基础教育与两性平等

以生活技能为基础的教育

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ97-0255/ Horner
柬埔寨一所学校的女生坐在一幅大型宣传画的周围,正在做关于感染艾滋病的风险方面的游戏。这是当地艾滋病教育和意识项目的一部分。

今天的儿童面临着严峻的挑战:暴力、环境恶化、疾病、歧视和贫困。

除了阅读、写作和算术,一个儿童生活在这个日益复杂的世界,需要一系列广泛的能力:如认知、社会性和实用性。

“生活技能”一词指的是广泛的社会心理和人际关系技巧,可以帮助儿童作出明智的决定、进行有效沟通和观察他们周围的环境。通过将生活技能纳入我们的教育系统中,我们为儿童提供必要的手段来应付挑战并自信地在世界上走出自己的路。

在艾滋病病毒感染预防、护理和支持、儿童保护和紧急情况等一些关键领域,生活技能教育变得尤其重要。其目的是在面对潜在的危险时,使用一切可能的武器武装儿童保护自己。

在联合国儿童基金会,我们认为,生活技能是基于权利方法学习的一部分。儿童们可从根本上享受优质教育,这意外着尊重他们的尊严,并提高能力过他们认为有意义的生活,并使他们所在社会得到改变的。儿童友好学校可促进和提高儿童的生活技能。

这些技能在最近的一些全球性协议和文件的范围和框架内具有牢固基础,包括从2005年开始的“世界人权教育方案”,和由世界银行出版的“2007年世界发展报告”,其中明确将“通过生活技能教育来提高能力”作为三项政策方向之一,建议帮助青年为社会发展作出贡献。

认识到这些技能的至关重要性后,164个致力于全民教育的国家,已将生活技能作为所有青少年和青年一项必修的学习课程。今天,生活技能教育在至少70个发展中国家中已成为正规学校课程中的一部分。

2004年,孟加拉国为难以接触到的城市童工提供了基础教育,这是教授生活技能的一个方案,并同时教授常规阅读和算术课程。

阿塞拜疆在小学课程的选修科目中介绍生活技能教育,涉及了包括卫生、营养、性别、人权、和平和宽容、环境的可持续性、个人发展和人际沟通等议题。年龄较大的学生可了解性健康和生殖健康问题以及药物滥用带来的问题。

在马拉维,生活技能作为一门独立的课程教授,部分班级还开设了卫生、科学、社会研究和宗教等课程。

为了对实施生活技能教育提供指导,联合国儿童基金会已经设立了一个特别网站。它展示了世界各地生活技能教育中有前景的实例,对评估技能方案研究分类,并为那些准备实施这些方案的单位提供了实用的工具和材料。我们要确保这些基本技能,在帮助儿童进入社会时因其用途而恰当命名,并在每一国家的教育议程中都占有重要价值地位。

我们的青年,尤其是我们的女童,经常面临着威胁到她们健康和安全和限制她们学习机会的风险。

在面临挑战的世界中,通过教育儿童如何作出明智的决定并给予引导,生活技能可培养和造就儿童成为明天的领导人。


 

 

搜索

Basic education and gender equality

Life skills based education

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2005/ Cambodia/Stark-Merklein

Today’s children face daunting challenges: violence, environmental degradation, disease, discrimination, poverty.

Beyond reading, writing and arithmetic, a child’s ability to navigate this increasingly complex world requires a broad set of competencies: cognitive, social and practical.

The term ‘life skills’ refers to a broad group of psychosocial and interpersonal skills that can help children make informed decisions, communicate effectively and navigate their surroundings. By weaving life skills into the fabric of our educational systems, we equip children with the necessary tools to cope with challenge and confidently make their way in the world.

Life skills education is particularly important in such critical areas a HIV prevention, care and support, child protection and emergencies. The goal is to arm children with every available weapon for their defence in the face of potential harm.

At UNICEF, we believe that life skills are part of a rights-based approach to learning. Children are fundamentally entitled to quality education that respects their dignity and expands their abilities to live a life they value and to transform the societies in which they live. Child-friendly schools promote and enhance life skills.

These skills are firmly positioned within the context and framework of several recent global agreements and documents, including the World Programme for Human Rights Education, which began in 2005, and World Development Report 2007, published by the World Bank, which identifies “enhancing capabilities through life skills education” as one of the three policy directions recommended to assist youth in developing and contributing to society.

Recognizing the critical importance of these skills, the 164 nations committed to Education For All have included life skills as an essential learning outcome for all adolescents and young people. Today, life skills education is offered as part of the formal school curriculum in at least 70 developing countries.

In 2004, Bangladesh established Basic Education for Hard-to-Reach Urban Working Children, a programme that teaches life skills along with such conventional subjects as reading and arithmetic.

Azerbaijan has introduced life skills education as an optional subject within the primary school curriculum, addressing topics including health, nutrition, gender, human rights, peace and tolerance, environmental sustainability, personal development and interpersonal communication. Older students learn about sexual and reproductive health issues and drug abuse.

In Malawi, life skills are taught as a stand-alone subject as well as part of classes in health, science, social studies and religion.

In an effort to offer guidance on implementing life skills-based education, UNICEF has created a special website. It showcases promising examples of life skills-based education around the world, catalogues studies that have evaluated skills-based programmes, and provides practical tools and materials for those ready to implement such programmes. We want to ensure that these essential skills – aptly named for their ability to prepare children for life – have a valued place at the top of every country’s educational agenda.

Our young people, and especially our girls, regularly face risks that threaten their health and safety and limit their opportunities for learning.

By teaching children how to make informed decisions and navigate their way in a world beset by challenge, life skills equip, enable and empower tomorrow’s leaders.


  • Email this article

 

 

Related Links

Discover in detail what UNICEF is doing in Life Skills Based Education

Life skills

New enhanced search