基础教育与两性平等

"在课本之外——紧急状况下的教育”系列播客

第10辑:紧急状况下的教育经费问题

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ07-2225/Pirozzi
在靠近利比里亚首都蒙罗维亚的曼巴泡特圣特丽萨天主教学校幼儿园的班里,两个女孩从一个大碗里挑选粉笔。

加布里埃.葛拉尼克报道

美国纽约,2008年10月28日 – 在上个月联合国大会期间,举行了迈向千年发展目标进程的高级别会谈。会谈对最贫穷的非洲国家的进步、尤其是在教育领域的进程给予了特别的关注。

“我们已经取得了许多进展,但是这个问题比获得受教育的机会要复杂得多,”在就整个非洲中学的低入学率举例时,非洲女教育家论坛执行主任卡多.迪奥(Codou Diaw)博士说。“对享有入学的权利和实现学习的权利,我们都要给于关注。”

德国慈善家、“为了非洲的学校”运动的创办人之一彼得.克雷默(Peter Kramer)指出,对私营机构来说,教育同样也是一个迫切的问题。

“千年发展目标中的第二个目标(普及小学教育)是最重要和影响最深远的,要使世界上每个孩子都能上学需要投入150亿美元。这个数字还不到各国政府每年用于军费开支的1.5%,”克雷默先生说。

国际社会为所有孩子提供教育的努力“不只是好玩的事,而是一种责任,”他补充道。

学校和社会的重建

“在消除贫困和使更多的孩子入学,以及改善健康状况等方面,世界各地的许多国家已经取得了显著进展,”“普及教育”快速通道倡议(FTI)的负责人德斯蒙德.伯明翰(Desmond Bermingham)说,“普及教育”快速通道倡议是发展中国家和捐助者之间为加快实现全球普及小学教育目标的一个全球合作项目。

“但也有相当多的国家经常遭到战争或其他类型的紧急情况的影响,除非我们为这些国家采取一些特殊的办法,否则他们无法实现千年发展目标,”伯明翰先生指出。

教育事业的一些主要捐助者正在解决这一问题。例如,部分由荷兰政府资助的‘重回轨道’倡议是旨在保护紧急情况下儿童受教育权利的一项跨国运动。诸如“快速通道倡议”等其他项目也是基于对紧急情况下教育问题的认识而成立的,同时紧急情况发生后的应对处理也是一个迫切需要的领域。

“这一挑战有助于那些国家的冲突后重建,并为他们提供他们所需要的、快速和有效的支持,”伯明翰先生说。

经费问题的讨论

鉴于内战、贫困以及恶劣的医疗条件,捐助者如何通过教育帮助非洲最贫穷的国家与贫困作斗争?国际社会如何对这些教育体系给于支持和改变?女学生们面对的特殊障碍是什么?

点击播放 (Real player) 收听联合国儿童基金会广播电台的播客节目,这一辑讨论紧急情况下的教育经费问题,嘉宾包括:

德斯蒙德.伯明翰
“普及教育”快速通道倡议秘书处负责人

卡多.迪奥博士
非洲女教育家论坛执行主任

彼得.克雷默
汉堡促进民主及国际法协会主席、“为了非洲的学校”运动创办人


 

 

音频(英文)

播客第10辑 本辑播客由艾米.科斯特洛主持,嘉宾有“普及教育”快速通道倡议秘书处负责人德斯蒙德.伯明翰、非洲女教育家论坛执行主任卡多.迪奥和汉堡促进民主及国际法协会主席彼得.克雷默的讨论。
音频 播放

搜索

Basic education and gender equality

‘Beyond School Books’ – a podcast series on education in emergencies

Podcast #10: Financing education in emergencies

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ07-2225/Pirozzi
Two girls choose crayons from a large bowl in a kindergarten class at St. Teresa Catholic School in the Mamba Point neighbourhood of Liberia’s capital, Monrovia.

By Gabrielle Galanek

NEW YORK, USA, 28 October 2008 – High-level talks about progress towards the Millennium Development Goals took place last month during the United Nations General Assembly. Special attention was paid to commitments and progress in some of the poorest African nations, particularly in the area of education.

“We have made a lot of progress, but the problem is much more complex than just access,” said Dr. Codou Diaw, Executive Director of the Forum for African Women Educationalists, citing low attendance rates in secondary schools across Africa. “We need to pay attention to both access and what makes learning happen.”

German philanthropist and co-founder of the ‘Schools for Africa’ campaign Peter Kramer remarked that education is also a critical issue for the private sector.

“The second Millennium Development Goal [on universal primary education] is the most important and most influential, and it costs just 15 billion US dollars to bring each child in the world to school. This is less than 1.5 per cent of what all governments are spending for military purposes each year,” said Mr. Kramer.

The international community’s effort to bring education to all children is “not a pleasure, it is a duty,” he added.

Rebuilding schools and societies

“Many countries around the world have made remarkable progress, both in terms of eliminating poverty and getting more children into school and improving health outcomes,” said Desmond Bermingham, who heads the ‘Education for All’ Fast Track Initiative (FTI), a global partnership between developing countries and donors to accelerate progress towards the goal of universal primary education.

“But there are significant numbers of countries, often affected by war or other kinds of emergencies, which – unless we do something different for them – are not going to stand a chance of reaching the MDGs,” Mr. Bermingham noted.

Major donors to education initiatives are addressing this problem. For example, the ‘Back on Track’ initiative, partially funded by the Dutch Government, is a multi-national campaign designed to protect children’s right to education in emergencies. Other programmes, such as FTI, are also based on an awareness that education in emergency and post-emergency situations is an area of critical need.

“The challenge is helping those countries rebuild after conflict and providing them with the kind of support they need, quickly and effectively,” said Mr. Bermingham.

Discussion on financing

In the context of civil war, poverty and poor health conditions, how are donors helping the poorest nations in Africa fight poverty through education? How is the international community helping to support and transform these education systems? What are the particular obstacles that female students face?

Click here (Real player) to listen to a UNICEF Radio podcast discussion on financing education in emergencies, featuring these guests:

Desmond Bermingham, Head of the ‘Education for All’ Fast Track Initiative Secretariat; Dr. Codou Diaw, Executive Director of the Forum for African Women Educationalists; and Peter Kramer, Chairman of the Hamburg Society for the promotion of Democracy and International Law, and co-founder of the ‘Schools for Africa’ campaign.

 


 

 

Audio

Podcast #10: Financing education in emergencies. Moderator Amy Costello hosts a discussion with Desmond Bermingham, Dr. Codou Diaw and Peter Kramer.
AUDIO listen

New enhanced search