基础教育与两性平等

早期幼儿发展和入学准备

© UNICEF/HQ06-1348/Versiani
在萨尔瓦多贫民窟的一个日托中心,孩子们在玩耍。

设想一个没有学习环境的幼儿阶段。设想如果学校只是一种奢侈品,而不是一个优先考虑。

对世界上将近一半的儿童,尤其是女童和那些来自边缘的人口来说,早期幼儿教育是无法得到保证的。尽管事实上幼儿教育是我们生活中最重要的发展时期,在此阶段建立认知、情感和社会基础,并在此基础上建立我们的未来。

儿童大脑的发展取决于环境的刺激,特别是儿童得到的护理和互动质量。那些受到拥抱、温柔关爱、安慰和视觉刺激的幼儿有特别的成长优势。受到良好培养和照顾的儿童能更好地充分开发认知、语言、情感和社会技能;更健康成长;并具有较强的自尊。这些每个领域对我们成年后的福祉都很关键;我们在幼儿期的经历对我们成为什么样的人起到至关重要的作用。

事实上,发展中国家的研究将幼儿发展(ECD)方案与小学入学率和提高教育成效挂钩,这些都将影响到之后的就业机会。

当儿童上学年龄推迟,缺乏必要的学习工具,其教育的进展受到影响时,他们更可能辍学,这将使其陷入世代贫困的怪圈。至关重要的是,儿童应在上小学前就做好充分的准备,年龄一到就入学,并得到全面和优质的教育。

此外,社会在儿童一出生起就必须解决性别歧视问题。当他们进入幼儿园时,大多数儿童已适应了社会认可的性别角色和行为模式,这对他们的教育和生活有着巨大的影响。

通过让儿童做好上学的准备,我们为他们提供所需的工具,以建立充实的生活,使其成为对社会有用的公民,并在全球共同体的环境中找到自己的位置。


 

 

 

 友好打印

搜索

Basic education and gender equality

Early Childhood Development and School Readiness

© UNICEF/HQ06-1348/Versiani
Girls and boys play in a daycare centre in Bairro da Paz, a slum area on the outskirts of Salvador, capital of the eastern state of Bahia.

Imagine early childhood without learning. Imagine school as a luxury, not a priority.

For nearly half the world’s children – especially girls and those from marginalized populations – early childhood education is not guaranteed. This despite the fact that early childhood is the most significant period of development in our lives, establishing the cognitive, emotional and social foundation upon which we build our futures.

The development of a child’s brain depends on environmental stimulation, especially on the quality of care and interaction that the child receives. A baby who is hugged, cooed to, comforted and visually stimulated has an essential advantage.  Children who are nurtured and well cared for are more likely to fully develop cognitive, language, emotional and social skills; to grow up healthier; and to have higher self-esteem. Each one of these areas is crucial to our well-being as adults; our experiences in early childhood truly shape who we ultimately become.

Indeed, studies in developing countries link early childhood development (ECD)  programmes to higher levels of primary school enrolment and educational performance, which later affect opportunities for employment.

When children start school late and lack the necessary tools for learning, their educational progress suffers and they are more likely to drop out, contributing to the intergenerational cycle of poverty. It is crucial that children be adequately prepared for primary school, begin school on time and receive a comprehensive, high-quality education.

In addition, societies must address gender discrimination from birth. By the time they enter preschool, most children have adopted socially-accepted gender roles and models of behaviour, which have an enormous impact on their education and their lives.

By getting children ready for school, we arm them with the tools necessary to build fulfilling lives, become productive citizens and take their place in the global community.


 

 

 
New enhanced search