联合国儿童基金会在紧急情况中

联合国儿童基金会为洪灾后的巴基斯坦旁遮普儿童建设过渡性学校

巴基斯坦洪灾,一年之后

在遭受灾难性的雨季洪灾一年后,巴基斯坦的儿童和家庭继续应对和重建他们的生活。 以下是反映他们一年后生活状况的系列故事中的一个。

阿卜杜勒.萨米.马利克报道

巴基斯坦旁遮普,2011 年 8 月 3 日 —— “遭受洪灾前,这个村庄有一所单室伊斯兰教寺院(清真寺)学校。 所有的学生在树下学习。 现在我们有了这所漂亮的学校,孩子们都很喜欢它。”巴基斯坦旁遮普省穆扎法尔格尔区穆兰瓦拉村的政府小学校长穆卡塔尔.艾哈迈德 (Mukhtar Ahmad) 说。

视频: 联合国儿童基金会报道在遭受巴基斯坦雨季特大洪灾的旁遮普省建设的过渡性学校正在改变孩子们的生活。 在Realplayer中播放

“洪水虽然令我们一无所有,但却给了孩子们接受良好教育的机会。”他补充说。

去年巴基斯坦遭遇的空前特大洪水迫使穆兰瓦拉大部分居民迁至相对安全的地区。 当洪水退去人们返回家园时,发现村庄内的所有建筑都被冲毁了,就连单室的伊斯兰教寺院学校也没能幸免。

当穆兰瓦拉居民开始重建家园时,联合国儿童基金会及其合作执行伙伴贾汗达德社区发展协会 (JSCD) 在该村中的帐篷内搭建了一个临时学习中心 (TLC)。 旁遮普教育部批准将 TLC 作为政府小学,没过多久,入学的学生数就超过了200。

“关爱儿童”方法

现在洪灾已过去一年了,TLC 已成为设在半永久建筑中的过渡性学校。 作为快速改善巴基斯坦受洪水影响儿童的教学设施的部分举措,联合国儿童基金会计划在 2011 年 12 月前在旁遮普建设 500 所这样的过渡性学校。其实这一计划已经开始实施了。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2011/Sami
在穆兰瓦拉村的过渡性学校里,11 岁的沙赫巴兹正在演算数学题,校长穆卡塔尔.艾哈迈德在一旁看着,穆兰瓦拉村位于巴基斯坦旁遮普省遭受洪灾的穆扎法尔格尔区。

穆兰瓦拉的过渡性学校具备所有必需条件,包括安全饮用水和卫生条件、学校用品和学习资料。 教师采用“关爱儿童”方法来教学,将儿童的所有需要都考虑在内,包括保护、娱乐、安全饮用水和卫生条件等方面的需要。

在联合国儿童基金会和旁遮普政府的推动下,这一方法大大提高了入学率。 穆兰瓦拉政府小学目前有 360 多名学生,这些学生中有许多在洪灾前从未上过正规学校。

“我们感谢联合国儿童基金会”

11 岁的沙赫巴兹是该学校的一名三年级学生。 他之前在伊斯兰教寺院学校接受的是非正规教育,在联合国儿童基金会支持的穆兰瓦拉 TLC,他第一次接触到正规教育。

“遭受洪灾前,我在一所单室小学读书,”沙赫巴兹回忆说, “当洪水来袭时,我们迁移到穆扎法尔格尔的高地。 当洪水退去我们返回家园时,我们的学校已经被冲毁了。 然后我们有了帐篷学校、课本、书包等各种各样的学习用品。 之后,他们为我们建起了这所学校。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2011/Sami
在巴基斯坦旁遮普省由联合国儿童基金会支持建立的穆兰瓦拉政府小学中,三年级小学生沙赫巴兹正在朗读课文。

沙赫巴兹补充说: “我们正在接受良好的教育,我们非常高兴。 为此我们感谢联合国儿童基金会。”

“学习中心”

JSCD 项目协调员希娜.法鲁克 (Hina Farooq) 从 2010 年 9 月就开始参与过渡性学校项目。她为项目取得的成绩感到骄傲。

“穆兰瓦拉政府小学不仅仅是一所小学。 也是学习中心。 借助联合国儿童基金会的支持,我们针对学生、教师和社员引入了‘关爱儿童教学’,”法鲁克女士说。

“在这种环境中,无体罚教学是一种新方法, 学生在学校里不会被打,家长也渐渐认识到体罚不利于孩子的成长。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Pakistan/2011/Sami
在巴基斯坦旁遮普省遭受洪灾的地区,沙赫巴兹在学校中由从联合国儿童基金会安装的手动泵前用手接水喝。 提供安全饮用水和适当卫生条件是该学校“关爱儿童”方法的一部分。

成功的典范

法鲁克女士讲述了穆兰瓦拉过渡性学校准备接收三岁至五岁儿童进行正规教育时的早期儿童教育情况。 由青年男女组成的青年团帮助管理学校并鼓励穆兰瓦拉和周围村庄的家长将达到入学年龄的孩子送入学校,她说。

联合国儿童基金会教育主任亚西尔.阿拉法特 (Yasir Arafat) 认为穆兰瓦拉学校是一个现实典范。

“该学校是一个成功的典范,可以复制到其他遭受洪灾的地区,”他说, “它刺激了整个社区的教育。 入学率的升高促使我们决定再多建两个教室。 具体工作不久便会展开。”

阿拉法特先生称省教育部已经指派了一名教师来穆兰瓦拉的过渡性学校执教。


 

 

回到正轨

搜索

UNICEF in Emergencies & Humanitarian Action

UNICEF supports transitional schools for children in post-flood Punjab, Pakistan

Pakistan flood crisis, one year on

Children and families continue to cope – and rebuild their lives – a year after devastating monsoon floods struck Pakistan. This is one in a series of stories on their situation, one year on.

By A. Sami Malik

PUNJAB, Pakistan, 3 August 2011 – “Before the floods, this village had a one-room Masjid [mosque] school. Most of the children sat under a tree. We now have this beautiful school, and the children love it,” says Mukhtar Ahmad, Headmaster of the Government Primary School in Mullanwala village, located in the Muzaffargarh District of Pakistan’s Punjab Province.

VIDEO: UNICEF reports on transitional schools that are changing young lives in areas of Punjab Province affected by Pakistan's massive monsoon floods in 2010.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

“The floodwater took everything away from us, but gave our children the opportunity for better education,” he adds.

Last year’s unprecedented floods in Pakistan forced the bulk of the population in Mullanwala to relocate to safer areas. When the floodwaters receded and people returned, they discovered that not a single structure in the village was standing – not even the one-room Masjid school.

As Mullanwala’s residents started to rebuild, UNICEF and its implementing partner, the Jahandad Society for Community Development (JSCD), established a temporary learning centre, or TLC, in a tent in the village. The Punjab Education Department granted the TLC status as a Government Primary School, and enrolment soon exceeded 200.

‘Child-friendly’ approach

Now, a year after the floods, the TLC has turned into a transitional school housed in semi-permanent buildings. As part of its initiative to quickly improve education facilities for flood-affected children in Pakistan, UNICEF plans the construction of 500 such transitional schools by December 2011. Indeed, the process is already under way.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2011/Sami
Shahbaz, 11, solves a math equation as Headmaster Mukhtar Ahmed looks on at the transitional school in Mullanwala village, located in the flood-affected Muzaffargarh District of Pakistan’s Punjab Province.

The transitional school in Mullanwala has all the essentials, including safe drinking water and sanitation, school supplies and learning materials. Its teachers use a ‘child-friendly’ approach to schooling that takes the needs of the whole child into account – including needs for protection, recreation, safe water and sanitation, and more.

Promoted by UNICEF and the Government of Punjab, this approach has resulted in a substantial increase in enrolment. The Mullanwala Government Primary School now has more than 360 students, many of whom had never been to a proper school before the floods.

‘We thank UNICEF’

Shahbaz, 11, a third-grade student, is one of them. Having received his early informal education in the Masjid school, he was first exposed to formal education in the UNICEF-supported Mullanwala TLC.  

“Before the floods, I used to go to a one-room school,” recalls Shahbaz. “When the floods came, we moved to high ground in Muzaffargarh. When we returned after the floods, our school had been destroyed. Then we got a tent school, books, bags and everything else. Later, they made us this school building.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2011/Sami
Third-grade student Shahbaz reads a textbook at the UNICEF-supported Mullanwala Government Primary School in Punjab Province, Pakistan.

Shahbaz adds: “We are getting a good education and we are very happy. We thank UNICEF for this.”

‘The hub of learning’

JSCD Project Coordinator Hina Farooq has been involved with the transitional schools project since September 2010. She’s proud of what has been achieved.

“Mullanwala Government Primary School is more than just a primary school. It is the hub of learning. With UNICEF’s support, we have introduced the concept of ‘child-friendly schooling’ to students, teachers and community members,” says Ms. Farooq.

“Teaching without corporal punishment is something new in this environment,” she notes. “Since children don’t get beaten up in school, parents are also learning that physical punishment is detrimental to a child’s upbringing.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Pakistan/2011/Sami
Shahbaz drinks water from a UNICEF-installed hand pump at his school in a flood-affected district of Punjab Province, Pakistan. Provision of safe drinking water and adequate sanitation are part of the school's 'child-friendly' approach.

Prototype of success

Ms. Farooq explains that early childhood education at the Mullanwala transitional school prepares children from three to five years of age for formal education. Youth groups composed of adolescent boys and girls help out with school management and encourage parents in Mullanwala and surrounding villages to send their primary school-age children to school, she says.

UNICEF Education Officer Yasir Arafat considers the Mullanwala school a true prototype.

“This school is a great example to be replicated in other flood-affected areas,” he says. “It has motivated the entire community towards education. The increase in enrolment has convinced us to build two more rooms here. Work on these will be starting shortly.”

Mr. Arafat says the provincial Education Department has also appointed another teacher to work at the transitional school in Mullanwala.


 

 

New enhanced search