基础教育与两性平等

教育质量

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/ HQ98-0543/ Pirozzi
也门一个偏僻村庄的小学里,两个女孩在合用一本书。

设想,如果一本教科书充满了艰涩难懂的语言,或课堂上只有一块没有粉笔的黑板。设想,在一个响亮的音乐厅里进行教学,或一个儿童在飓风狂扫的情况下试图完成作业。显然,当缺乏学习过程和环境所需的关键组成部分时,教育本身是注定要失败的。

事实上,获得劣质教育,等于没有受教育。如果由于教育质量低劣不能为儿童提供识字或算术的可能,或无法获得关键的生活技能,为儿童提供入学机会就没有任何意义。

优质教育,是人类发展和真正学习不可或缺的,从提供适当的学习用品,到儿童本身所处的家庭环境,它受到课堂内外各种因素的影响。除传授知识和使儿童在某一领域成功的技能,和打破贫穷的循环外,在基础教育中缩小性别差距,质量也起着关键的作用。

教育成就中最大的障碍是性别歧视;女童是拒绝学习权力的最大单一群体。在离开学校的9,300万名儿童中,几乎百分之五十二是女性。

对于资源有限的父母,在决定是否允许他们的女儿继续上学时,教育质量发挥了重要作用。如果女童不学习,如果她们学到的东西是没有用的,如果她们的学校环境是不安全的,家长不会送他们的女儿上学。

提高教育质量必须处于让女童入学并让她们能留校的任何议程的首位。联合国儿童基金会改进其教育方案以适应女童的学习方式,并促进为她们提供方便的学习环境。联合国儿童基金会通过现在儿童友好学校模式的主要方式来倡导和促进教育质量。

至少有五个关键因素影响教育质量:即学生学习的原因、环境、内容、过程和成果。这些要素为监测质量提供了一个基准。

1. 学生为学校带来什么。学习者给学校带来什么样的经验,和她面对什么样的特别挑战?她是否受到紧急情况、虐待、日常劳作或艾滋病的影响?她是否在自己家里、社区及幼儿园中有过积极的、对性别问题敏感的幼儿经历?在她自家所用语言与学校的有何不同?她是否得到有关学校生活节奏的充分介绍?

2. 环境。学习环境是否健康、安全、具保护性、激励和对性别问题敏感?

3. 教育内容。课程和教材是否相关?它们对传授基本技能,尤其是在识字和算术方面有何影响?它们是否促进生活技能和知识领域,如性别、健康、营养、预防艾滋病、和平,或其他国家和地方的各项优先事项?课程内容和学习材料是否包括或排斥女童?

4. 过程。教师是否使用以儿童为中心的教学方法?他们的评估是否促进学习和减少差距?教室和学校的管理是否妥善?无论是来自上司、教师、家长或社区的教学、学习和支持方法是否促进或危害女童的成长?

5. 成果。我们期望女童从基础教育中取得什么成果?我们怎样才能更好地记录女童的学习状况,及课程安排对其未来的成长有怎样的帮助?学习成果应与国家教育目标相连,应提倡她们积极参与社会生活。

优质教育是性别平等、人类安全、社会发展和国家进步的根本。这是一个巨大的挑战,但也带来了巨大的机会。就像汽车的发动机或飞机的机翼,是否有优质教育的区别是停滞不前和向着未来迈步。


 

 

素质教育的关键因素

怎样使学生学习.  

环境.

教育内容.

过程.

结果.

为了非洲的学校

搜索

Basic education and gender equality

Quality of education

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ98-0980/Pirozzi
Two girls share a book in a class at the local primary school in the village of Kwanawis, Yemen.

Imagine a textbook written in an indecipherable language, or a blackboard without chalk. Imagine a class being held in a loud concert hall, or a child trying to do homework in the midst of a hurricane. Clearly, when key components of the learning process and context are lacking, education itself is doomed to fail.

Indeed, access to education of poor quality is tantamount to no education at all. There is little point in providing the opportunity for a child to enrol in school if the quality of the education is so poor that the child will not become literate or numerate, or will fail to acquire critical life skills.

Quality education, which is essential to real learning and human development, is influenced by factors both inside and outside the classroom, from the availability of proper supplies to the nature of a child’s home environment. In addition to enabling the transfer of knowledge and skills necessary to succeed in a profession and break the cycle of poverty, quality plays a critical role in closing the gender gap in basic education.
 
The largest obstacle to educational achievement is gender discrimination; girls are the single largest group denied the right to learn. Of the 93 million children who are out of school, almost 52 percent are female.

For parents with limited resources, the quality of education plays an important role in deciding whether or not to enrol or keep their daughters in school. If girls are not learning, if what they are learning is not useful, or if their school environment is unsafe, parents will not send their daughters to school.

Improving educational quality must be high on any agenda to get girls into school and keep them there. UNICEF adapts its education programmes to girls’ learning styles and promotes environments that facilitate their learning. The Child-Friendly Schools model is now the major mean through which UNICEF advocates for and promotes quality in education.

There are at least five key elements that affect the quality of education: what students bring to learning, environments, content, processes and outcomes. These elements provide a baseline for monitoring quality.

1. What students bring to learning. What experiences does the learner bring to school, and what particular challenges does she face? Has she been affected by emergencies, abuse, daily labour or AIDS? Has she had a positive, gender-sensitive early childhood experience within her family, her community and her preschool? How different is the language of her home from the language of her school? Has she been sufficiently oriented to the rhythm of schooling?

2. Environment. Is the learning environment healthy, safe, protective, stimulating and gender-sensitive?

3. Content of education. Are the curriculum and materials relevant? Do they impart basic skills, especially in literacy and numeracy? Do they promote life skills and knowledge areas such as gender, health, nutrition, AIDS prevention, peace, or other national and local priorities? How does the content of curriculum and learning materials include or exclude girls?

4. Processes. Are teachers using child-centred teaching approaches? Do their assessments facilitate learning and reduce disparities? Are classrooms and schools well-managed? Are the methods of teaching, learning and support – whether from supervisors, teachers, parents or communities – enhancing or undermining girls’ achievement?
 
5. Outcomes. What outcomes of basic education do we expect for girls? How can we document how well girls are learning and how well the curriculum furthers their future growth? Learning outcomes should be linked to national goals for education and should promote positive participation in society.

Quality education is fundamental to gender equality, human security, community development and national progress. It is an enormous challenge – but also a tremendous opportunity. Like a car’s engine or a plane’s wings, it is the difference between standing still and moving ahead, towards the future.


  • Email this article

 

 

Key elements for quality education

What students bring to learning.

Environments.

Content of education.

Processes.

Outcomes.

Child-Friendly Schools

Learn more about Child-Friendly Schools (CFS) and quality education

Schools For Africa

New enhanced search