基础教育与两性平等

重返校园运动

© UNICEF/HQ06-0876/Furrer
苏丹南部一所小学的孩子们拿到了新的课本和铅笔。

对冲突国家的儿童来说,重新回到校园代表着完全不同的意思:即恢复正常、回到安全的环境、有未来的可能性。

在联合国儿童基金会,我们认为,教育对国家在一场危机后回到正常轨道上来说是至关重要的。教育除了是一项基本人权外,还是恢复和重建的一个基本工具。

在遭受灾害时,我们把重点放在尽快重新建立学习空间和让儿童上学。与此同时,我们致力重建教育体系和招聘合格的教师和辅助专职人员。

“重新回到校园”是我们实现这些目标的主要战略之一。这些活动大幅度的宣传和交流的努力旨在调动政府、社区、捐助者和伙伴组织参与。必要时,我们建立临时学习场所和分发事先包装好的学习用品袋,如“箱中学校”用品袋和其他幼儿发展和娱乐资源。

除了着手启动教育,返校运动还作为调动资源和引进创新、改善长期学习环境质量的机会。通过促进稳定和基于权利的学习方法,这些努力还帮助巩固国家的社会结构。

近年来,这些运动在一些国家已得到实施并取得了巨大成功,包括索马里、利比里亚和乌干达。

索马里针对家庭和社区以及区域和国家决策者,于2005年推出“重新回到校园”运动。其他部分的活动包括进行教师培训和为难以接触到的儿童开发初等教育替代方案。

2003年和2004年,利比里亚的“重新回到校园”运动为2,984所学校提供了教材,并为13,000 名教师进行了短期进修培训。这一举措使800,000 名儿童重返校园。

近年来,“上学,返校,留校”的多阶段倡议宣传活动已经在乌干达等国实施,目的是推动重建可持续教育体系。

危机可能使教育在已经受到创伤的社会中戛然而止,剥夺儿童学习的基本权利,产生混乱的气氛。通过动员社区和调动资源,“重新回到校园”运动帮助教育重新强力启动,帮助社会恢复,使儿童回到有着更加和平和繁荣未来的道路上。


 

 

 

 友好打印

搜索

Basic education and gender equality

Back to School Campaigns

© UNICEF/HQ06-0876/Furrer
Children stand outdoors with new exercise books and pencils after a distribution of school supplies at Comboni Primary School in Rumbek, Southern Sudan.

For most children, ‘back to school’ means that summer vacation is over. But for children in countries ravaged by natural disaster and armed conflict, ‘back to school’ represents something else entirely: a return to normalcy, a safe environment, the possibility of a future.

At UNICEF, we believe that education is critical to getting countries back on track after a crisis. In addition to being a basic human right, education is a fundamental tool for recovery and rebuilding.

In times of disaster, we focus on quickly re-establishing spaces for learning and getting children into school. At the same time, we work to rebuild educational systems and recruit qualified teachers and paraprofessionals.

Back-to-school campaigns are one of our key strategies for accomplishing these goals. These campaigns are intensive advocacy and communication efforts aimed at mobilizing governments, communities, donors and partner organizations. When necessary, we create temporary learning spaces and distribute pre-packaged kits such as ‘school-in-a-box’ kits and other early childhood development and recreation resources.

In addition to jumpstarting education, back-to-school campaigns serve as opportunities to mobilize resources and introduce innovations that will improve the quality of the learning environment over the long term. By promoting stability and rights-based learning, they help strengthen countries’ social fabrics.

In recent years, these campaigns have been implemented with great success in countries including Somalia, Liberia and Uganda.

In Somalia, back-to-school campaigns launched in 2005 targeted households and communities as well as regional and national policymakers. Other components of the campaign included teacher training and the development of alternative primary education programmes for hard-to-reach children.

In 2003 and 2004, the back-to-school campaign in Liberia provided school materials to 2,984 schools and gave short refresher training for 13,000 teachers. This initiative enabled 800,000 children to return to school.

In recent years, multi-phase initiatives – 'Go to School, Back to School, Stay in School' advocacy campaigns – have been implemented in countries such as Uganda with the aim of catalyzing the reconstruction of sustainable education systems.

Crises can bring education to a screeching halt, depriving children of their fundamental right to learn and contributing to an atmosphere of chaos in already traumatized societies. By mobilizing communities and galvanizing resources, back-to-school campaigns help jumpstart education. In the process, they help heal societies, putting them back on the road to more peaceful and prosperous futures.


 

 

 
New enhanced search