满足。

“联合国儿童基金会与马来西亚政府共同努力,以解决儿童贫困问题,双方正在拟定一系列儿童福利指数,以便决策层更好地多层面了解儿童贫困情况。”奥尔森说道,“这些指数将有助于监控社会经济进步和第十个马来西亚计划设立的目标,并帮助确定关键举措。”而以斯帖的措施就是,从容面对。“当我问妈妈要钱,而她说‘我现在没钱’时,我就会作罢。”她很听话地说到:“我会接受。这就是我的措施。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Malaysia/2011/Balasundaram
以斯帖的母亲约瑟芬为了养家,一直做着两份清洁工的工作。她希望自己的孩子们能过上不一样的生活。“一定要让他们接受良好的教育,找到好工作。”

消除贫困

虽然各方面都处于劣势 - 收入、教育、健康和房屋,但许多家庭依然有能力并且真正渡过了难关。约瑟芬和拉玛克里什南都只接受过小学教育,但对自己的孩子有着很高的期望,并且努力开发培养他们的潜力。

“我和我母亲的生活是相同的,她过得很艰难,我也一样。”她说道。

但她坚持认为,必须让孩子们的生活得到改善。“一定要让她们接受良好的教育,找到好工作。”她非常肯定地说。

母亲的决心似乎得到了回报,以斯帖和她的兄弟姐妹在学习和课外活动中,表现都非常出色。

儿童贫困是一个复杂的问题,但解决这个问题的目标很清晰:确保所有儿童,包括生活条件和以斯帖一样的儿童,都能完全开发自己的潜能,规划自己的未来。

 


 

 

搜索

Malaysia

UNICEF partners with the Malaysian Government to address child poverty

By Hema Balasundaram

KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia, 14 November 2011 – Since mid-2010, 14-year-old Esther Vishvani has lived with her parents and three siblings in a rented low-cost flat in Kuala Lumpur. It is one of the 1,896 units in the complex, a high-rise project that is part of the Ministry of Housing and Local Government’s initiative to provide low-cost housing for households with a monthly income of less than $478. The family moved there after they lost their previous low-cost flat to foreclosure.

VIDEO: Esther Vishvani (14) lives with her parents and three siblings in a rented low cost flat in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Despite the challenges faced by Esther and her family, they are determined to build a better future for themselves, reports Hema Balasundram for International Day for the Eradication of Poverty.

 

The foreclosure was the result of years of financial hardship that started when Esther’s father, Ramakrishnan, was diagnosed with kidney failure in 2001. The illness forced him to stop working for extended periods, but he has recently taken on a job as a security guard, working 12-hour overnight shifts. His wife Josephine has been working two jobs as a cleaner to support the family.

Esther is happy with their current home, where she shares a small bedroom with her two sisters. “It’s easy for me to make friends, I have a lot of friends here,” she said about her housing complex.

At her previous home she was faced with constant challenges. “It was so difficult to run our normal life, there was no electricity, we can’t study and do any work; if there’s no water, we can’t bathe,” she explained.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Malaysia/2011/Balasundaram
Siblings Esther ,14, Ruth, 18, and Ezra, 14 stand outside their family’s low-cost flat in Kuala Lumpur. "My challenges are to be a good student, and to be a good daughter for my family," said Esther.

Futures at stake

For many children experiencing poverty could have long-term effects. “Poverty is not just about income,” stressed UNICEF Representative to Malaysia Hans Olsen.  “It deprives children of their basic needs and affects them not just materially, but emotionally and spiritually as well.”

Malaysia has done well in reducing the overall poverty rate, but it is estimated that over 720,000 children under 15 are subjected to the multiple deprivations of poverty, according to the Malaysia Millennium Development Goals Report 2010.

“UNICEF has partnered with the Malaysian Government to address child poverty and is proposing the development of a set of child well-being indicators that will allow for policy-makers to better understand multidimensional child poverty,” said Mr. Olsen. “These indicators will help with monitoring socio-economic progress and targets that are set out in the 10th Malaysia Plan, and identifying critical action.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Malaysia/2011/Balasundaram
Esther’s mother, Josephine, has been working two jobs as a cleaner to support the family. She wants her children’s lives to be different from hers. “They must be well educated and get good jobs.”

For her part, Esther takes it all in stride. “When I ask my mum and she says, ‘I don’t have money now,’ I just leave it,” she said resignedly. “I will just accept it. That’s my policy.”

Rising above

Despite multiple disadvantages – of income, education, health and housing – many individual families can and do overcome the odds. Josephine and Ramakrishnan did not obtain any education beyond the primary level, but have high hopes for their children and take the effort to nurture their children’s potential.

“My life and my mother’s, they’re the same - her life was hard and so is mine,” she said.

Her children’s lives, she insists, must be different. “They must be well educated and get good jobs,” she stated emphatically.

That determination seems to be paying off, as Esther and her siblings are all doing well both academically and in extra-curricular activities.

Child poverty is complex, but the goal in addressing it is clear: to ensure all children, including those living in circumstances like Esther’s, develop to their full potential and chart their own futures.


 

 

New enhanced search