基础教育与两性平等

补充学习

© UNICEF/HQ06-0324/Pirozzi
阿富汗奎塔一间儿童友好学校里的女学生。

当学校不只作为一个学习中心时会怎样?如果负责教育我们下一代的学校机构解决了一些社会中最深刻、最紧迫的需求时会怎样?

在了解世界上许多儿童面临的挑战,及他们缺乏的资源后,联合国儿童基金会创立了补充学习方式,作为我们基础教育和两性平等计划的倡议。补充学习提倡儿童友好学校(CFS)应担当远远超出其传统教育的任务:即成为提供广泛基本服务的一站式服务中心。

首先,“补充学习”学校应为儿童供膳,无论是午餐或带回家。当社会发生干旱、粮食匮乏和贫穷危机时,这些方案可帮助缓解难忍的饥饿和营养问题。同样,“补充学习”学校的保健方案,将提供预防接种、微营养素和驱虫治疗,可帮助那些缺少资源的社会缓解疾病和健康问题。

并且“补充学习”学校还可更进一步提供超出食品和保健方面的服务。学校可提供卫生和健康教育方案,传授预防疾病的更好做法。它们还为孤儿和其他弱势儿童提供照顾和支持,尤其为那些遭受武装冲突、艾滋病和严重贫穷的国家的迫切需要提供帮助。

“补充学习”方法是整体和跨部门的;它设想儿童在不饥饿、口渴、生病或害怕时能更好地学习。与此同时,教育本身也有助于营养、疾病预防、卫生设施、卫生和儿童保护方面的发展。通过利用学校的力量进行教育,并作为社区中心,“补充学习”的目的是创建一个动态的、相辅相成的跨部门的及社区内的结构。每个关系中的环节都有助于其他方面的成功,而且最重要的是为儿童的健康和福祉服务。

这种整体、跨部门性质的做法意味着,协作与合作是必不可少的。除了学校的正规教育课程外,确定和提供基本服务,如学校供膳和有关艾滋病预防的教学、供水、环境卫生和个人卫生和保护环境,将为全球、区域和地方的伙伴关系创造巨大的需求。这些合作伙伴关系也可协助进行游说利益相关者和决策者的支持、促进对话、提供服务、并协助宣传工作。

当教育部门面临日益增加的需求,和包括贫困、艾滋病、干旱、 缺乏粮食保障和政治不稳定等多种威胁时,学校面临的挑战是为包括孤儿、女童和残疾人等最易受伤害儿童的需求提供照顾和支持。政府部门希望“补充学习”方法能应对这些挑战。

2005年9月,东非和南非的13个国家(安哥拉、博茨瓦纳、莱索托、马达加斯加、马拉维、莫桑比克、纳米比亚、南非、斯威士兰、乌干达、坦桑尼亚联合共和国、赞比亚和津巴布韦)签署了一份公报,承诺通过“补充学习”办法来加强其教育系统。

通过利用教育固有的权力和最大伙伴关系前景,我们可以帮助提高学校的权力以应对社会中最易受伤害的儿童所面临日益增加的挑战,并为明天打下更好的基础。


 

 

 

 友好打印

搜索

Basic education and gender equality

Learning Plus

© UNICEF/HQ06-0324/Pirozzi
Girls attend class at a ‘child-friendly’ girls’ school on the outskirts of Quetta, capital of the southern province of Balochistan

What if school were more than a center for learning? What if the institutions responsible for educating our children also addressed some of society’s most profound and urgent needs?

Recognizing the challenges facing so many of the world’s children and the lack of resources for them, UNICEF created Learning Plus, an initiative of our Basic Education and Gender Equality program. Learning Plus promotes child-friendly schools (CFS) that go far beyond their traditional mandate for education: They are one-stop centres for a broad range of essential services.

First, Learning Plus schools feed children, whether through lunches or take-home meals. In societies suffering from drought, food scarcity and poverty, these programmes can be the difference between aching hunger and nutrition. Similarly, Learning Plus school health programmes, which provide immunizations, micronutrients and deworming treatments, can be the difference between illness and health in a society with scarce resources.

And Learning Plus schools go even further than food and health care. They offer hygiene and health education programmes that teach better practices for preventing disease. They also provide care and support for orphans and other vulnerable children—an especially urgent need in countries devastated by armed conflict, AIDS and crushing poverty.

The Learning Plus approach is holistic and intersectoral; it assumes that children learn better when they are not hungry, thirsty, sick or scared. At the same time, education itself contributes to progress in nutrition, disease prevention, sanitation, hygiene and child protection. By leveraging the power of schools to educate and act as communal hubs, Learning Plus aims to create a dynamic, mutually reinforcing loop across sectors and within communities. Each element of the relationship contributes to the success of the others—and, most importantly, to children’s health and well-being.

The holistic, intersectoral nature of the approach means that collaboration and cooperation are indispensable. Identifying and delivering essential services such as school feeding and teaching about AIDS prevention, water, sanitation and hygiene and protective environments—in addition to the school’s regular educational curriculum—creates an enormous need for global, regional and local partnerships. These partnerships can also assist in lobbying stakeholders and policymakers for support, facilitating dialogue on service delivery, and contributing to advocacy efforts.

As the education sector faces increasing demands and multiple threats—including poverty, AIDS, drought, food insecurity and political instability—schools are challenged in providing the care and support required by the most vulnerable children, including orphans, girls and the disabled. Governments look to the Learning Plus approach to answer those challenges.

In September 2005, 13 countries in Eastern and Southern Africa (Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe) signed a communiqué committing themselves to strengthening their educational systems through the Learning Plus approach.

By leveraging the inherent power of education and capitalizing on the promise of partnerships, we can help bolster schools’ power to respond to the ever-growing challenges facing society’s most vulnerable children—and strengthen the foundation for tomorrow.


 

 

 
New enhanced search