青少年

利用新信息通信技术,改变边缘化女孩的未来

美国纽约,2012年3月9日 —— 研究人员和援助机构该如何利用技术,使最边缘化女孩的心声被听到?农村最偏远地区的女孩如何使用移动电话和因特网,才能获得关键生活技能?

视频:联合国儿童基金会报道在其总部纽约举行的利用信息通信技术为边缘化女孩赋权的专题讨论会。 在Realplayer中播放

上周,在联合国儿童基金会总部纽约举行的专题讨论会上,如何将新技术融入通信策略,为最脆弱的女孩赋权和提供支持是会议的核心话题。此次会议的举行正值联合国妇女地位委员会第56届大会召开。

用技术打破壁垒

社会、文化和政治制度阻碍着世界各地的女孩充分实现其权利。在过去的几年中,各机构试图通过利用“发展通信(C4D)”工具,增强女孩自身发展能力,克服这一艰巨挑战。

与会嘉宾表示,在打破传统,让个人、社区和决策者共同促进社会转型方面,信息通信技术(ICT)有着巨大潜力。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF VIDEO
托斯坦战略发展总监甘浓.吉莱斯皮在纽约专题讨论会上,讨论新技术给女孩赋权带来的机会。

“在农村地区,手机的出现是一个革命性的机会,尤其是对妇女和女童而言,然而,这个机会我们还未完全抓住,”托斯坦战略发展总监甘浓.吉莱斯皮(said Gannon Gillespie)说:“通过技术,能获得更多信息和意见,从而产生令人难以置信的放大效应。”

如今,随着技术的发展,各机构不仅能够联系到具备知识和信息的人,还能使他们参与交流和对话,献计献策。

公众参与新校(New School for Public Engagement)的传播学助理教授尼廷.桑尼(Nitin Sawhney)表示,青少年是率先采用新技术、新使用模式和新思维方式的群体,因此,重点关注他们,至关重要。

他说:“要了解青少年,我们面临的部分挑战是,他们在那个年龄,很容易受所处环境的影响,如果某个方案专为女孩量身定做,那么,也许你会想,让其家人和兄弟都参与进来,从而扩大该方案的总体影响。”

与会成员一致认为,为了给边缘化的女孩赋权,让家庭、社区和社会网络的共同参与其中,消除导致歧视的规范和制度,是非常重要的。

让女孩和社区积极参与

专业开发人员曾被敦促,设计特殊通信方案,为女孩创建有利环境,鼓励她们探索技术。

“方案应基于当地环境、文化水平、拥有手机的人数、当地语言以及是否有电或太阳能等实情。方案设计关系到诸多不同的因素,需要从地方和社区出发,才能真正了解,在那些特定情况下,最适合使用什么样的技术,”联合国儿童基金会社会媒体和新技术顾问琳达.拉菲利(Linda Raftree)解释说。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF VIDEO
联合国儿童基金会社会媒体和新技术顾问琳达.拉菲利在纽约专题讨论会上,讨论利用“发展通信(C4D)”来支持边缘化的女孩。

会议还强调,需将新的和现有的技术融入社会、政治和经济发展。

“在‘平等接入’开始之初,大多使用卫星广播,在当时,极具创新性,且覆盖范围很广。而现在,我们能使用调幅和调频广播以及流媒体。甚至电视编程。我们还能使用短信技术,而且,不识字的人还可以使用IVR(即交互式语音应答系统)打电话到自动化系统,”平等接入国际的发展副总监及通信总监蒲雷烈.夏沫(Prairie Summer)说。“因此,我们能把所有这些链接到一起,实现最大程度的互动和准入。”

拉菲利女士对保障儿童的安全表示关切。“随着发展中国家越来越多的青少年接触到社交网络工具,如Facebook和Twitter等,谁在使用以及使用到什么程度,会越来越让人关切,”她说。“人权活动人士努力使移动网络和因特网保持开放、停止监控,将有助于提高儿童上网的安全性,并通过手机跟踪个人的网上行为,减少网络犯罪。”

女孩领衔

在谈到长期方法和观点时,与会专家呼吁捐助者允许进行通信方案实验。

“我认为,对于某些类型的方案,我建议支持小型、分散的探索性项目。”桑尼教授说。

“若信息通信技术得到正确使用,则可以增强互动,以用户中心。但是,我们也必须着眼于技术本身,而且要明白,技术只是工具。只有内容设计好了,它才会好,”夏沫女士说:“最后,将技术应用到女孩身上......这才是我们需要关注的,重点是让女孩自己创新,让社区创新。”

“我认为,随着对技术的理解逐渐深入,她们会开始建立自己的短信社区和网络,相互之间进行交流,而不用我们监督,并利用技术,以她们自己的方式增强自身发展能力,得出自己的解决方案。”


 

 

联合国妇女地位委员会

相关报道:2007年委员会关于针对女孩的歧视与暴力问题会议

国际妇女节:伊拉克的教育 [有音频]

"现在就阻止强暴": 阻止战争中的性暴力 [有视频]

帮助在几内亚动乱中遭到强暴的女孩 [有音频]

向当过儿童兵的女孩致意 [有视频]

女孩谈论使她们失学的原因 [有视频]

在秘鲁,曾经的虐待受害者为他人送去关怀

委员会开幕 [有视频]

更多关于性别平等的新闻…

搜索

Adolescents and youth

Transforming lives of marginalized girls through new information and communication technologies

NEW YORK, US, 9 March 2012 – How can researchers and aid organizations use technology to make the voices of the most marginalized girls heard? How can adolescent girls in the hardest-to-reach rural communities use mobile phones and the Internet to gain critical life skills?

UNICEF reports on a panel discussion about empowering marginalized adolescent girls through information and communication technologies, at the UNICEF Headquarters in New York.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

The issue of integrating new technologies with communication strategies to empower and support the most vulnerable girls was at the center of a panel discussion that took place at the UNICEF Headquarters in New York last week. The event was organized during the 56th Session of the Commission on the Status of Women.

Breaking barriers with technology

Social, cultural and political systems prevent girls all over the world from fully achieving their rights. Over the last few years, agencies have been trying to overcome this formidable challenge through programming that uses Communication for Development (C4D) tools to empower girls in their own development.

Panelists outlined the tremendous potential of Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs) to break down traditions and engage individuals, communities and decision-makers in a process of social transformation.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF VIDEO
Gannon Gillespie, Tostan Director of Strategic Development, talks about the opportunity to empower adolescents offered by new technologies, at a panel discussion in New York.

“The advent of mobile phones in rural communities, especially for women and girls, is a revolutionary opportunity, and it's one that we are not yet seizing,” said Gannon Gillespie, the Director of Strategic Development at Tostan. “There is an incredible amplification effect you can have through technology that allows more information and more opinions.”

Today, as technology evolves, agencies are not only able to reach people with knowledge and information but also bring them into the conversations, dialogues.

According to Nitin Sawhney, Assistant Professor of Media Studies at the New School for Public Engagement, adolescents are the lead adopters of new technology, new patterns of use and new ways of thinking, and it’s therefore crucial to focus on that group.

“Part of the challenge of understanding adolescents is that they are being shaped by their environment very rapidly at that age,” he said. “If you have a programme designed just for girls, then maybe you do want to involve their families and brothers in ways that might compliment the overall impact of the programme.”

Panelists agreed that in order to empower marginalized girls, it is important to engage families, communities and social networks, and to examine the norms and systems in which discrimination takes root.

Engaging girls and their communities

Development professionals were urged to design communication programmes with the aim of creating an environment where girls are encouraged to explore technology.

“Programmes should be centered around the local context, literacy capacity in the community, the number of people who do have mobile phones, language, whether you have electricity or solar power. There are so many different elements of programme design that need to start from the local level, from the community and that's really where you're going to know what technology is most appropriate for use in that particular case,” explained Linda Raftree, Social Media and New Technology Consultant at UNICEF.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF VIDEO
Linda Raftree, Social Media and New Technology Consultant at UNICEF, speaks about using Communication for Development (C4D) to support marginalized girls, at a panel discussion in New York.

The discussion also highlighted the need to blend new and existing technologies in the social, political and economic landscape.

"When ‘Equal Access’ first started, we were mostly using satellite radio, which was pretty innovative for its time and had a great reach. Now, we are using AM and FM radio stations as well as streaming online. We’ve got TV programming. We're also using SMS technology, and to combat some of the literacy issues, we are using IVR, which is an interactive voice response system so you can call into an automated system,” said Prairie Summer, Associate Director of Development & Director of Communications at Equal Access International. “So we’re linking all these pieces together to have the greatest level of interactivity and access possible.”

Ms. Raftree expressed concerns about keeping children safe. “As more adolescents in the developing world access online social networking tools such as Facebook and Twitter, there will be increasing tension around who is using them and to what end,” she said. “Struggles by human rights activists to keep mobile and Internet networks open and stop surveillance will meet efforts to improve online safety for children, track what individuals do online and with their phones and reduce cybercrime.”

Girls in the lead
Calling on donors to allow for experimentation in communication programmes, panelists spoke of long-term approached and perspectives.

“I think supporting small, decentralized exploratory projects over longer horizons might be my recommendation for certain kinds of programmes,” said Prof. Sawhney.

“The ICTs, when used properly, make things very interactive and very user-driven. But I think we also have to look at the technology itself and understand that it's only a tool. It's only as good as the content you can design for it,” said Ms. Summer. “Lastly, putting the technology in the hands of the girls...that's what we need to look at, letting the girls themselves innovate, letting the communities innovate.

“I think as they gain better understanding, they're going to start setting up their own SMS communities and networks to have dialogues within themselves and without us – and use it, and be empowered in their own way, and come up with their own solutions."


 

 

New enhanced search