基础教育与两性平等

学习用品包

© UNICEF/HQ06-0404/Pirozzi
在津巴布韦东部一所由联合国儿童基金会资助的小学里,一位老师正在指导学生做功课。

在世界各地,贫穷、性别差异和文盲困扰着全世界的儿童。但是这些危害没有任何地方比西非和中非更糟——那里的失学儿童比例是世界上最高的。

联合国儿童基金会与联合国教科文组织认识到这些地区增加基础教育入学率的迫切需要,携手合作开发学习用品包(ELP),这是为了使得到基础教育的儿童人数产生一个质的飞跃的战略,并确保女童有平等的机会学习。从本质上说,学习用品包有助于在最迫切需要的时候使基础教育到位。

联合国儿童基金会呼吁专家在紧急情况后社会最脆弱的第一时间内为教育创造空间。利用该机构在很短的时间内成功分配必须的教育用品和提供服务,无论是在发生自然灾害或武装冲突的情况下,学习用品包的目的是要在那些有太多儿童被剥夺学习的基本人权的国家中建立基本教育。从这个意义上讲,学习用品包是实现国家教育目标的一个基础和跳板。

除评估各国对基本教育基础设施、用品和服务的需求外,学习用品包还有助于开发深入到各社区和乡村各级的宣传活动、监测和评价制度,并改善国家数据收集系统。采纳学习用品包的各政府部门与外部机构合作利用现有的国家制度和手段开展基本教育,而不是建立新的或平行的体系。

通过动员各国政府和发展伙伴关系,以更好地提供教育的数量和质量,学习用品包在国家一级起到了催化剂的作用。通过加强沟通,改变家长对教育的理解和方式,学习用品包影响到社会的最底层。并通过改善家庭支付直接和间接学习相关费用的能力,学习用品包可提高国家的经济水平。

2003年,布基纳法索成为第一个实施学习用品包的国家。随之有更多的国家采纳,包括贝宁、乍得、刚果民主共和国、冈比亚、几内亚、马里、毛里塔尼亚、尼日尔、尼日利亚、塞内加尔和塞拉利昂。这些国家都取得了重大进展;每个国家都将学习用品包纳入其教育部门的计划,作为加速教育的催化剂。

无论是在贝宁或波士顿,学生都需要笔记本、铅笔和课本。教师都需要黑板和安排课程。社区也需要一个支持儿童学习的框架。当然,理想的购物清单是:笔记本电脑、投影仪、和空调。联合国儿童基金会最大的期望是每一个儿童在最舒适、具有技术设备的环境中学习,但首先,本机构一直致力于在最需要的情况下提供必需的学习用品。

我们还致力于让每一个儿童,无论男女,都有学习的机会,尤其是为儿童光明和成功的未来提供优质教育,使他们从贫困的桎梏中解放出来。


 

 

 

 友好打印

搜索

Basic education and gender equality

Essential Learning Package

© UNICEF/HQ06-0404/Pirozzi
A teacher helps two students with their lesson at the UNICEF-supported primary school in rural Murambinda Growth Point in the eastern Manicaland Province, Zimbabwe

Across the globe, poverty, gender disparity and illiteracy plague the world’s children. Nowhere are these scourges worse, though, than in West and Central Africa, the region with the highest percentage of out-of-school children in the world.

Recognizing the urgent need to increase basic education achievement rates in this part of the globe, UNICEF partnered with UNESCO to create the Essential Learning Package (ELP), a strategy designed to produce a quantum leap in the number of children accessing basic education, and to ensure that girls have equal access to learning. In essence, ELP helps put the basics of learning in place, precisely where they’re most urgently needed.

In designing ELP, UNICEF called on its expertise in creating spaces for education in the immediate aftermath of emergencies, when societies are most fragile. Capitalizing on the agency’s success in distributing essential educational supplies and services in a short time frame – whether in the wake of natural disasters or armed conflict – ELP was designed to establish the nuts and bolts of education in countries where too many children are deprived of their basic human right to learn. In that sense, ELP is both a foundation and a springboard for achieving national educational goals.

In addition to assessing countries’ needs for basic educational infrastructure, supplies and services, ELP helps create advocacy campaigns, monitoring and evaluation systems reaching down to community and village levels, and improved national data collection systems. Governments that adopt ELP partner with external agencies to use existing national systems and instruments, rather than creating new or parallel ones.

By mobilizing Governments and developing partnerships to improve the availability of education in quantity and quality, ELP acts as a catalyst at the national level.  By strengthening communication to change parents’ outlooks and behaviour towards education, ELP affects societies at the grassroots level. And by improving families’ abilities to pay for the direct and indirect costs of school, ELP bolsters countries at the economic level.

In 2003, Burkina Faso became the first country to implement ELP. More countries have followed, including Benin, Chad, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, the Gambia, Guinea, Mali, Mauritania, the Niger, Nigeria, Senegal and Sierra Leone. These countries have made significant progress; each is integrating ELP into its education sector plans as a catalyst for acceleration.

Whether in Benin or Boston, students need notebooks, pencils and textbooks.  Teachers need blackboards and a curriculum. And communities need a framework that supports their children’s learning. There are, of course, ideal shopping lists: laptops, overhead projectors, air conditioning. UNICEF would love for every child to learn in the most comfortable, technologically-equipped environment available – but first, the agency is committed to providing essentials where they are urgently lacking.

It is committed to giving every child, male or female, access to learning, especially to quality education that prepares children for bright and successful futures, free from the cruel shackles of poverty.


 

 

 
New enhanced search