基础教育与两性平等

平等接受教育的机会

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/ HQ99-0627/ Pirozzi
叙利亚共和国一间乡村小学里的一个女学生。

20年后,今天的儿童将长大成人,讲述现在正在发生的生活故事和经历。

20年后,经过多年的教育培养获得了知识和技能,今天的学生将成为各行各业的专业人员。

20年后,今天大多是女童的失学儿童,会质问为什么我们让他们错过了学习的机会。

在9300万名没有上学的儿童中,有大约4840万是女童。她们被剥夺了受教育的基本人权,而其后果有着深远的影响:如果不受教育,她们将来的机会显著减少。如果学习是通向光明和成功未来的大门,那么一个失去了教育的童年就会面临几乎不可逾越的障碍。

联合国儿童基金会坚定地致力为所有的儿童,无论性别、社会经济背景或情况,建立一个世界,使其有机会获得免费、义务和优质教育。联合国儿童基金会的任务,是为最边缘化的人口服务,这显示了对女童的特别关注,因为她们是被排斥在教育外的最大群体。

联合国儿童基金会的议程融入了许多有关女童教育的国际目标,包括千年发展目标的第2和第3项内容,为确保所有儿童都能接受并完成小学全部课程,并到2015年消除教育中的性别差异。呼应这些承诺的其他全球目标包括世界教育论坛的《达喀尔行动纲领》,其中强调了女童、少数民族和处境困难的儿童权利,以及“一个适合儿童生存的世界”的重点是确保女童能够平等地享有优质基础教育并取得成就。

很显然,国际社会如果坚持一切照旧将不会达到这些目标。联合国儿童基金会正不懈努力地为社区的需要调动和提供资源。在女童净入学率低的国家,其方案可帮助政府制定政策、程序和改进做法,这将大幅减少校外女童的数量。

虽然联合国儿童基金会调整其战略,以适应每一种情况,其干预通常包括去找到那些被排斥和受到威胁的女童让他们回到学校中去,及为政府和社区提供政策支持和技术援助,为这些最难接触到或受歧视最深的儿童改善条件,并为消除女童教育问题上的文化差异、社会和经济障碍发展方案。

联合国儿童基金会还提供发展和实施援助,促进教育质量和帮助各国准备和应对危机,以确保受影响的儿童在安全、稳定和性别敏感的环境中学习。

在苏丹南部,一个遭受了20年内战的国家中,联合国儿童基金会帮助发起了“上学”倡议,这是重建教育系统,使120多万名儿童重返课堂的一场重要运动。虽然已取得重大进展,但依然存在巨大的挑战。

实上,在苏丹和世界各地,联合国儿童基金会致力于为全世界每一个儿童能够尽量充分和完全获得免费优质教育而努力。正如国际社会已常常认可的那样,获得优质教育不是一种特权,而是一项基本人权。

联合国儿童基金会将为这一权利的充分实现而作出不懈的努力。


 

 

搜索

Basic education and gender equality

Equal access to education

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ06-0735/Noorani
A girl looks up from her class work in a boarding school for nomadic Bedouin children, in the village of Shola, Syrian Republic.

In 20 years, today’s children will be adults, with life stories and experiences that are unfolding now.

In 20 years, today’s students will be professionals, with knowledge and skills that were acquired through years of education.
 
And in 20 years, today’s out-of-school children, most of whom are girls, will wonder why we allowed them to slip through the cracks.

Of an estimated 101 million children not in school, more than half are girls. They are being denied their basic human right to education, with far-reaching consequences: Without it, their future opportunities are dramatically limited. If schooling unlocks the gate to a bright and successful future, a childhood bereft of education erects nearly insurmountable barriers.

UNICEF is deeply committed to creating a world in which all children, regardless of their gender, socioeconomic background or circumstances, have access to free, compulsory and quality education. UNICEF’s mandate to serve the most marginalized populations prompts it to focus special attention on girls, the largest group excluded from education.
 
UNICEF’s agenda fits into many international goals related to girls’ education, including Millennium Development Goals 2 and 3, to ensure that all children have access to and complete a full course of primary schooling, and to eliminate gender disparity in education by 2015. Other global goals echoing these commitments include the World Education Forum’s Dakar platform, which stresses the rights of girls, ethnic minorities and children in difficult circumstances; and A World Fit for Children’s emphasis on ensuring girls’ equal access to and achievement in basic education of good quality.

It is clear that the international community will not reach these goals if it sticks to business as usual. UNICEF works tirelessly to mobilize and provide resources to communities in need. In countries with low net enrolment rates for girls, its programmes help governments formulate policies, procedures and practices that will significantly reduce the number of girls who are not in school.

While UNICEF adapts its strategies to fit each situation, its interventions typically include outreach to locate excluded and at-risk girls to get them into school, policy support and technical assistance for governments and communities to improve access for those children who are hardest to reach or suffer most from discrimination, and programmes to eliminate cultural, social and economic barriers to girls’ education. UNICEF also provides development and implementation support, promotes educational quality and helps countries prepare for and respond to crises, in order to ensure that affected children learn in safe, stable and gender-sensitive environments.

UNICEF also provides development and implementation support, promotes educational quality and helps countries prepare for and respond to crises, in order to ensure that affected children learn in safe, stable and gender-sensitive environments.

In Southern Sudan, a country ravaged by decades of civil war, UNICEF helped launch the ‘Go to School’ initiative, a major campaign to rebuild the education system and bring over 1.6 million children back to the classroom. While significant progress has been achieved, enormous challenges remain.

Indeed, in Sudan and across the globe, UNICEF is committed to nothing less than full and complete access to free, quality education for every one of the world’s children. As the international community has acknowledged so often, access to quality education is not a privilege – it is a basic human right.

UNICEF will not rest until that right is fully realized.


 


  • Email this article

 

 

Global Initiative on Out-of-School Children

New enhanced search