基础教育与两性平等

教育和两性平等的合作伙伴关系

© UNICEF/2007/Markisz
广播节目主持人凯蒂.库里克主持在联合国举办的“女孩说出来”座谈会。

实现普及教育这一目标,需要一个普遍的承诺。如果要让地球上所有的孩子,包括最脆弱的、受排斥和被边缘化的所有孩子都实现得到优质和基于权利教育的权利的话,那么社会各阶层必须充满活力地积极参与,并承诺采取行动。

从成为孤儿的儿童,受到自然灾害和武装冲突严重影响的儿童,到那些因父母贫困而不得不充当辛苦劳力的儿童和那些生活在边远地区不能步行到任何学校上学的儿童,有数以百万计的年轻人没有接受教育的机会。在这个世界里出生的女性往往是生活中受歧视、不平等和错过各种机会的同义词,女童面临着严峻的挑战,更需要我们的资源和关注。

纠正这些错误,需要从家长、教师和当地学校董事会到地区和国家当局、决策者、投资者、非政府组织和民间社会组织、国际机构和捐助国政府,等广泛的利益相关者的承诺和参与。

有四个全球合作机构处于国际努力的核心,以加速教育进展,帮助这些国家实现性别平等。这些合作机构是:“全民教育全球行动计划”,“全民教育快速道行动倡议”,“联合国女童教育倡议”和“机构间常设委员会集群应急教育”。

由联合国教科文组织领导,是改善国际和国家一级全民教育(EFA)协调的一种战略,其目的是到2015年满足所有儿童、青年和成年人的学习需要。通过工作明确五个国际机构在全球全民教育运动中的角色(联合国教科文组织、联合国开发计划署、联合国人口基金、联合国儿童基金会和世界银行),并确定其全球一级的协调联合行动。最终,旨在提高国家一级脚踏实地的针对性行动。

由世界银行发起的“全民教育快速道行动”,是发达国家和发展中国家间的一个全球性的合作伙伴关系,以促进到2015年的免费、普及基础教育。该倡议要求,确保没有一个国家因缺乏资源或技术能力而无法满足其对教育的承诺这一目标。除了筹集资金外,该倡议支持设计综合的全部门教育计划和填补空白政策、师资和数据。

由联合国儿童基金会领导的“联合国女童教育倡议(UNGEI)”,是一种组织间的合作伙伴关系,致力于在小学和中学教育中缩小性别差距。联合国女童教育倡议提供宣传和设计技术支持,资金筹措和落实国家教育计划。它为包括联合国系统各机构、各国政府、捐助国、非政府组织、民间社会、私营部门、社区和家庭的利益相关者提供了一个行动平台并激励其让女童上学的努力。

“机构间常设委员会集群应急教育”是联合国改革努力的更大部分,旨在提高人道主义救济的有效性。联合国儿童基金会和拯救儿童联盟是合作伙伴关系的领导机构,其在国家一级的任务是明确,在具体的危机情况下恢复教学过程中,联合国及非联合国合作伙伴的角色、责任和问责制。它还要求,在危机后的过渡阶段以更好地协调努力重建教育系统。

实现全民教育和两性平等将需要一个真正的全球承诺。各国政府、民间团体、机构和其他主要利益相关者必须共同努力,来帮助世界上每一个国家的每一位儿童,实现他或她获得优质教育的不可剥夺的权利。


 

 

 

 友好打印

搜索

Basic education and gender equality

Partnership for Education and Gender Equality

© UNICEF/2007/Markisz
Broadcast news presenter Katie Couric moderates questions to the panel at the UN ‘Girls Speak Out’ event.

Achieving the goal of universal education will require a universal commitment. If all the children on earth – including the most vulnerable, excluded and marginalized – are to realize their right to a quality, rights-based education, all sectors of society must be energized, engaged, and committed to action.

From children left orphaned and traumatized as a result of natural disasters and armed conflict, to those consigned to a life of backbreaking labor by the poverty of their parents and those simply living in areas too remote to walk to any school, millions of young people do not have access to education. And in a world where being born female is too often synonymous with a life of discrimination, inequality and missed opportunities, girls face daunting challenges that require even more of our resources and attention.

Righting these wrongs will require the commitment and engagement of a broad range of stakeholders, from parents, teachers and local school boards to district and national authorities, policymakers, investors, non-governmental and civil-society organizations, international institutions and donor governments.

Four global partnerships are at the core of international efforts to accelerate progress in education and help countries achieve gender equality. These partnerships are the Education for All Global Action Plan, the Education for All-Fast-Track Initiative, the United Nations Girls’ Education Initiative and the Inter-Agency Standing Committee Cluster for Education in Emergencies.

The Education for All Global Action Plan, led by UNESCO, is a strategy to improve international and country-level coordination for Education for All (EFA), which aims to meet the learning needs of all children, youth and adults by 2015. It works to clarify the roles of the five international agencies spearheading the global EFA movement (UNESCO, UNDP, the UNFPA, UNICEF and the World Bank) and define their coordinated, joint action at the global level. Ultimately, it aims to improve targeted action on the ground, at the country level.

The Education for All-Fast-Track Initiative, launched by the World Bank, is a global partnership between developed and developing countries to promote free, universal basic education by 2015. The initiative seeks to ensure that no country that has demonstrated its commitment to education will fail to meet this goal for lack of resources or technical capacity. In addition to mobilizing funds, the initiative supports the design of comprehensive sector-wide education plans and fills gaps in policy, capacity and data.

The United Nations Girls’ Education Initiative (UNGEI), led by UNICEF, is a partnership of organizations committed to closing the gender gap in primary and secondary education. UNGEI provides advocacy and technical support for designing, financing and implementing national education plans. It offers stakeholders – which include UN system agencies, governments, donor countries, non-governmental organizations, civil society, the private sector, communities and families – a platform for action and galvanizes their efforts to get girls into school.

The Inter-Agency Standing Committee Cluster for Education in Emergencies is part of larger UN reform efforts to increase the effectiveness of humanitarian relief. UNICEF and the Save the Children Alliance are lead agencies for the partnership, whose task at the country level is to clarify the roles, responsibilities and accountability of UN and non-UN partners seeking to restore schooling in specific crisis situations. It also seeks to better coordinate efforts to rebuild education systems in post-crisis transitions. 

Achieving universal education and gender equality will require a truly global commitment. Governments, civil society, agencies and other key stakeholders must work together to help every child, in every country in the world, realize his or her inalienable right to a quality education.


 

 

 

Related document

Equity and Inclusion in Education: A guide to support education sector plan preparation, revision and appraisal, April 2010 [PDF]

New enhanced search