基础教育与两性平等

紧急情况和冲突后教育

© UNICEF/KP03-005/Kent Page
利比亚:孩子们用学习用品箱里的工具在学习数学。

2004年,印度洋发生了一系列强烈的海啸,使沿海11个国家受到冲击并随后造成了巨大破坏。近25万人丧生,其中超过三分之一是儿童,并使170万人流离失所。灾难造成的破坏规模几乎不可想象。

联合国儿童基金会立即进入了救灾行动,与当地政府和其他合作伙伴携手,提供紧急救援物资和医疗保健。我们还为该地区受到影响的儿童心理和情绪康复带去了生活储备物质。康乐及“箱中学校”用品袋的目的是重新建立正常状况并使儿童能在混乱的状况中平静下来。

当眼前的危机过后,联合国儿童基金会的工作包括发展规划和支持长期恢复。其中主要的努力是建立更好和更安全的学校。

无论是如海啸般的自然灾害,还是如达尔富尔的人为纷争,我们在每一个危机中的第一优先,始终是关心那些正在遭受苦难的儿童的迫切需要。我们还相信,应将这些破坏和创伤变为催化剂,建设一个更美好光明的未来。

在联合国儿童基金会,我们并不仅满足于重建,我们需要更新社会,并注入新的活力和振兴。我们知道,完成这些任务的一个基本方法就是教育。

教育本身不仅是目的,它还是一个持续解决问题的方法。提供教育是使国家重新回到发展道路的第一步,是可以帮助即使是遭到最严重创伤的社会恢复的一步。教育机构是社会知识、价值观和传统的一个贮存库,它使人民在为改善国家的未来携手努力时团结在一起。

当学校得到重建和改进后,可以成为保护、照顾和提供支援服务的中心,包括安全饮用水和卫生设施、营养、保健和娱乐。学校为社会重新找回自身和处理灾害形成的主要原因,如从施工失误和地震区缺乏准备到不可估量的天灾人祸,提供了一个机会。

联合国儿童基金会具有迅速和有效应对紧急情况的长期经验,尤其是在重新建立学习空间方面。我们教育方针的基础与儿童的权利密切相关,而在危机期间及之后儿童的权利受到了最大危胁。

经验表明受到冲突影响的国家可能需要长达20年的时间才能从最初的人道主义救济阶段转入重建和发展。如果教育从一开始就不属优先的话,希望早日和可持续恢复的可能性也会大大降低。

危机后的过渡阶段迫切需要提高国家的能力,以开发新的和更好的教育体系。一次又一次,通过帮助今天受到创伤的幸存者成为明天的坚强和有能力的领导者,这项投资产生了显著的收益。


 

 

 

 友好打印

BACK ON TRACK THROUGH EDUCATION

搜索

Basic education and gender equality

Emergencies and Post-Crisis Education

© UNICEF/KP03-005/Kent Page
LIBERIA: Children learn maths using the contents of a school-in-a-box. The kit is a ready-made educational solution, packed in an aluminium box that can be used as a blackboard.

In 2004, a series of powerful tsunamis tore across the Indian Ocean, slamming into the coasts of 11 countries and leaving devastation in their wake. Nearly a quarter of a million people were killed, more than one third of them children, and 1.7 million were displaced. The scale of destruction was nearly incomprehensible.

UNICEF immediately jumped into action, working with governmental and other partners to provide emergency supplies and medical care. We also brought provisions for the psychological and emotional rehabilitation of the region’s children. Recreation and school-in-a-box kits aimed to re-establish normalcy and calm amid the chaos.

After the immediate crisis, UNICEF‘s work evolved to planning and supporting long-term restoration. Chief among these efforts was building better and stronger schools.

Our first priority in every crisis – whether a natural disaster such as the tsunami or human-made strife as in Darfur – is always the immediate needs of those who are suffering. We also believe in building back better, turning destruction and trauma into catalysts for a brighter future.

At UNICEF, we aren’t content with simply rebuilding – we want to renew, reinvigorate and revitalize. And we know that a fundamental way to accomplish this is through education.

Education is not only an end in itself, it is part of an ongoing solution. Providing education is a first step in getting countries back on the path to development, a step that can help restore even the most wounded societies. Educational institutions are a repository of a society’s knowledge, values and traditions, which serve to bind people together as they work to improve their country’s future.

As schools are rebuilt and improved, they can become hubs for protective, care and support services, including safe water and sanitation, nutrition, health and recreation. And they provide an opportunity for a society to rediscover itself, to address factors that contributed to disaster in the first place – from faulty construction and lack of preparedness in an earthquake zone to the destructive forces of inequality and discrimination that can precipitate conflict.

UNICEF has a long track record of quick and effective response to emergencies, particularly in re-establishing spaces for learning. Our approach to education is grounded in the rights of the child, which are most at risk during crises and their aftermath.

Experience shows it can take as long as two decades for a conflict-affected country to move through the initial humanitarian relief phase into reconstruction and development. If education is not a priority from the beginning, the chances for an early and sustainable recovery are greatly reduced.

A critical need in post-crisis transitions is building countries’ capacities to develop new and better education systems. Time after time, this investment yields significant dividends by helping today’s traumatized survivors become tomorrow’s strong and capable leaders.


 

 

 
New enhanced search