基础教育与两性平等

全民教育

© UNICEF/HQ04-0361/Furrer

教育是一项基本人权。与所有人权一样,是普遍的,不可分割的——每一个人,不论性别、宗教、种族或经济地位,都享有这个权利。

然而,在2006年,约9,300万名儿童没有上学,这超过了菲律宾的人口总数。这些儿童中几乎80%生活在撒哈拉以南非洲地区和南亚。对太多的儿童来说,享受教育的基本人权只是一个梦想,一个还没有成为现实的想法。

1990年,国际社会在泰国宗滴恩召开“世界全民教育会议”,并确认对实现普及教育的承诺。作为全民教育(EFA)倡议的部分成果,一个由政府、非政府组织和发展机构组成的广泛联盟落实了对以下六个目标的承诺,旨在为“每个社会中的每个公民”提供受教育的机会:

  • 扩大和改善幼儿保育和教育,特别是那些最易受到伤害的儿童
  • 到2015年,确保所有儿童特别是女童和弱势儿童可获得优质的免费和义务初等教育
  • 到2005年在初等和中等教育系统消除性别差异,到2015年实现性别平等教育
  • 通过平等进入适当的学习和生活技能方案学习,确保满足所有青年人和成年人的学习需求
  • 到2015年使成人特别是妇女的识字率提高百分之五十,并为所有成年人提供公平获得基础教育和进修教育的机会
  • 改进各方面的教育质量及确保优异成果。

这些目标显示,仅仅提供受教育的机会是不够的,教育质量和时间长短也同样重要。在许多发展中国家,只有不到百分之六十的小学生从一年级一直读到毕业。儿童不仅要报名上学,他们还必须完成学业。在课堂上,人权的价值观和原则必须成为指导思想。

全民教育议程设想,在合适的政治意愿和资源条件下,公共政策可以从根本上改变教育系统及其与社会的关系,同时国家政策和执行情况必须强调包容性、识字率、质量和能力的发展。

2000年,由于远未达到既定目标,164个国家参加了在塞内加尔达喀尔举行的“世界教育论坛”,通过了《达喀尔行动框架》,重申了全民教育的目标是在2015年之前为所有人民,特别是女童教育,而实现优质基础教育。当年晚些时候,为实现普及初等教育、促进两性平等和赋予妇女权力,两个全民教育的目标被纳入了千年发展目标(MDG)之中。
 
事实上,为实现所有千年发展目标,全民教育目标是关键。教育可以增进健康、提高环境的可持续性和帮助消除贫困和饥饿。反过来,实现千年发展目标将有助于儿童获得和受益于优质教育。

联合国儿童基金会作为五个全民教育的召集机构之一,是对全民教育的一个主要贡献机构,并负责在紧急情况下提供教育、幼儿保育、技术和政策支持。

实现全民教育,需要一个真正的全球承诺。各国政府、民间社会、发展机构和媒体必须共同努力,帮助世界上每一个国家的每一位儿童,实现他或她获得优质教育的不可剥夺的权利。


 

 

 

 友好打印

搜索

Basic education and gender equality

Education for All

© UNICEF/HQ04-0361/Furrer

Education is a basic human right. Like all human rights, it is universal and inalienable—everyone, regardless of gender, religion, ethnicity or economic status, is entitled to it.

Yet in 2006, 93 million children—more than the total population of the Phillippines—were not in school. Almost 80 percent of these children lived in sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia. For too many children, the basic human right to education is a pipe dream, an idea that has not become reality.

In 1990, the international community gathered in Jomtien, Thailand, to affirm its commitment to achieving universal education at the World Conference on Education for All. As part of the resulting EFA (Education for All) initiative, a broad coalition of governments, NGOs and development agencies committed themselves to six goals aimed at providing education to “every citizen in every society”:

  • Expanding and improving early childhood care and education, especially for the most vulnerable children;
  • Ensuring that by 2015, all children, particularly girls and the disadvantaged, have access to quality free and compulsory primary  education; 
  • Eliminating gender disparities in primary and secondary education by 2005, and achieving gender equality in education by 2015; 
  • Ensuring that the learning needs of all young people and adults are met through equitable access to appropriate learning and life skills  programmes; 
  • Achieving a 50 percent improvement in levels of adult literacy by 2015, especially for women, and offering equitable access to basic and continuing education to all adults;
  • Improving all aspects of the quality of education and ensuring excellence.

Underlying these goals is the realization that mere access to education is not sufficient—the quality and duration of education is equally important. In many developing countries, less than 60 percent of primary school pupils who enroll in first grade reach the last grade of schooling. Children must not only enroll in school; they must complete it. And human rights values and principles must be the guiding force in the classroom.

The EFA agenda assumes that public policy can radically transform education systems and their relation to society given adequate political will and resources, and that national policies and implementation must emphasize inclusion, literacy, quality and capacity development.

In 2000, with targets far from being met, 164 countries attending the World Education Forum in Dakar, Senegal, adopted the Dakar Framework for Action, which reaffirmed the EFA goal of achieving quality basic education for all by 2015, with particular emphasis on girls' education. Later that year, two EFA goals were incorporated in the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) for achieving universal primary education, promoting gender equality and empowering women.
 
Indeed, EFA goals are critical to attaining all the MDGs. Education can improve health, increase environmental sustainability and help eradicate poverty and hunger. In turn, achieving the MDGs will help children access and benefit from quality education.

As one of the five EFA conveners, UNICEF is a key contributor to EFA, responsible for education in emergencies, early childhood care and technical and policy support.

Achieving Education for All will require a truly global commitment. Governments, civil society, development agencies and the media must work together to help every child, in every country in the world, realize his or her inalienable right to a quality education.

 


 

 

 
New enhanced search