儿童权利的政策宣传和伙伴关系

教育是一种催化剂:对话诺贝尔奖得主梅雷亚德.马奎尔

UNICEF Photo
© Judy Rand
梅雷亚德.马奎尔 —— 诺贝尔和平奖得主,她在结束北爱尔兰暴力事件上做出了巨大贡献。

联合国儿童基金会广播电台正主办一系列与诺贝尔和平奖得主对话的播客节目。这是专题系列之四。

鲁迪娜.沃沃达报道

美国纽约,2011 年 6 月 8 日 – 1976 年,梅雷亚德.马奎尔因在结束其故乡北爱尔兰暴力事件方面的特别贡献,成为诺贝尔和平奖得主。

音频:现在收听

从那时起,马圭尔女士就一直致力于促进世界各地和平、正义和平等目标的实现。她最近接受了联合国儿童基金会广播电台主持人艾米.科斯特洛 (Amy Costello) 的采访,讲述了冲突地区儿童的生活状况,并解释了教育为什么是和平与宽容的催化剂。

通过教育创建和平环境

1976 年 8 月,马圭尔女士的妹妹失去了三个孩子,当时一辆爱尔兰共和军私家车的司机被英国士兵枪杀,失控的车辆冲上人行道,因而造成了这出惨剧。在这场重创她家人的暴力惨剧发生后,马奎尔女士组织了大规模的和平示威活动,呼吁结束北爱尔兰的杀戮和暴力事件。

在过去三十年里,马圭尔女士一直是一名坚定的和平积极分子和维护儿童权利的倡导者。她曾周游世界,与居住在冲突地区和难民收容所社区的儿童见面。

马圭尔女士从这些会面中提取典型,将教育视为建设和平社会的踏脚石。“我们在学校里进行使用非暴力手段解决冲突的教育,一路引向我社会的最高层——我们的政府官员,目前他们正面临用非暴力方式解决问题的挑战。”马圭尔女士对联合国儿童基金会广播电台这样讲述。

资助教育,而不是军队

2011 年“全民教育”全球监测报告显示,军队正挪用捐助国提供的资源。同一报告表明,富裕国家仅六天的军费开支就接近 160 亿美元,这相当于确保全民教育所需的外部资金缺口。

与此同时,各种冲突剥夺了孩子的受教育权。全球所有小学适龄儿童中的 42%(或2800万)因生活在受冲突影响的国家而无法接受教育。

马圭尔女士认为,如果重点事项安排合理,通过非暴力行动建设和平社会的目标是可以实现的。

她表示:“我们必须使用最佳资源、方法和良好构架来建设教育和医疗事业,但如果把数十亿的资金用于核武器研制、军国主义和战争的话,这无疑是天方夜谭。”

她呼吁建立一个全新的共同生活方式,并表示她对未来仍然充满希望。她总结道:“在我们能花钱建设人类安全、教育、福利和健康事业的同时,我们的政策却对人类生活具有破坏性,这是不合逻辑的。”


 

 

音频

2011年5月26日 —— 联合国儿童基金会广播主持人艾米.科斯特洛(Amy Costello)与诺贝尔和平奖得主梅雷亚德.马奎尔就教育在维护和平过程中的重要作用进行交流。
音频收听
搜索

Policy advocacy and partnerships for children's rights

Education a catalyst: a conversation with Nobel Laureate Mairead Maguire

UNICEF Image
© Judy Rand
Mairead Maguire, Nobel Peace Prize winner for her efforts to end violence in Northern Ireland.

UNICEF Radio is hosting a series of podcast discussions with Nobel Peace Prize winners. This is the fourth in the series.

By Rudina Vojvoda

NEW YORK, USA, 8 June 2011 – In 1976, Mairead Maguire was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for her extraordinary actions to end violence in Northern Ireland, her native country.

AUDIO: Listen now

Since then, Ms. Maguire has dedicated her life to promoting peace, justice and equality around the world. She recently spoke with UNICEF Radio moderator Amy Costello about the situation of children in conflict zones and explained why education is a catalyst for peace and tolerance.

Peace building through education

In August 1976, Ms. Maguire’s sister lost her three children when an Irish Republican Army getaway car ran them over on a sidewalk after its driver was shot by a British soldier. In response to the violence that struck her family, Ms. Maguire organised massive peace demonstrations calling for an end to the bloodshed and violence in her country.

For the last thirty years, Ms. Maguire has been a committed peace activist as well as a strong advocate for children’s rights. She has travelled around the world, meeting with children from communities living in conflict zones and refugee camps.

Drawing examples from these encounters, Ms. Maguire described education as a stepping stone in building peaceful societies. “It begins in the schools where we implement education on non-violence, conflict resolution and goes right up to the top of our society where our governments are challenged to use non-violent methods to solving problems,” Ms. Maguire told UNICEF Radio. 

Fund education, not armies

The 2011 ‘Education for All’ Global Monitoring Report reveals that military spending is diverting the resources of aid donor countries. The same report states that it would take only six days of military spending by rich countries to close the $16 billion external financing gap needed to ensure education for all. 

Meanwhile, conflicts are robbing children of an education. Of the total number of primary school-aged children in the world who are not enrolled in school, 42 per cent – or 28 million children – live in conflict-affected countries.

Ms. Maguire believes that building peaceful societies through non-violent actions is possible if the priorities are set straight.

“We have to put resources, best practices and good structures into building education and health care, but we can’t do it if we’re spending billions and billions on nuclear weapons, militarism and war” said Ms. Maguire. 

She called for a new way of living together and said she remained hopeful for the future. “It’s illogical that we have policies that are destructive of human life when we could put this money into building human security, education, welfare, and good health,” Ms. Maguire concluded.


 

 

Audio

26 May 2011 - UNICEF Radio moderator Amy Costello speaks with Nobel Peace Prize winner Mairead Maguire about the importance of education in the peace-building process.
AUDIO listen
New enhanced search