和平教育

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ92-0617/ I DREAM OF PEACE
和平,我的梦想。前南斯拉夫国家儿童的作品和绘画集。

联合国儿童基金会开展的和平教育活动是在千年发展目标和《儿童权利公约》中提出的人权原则的指导下进行的,即儿童最大利益原则、无歧视原则、儿童拥有参与权和话语权等原则。这些原则体现了我们致力于维护世界和平,通过加大对儿童的投入来消除贫困,通过关心最弱势儿童、最边缘化儿童以及权利被剥夺最严重的儿童来消除不平等现象。

联合国儿童基金会把和平教育定义为:“获得行为改变所需知识、技能、态度和价值的过程,使儿童、青少年和成年人防止外显及结构性冲突和暴力;和平解决冲突;在人与人之间、团体之间、国家或国际间创造有利于和平的环境。”

这一做法符合全民教育达喀尔行动纲领,呼吁推广教育,帮助儿童和青少年掌握必要的技能,防止冲突的发生或通过和平手段解决冲突,并使儿童和青年培养社会价值观和道德观。

联合国儿童基金会开展的和平教育活动是确保让所有儿童享有优质基础教育的全面计划中的一个重要组成部分。

和平教育能够帮助建立优质的爱生学习环境,尊重儿童权利,尊重性别差异,确保儿童的健康和安全,保护儿童,成功地帮助儿童进行学习。具有和平意识的优质教育培养出的学生,不仅能够识字和进行计算,还掌握重要的生活技能,例如:批判性思维的能力、决策能力、沟通能力、谈判能力、解决冲突的能力、处理问题的能力、在特定的环境下进行自我管理的能力。这些能力还可用于:维护和平、防止暴力、卫生及环境卫生、健康和营养习惯、预防艾滋病和环境保护等。

体现和平意识的优质教育使儿童和青少年获得参与到当地或者全球范围内的各种活动中的能力,促成建设性变化的发生。

联合国儿童基金会认为:和平教育不仅对处于武装冲突之中或面临紧急情况的国家必要,对所有社会都是必要的。鉴于儿童和成年人实现持久的行为变化需要一定的时间,因此,有效的和平教育必须是一个长期过程,并非短期的行动干预。和平教育往往以学校和其他学习场所为基地,但最好鼓励整个社区的参与。

和平教育的活动范例:

1、在国家层面上支持和平教育和解决冲突活动。20多个国家正在开展该项活动,活动针对正规以及非正规教育机构。活动包括多种形式,例如:寓教于乐的机会、伙伴之间为解决冲突而进行斡旋、和平共处的行动、利用戏剧和其他艺术表演方式提高儿童对于相关问题的认识、开展爱生学校或者社区活动、增强青年民主领导人的能力、培训儿童广播员、对家长进行调解冲突和不使用暴力的教育。

2、支持开发适合本国使用的关于和平教育和解决冲突教育的教学材料、课程及教师手册。利用这些材料帮助孩子们掌握解决问题、谈判、逻辑思维和沟通的技能,使孩子们能够化解冲突,而不是诉诸武力。

3、体育运动促进发展。联合国建立了机构间体育运动促进发展及和平工作组,建议将体育运动作为发展与和平项目中的有力工具;以体育运动形式进行的沟通活动应着眼于目标明确的宣传及社会动员,尤其在国家和地区层面上。联合国儿童基金会正通过和多项国际体育赛事合作,倡导女童教育,并传递出期望和平与解决冲突的信息。

4、和平与裁军教育。科索沃、索马里、南部苏丹和塔吉克斯坦已经实施了多国联合项目“让儿童和青年放下武器:提高对小型武器的认识并消除相关影响”。这一项目旨在改变儿童及其家人和邻居的态度和行为,呼吁反对使用小型武器。这一战略旨在培养儿童解决冲突的能力,让青年了解其他行为方式,通过让青年人参与社区及国家的创建和平的活动,促使公共政策发生改变。

5、以和平教育和保护南部苏丹环境为目的的生活技能教育(苏丹生命线组织)和以和平教育和环境为目的的生活技能教育模式正在开发过程中。该模式提供的信息和安排的活动将帮助教师和学生掌握必要的知识、态度和技能,以确保在地雷地区的安全,并帮助解决冲突、创建和平以及促进人权。以生活技能为基础的教育项目不仅提供相关课程,也利用各种手段实现优质教育。

在南部苏丹的很多地区,在最近两代儿童的记忆里,只有战争和战争所带来的伤痛。教师们需要做好准备迎接有着各种生活经历的学习者。这些学习者包括学生、超学龄的青年、妇女团体、社区团体和当地政府的工作人员。教师们都接受了参与式教学方法的培训。提供教育、保健、洁净的饮用水和卫生厕所等综合服务的社区中心作为能够尊重性别差异和提供保护的学习环境,并可以让孩子们在这里实践他们所学到的生活技能知识。

6、开发有关地雷和小型武器的宣传工具包。该工具包旨在为联合国儿童基金会的工作人员提供相关资料,以便能够开展关于上述问题的宣传。开发一本题为“禁止地雷条约的儿童权利指南”的小册子,帮助儿童了解地雷的危害,并为孩子们解释《儿童权利公约》与《禁止使用、储存、生产、转让针对人员的地雷及其危害公约》之间的关系。

7、通过新技术的使用推动具有和平意识的优质教育。联合国儿童基金会启动了“青年之声”项目,这一网络项目主要针对与青少年发展和参与相关的问题。这一在线项目使得儿童和青年有机会了解全球性问题,特别是了解这些问题如何影响全世界的青少年交流看法以及他们如何看待在社区所能够采取的行动。


 

 

Español Français

和平教育项目

安哥拉
波斯尼亚和黑塞哥维那
布隆迪
哥伦比亚
科特迪瓦
东帝汶
萨尔瓦多
危地马拉
圭亚那
印度尼西亚
科索沃
利比亚
马其顿
苏丹生命线组织
巴基斯坦
卢旺达
塞拉利昂
苏丹
塔吉克斯坦
南斯拉夫

Peace education

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ92-0617/ I DREAM OF PEACE
I dream of peace, a collection of writings and drawings by children from former Yugoslavia.
Peace education-related activities in UNICEF are guided by the Millennium Development Goals and by human rights principles such as those from the Convention on the Rights of the Child, namely the best interests of the child, non-discrimination and the right of the child to participate and be listened to. These principles imply a commitment to peace building, to poverty reduction through investment in children, and to disparity reduction through emphasis on reaching the most vulnerable, the most marginalized and the most deprived children.

In UNICEF, peace education is defined as “the process of promoting the knowledge, skills, attitudes and values needed to bring about behaviour change that will enable children, youth and adults to prevent conflict and violence, both overt and structural; to resolve conflict peacefully; and to create the conditions conducive to peace, whether at an interpersonal, intergroup, national or international level".

This approach is in line with the Education for All (EFA) Dakar Framework of Action which calls for the promotion of an education that helps children and young people to acquire skills such as the prevention and peaceful resolution of conflict as well as social and ethical values.

UNICEF’s peace education-related activities form an integral part of a comprehensive approach to fulfilling the right to quality education for all children.

Peace education is helping to establish quality child-friendly learning environments that are rights-based, gender-sensitive, healthy and safe for children, protective of them and successful in helping them to learn. From peace-minded quality education come learners who have acquired literacy, numeracy, and important life skills such as critical thinking, decision-making, communication, negotiation, conflict resolution, coping, and self-management which can be applied to specific contexts including peace building, violence prevention, hygiene and sanitation, health and nutrition practices, HIV/AIDS prevention, and environmental protection.

Through peace-minded quality education, children and young people are empowered to participate in bringing about constructive change, both locally and globally.

It is UNICEF’s position that peace education has a place in all societies — not only in countries undergoing armed conflict or emergencies. Because lasting behaviour change in children and adults only occurs over time, effective peace education is necessarily a long-term process, not a short-term intervention. While often based in schools and other learning environments, peace education should ideally involve the entire community.

Examples of Peace Education-supported activities:

1. Supporting Peace Education and Education for Conflict Resolution Initiatives at country level. Initiatives are being implemented in more than 20 countries and target formal as well as informal education.  They cover a wide range of activities, including learning-through-playing opportunities, peer mediation for conflict resolution, campaigns for peaceful coexistence, use of theatre and other performance art to raise awareness of the issues, Child Friendly Schools/Community initiatives, capacity building to promote democratic youth leadership, training of child broadcasters, and parents’ education for conflict mediation and non-violence. 

2. Supporting development of country-based educational materials, curricula, and teaching manuals for Peace Education and Education for Conflict Resolution. These materials are used to help children develop skills in problem solving, negotiation, critical thinking and communication that will enable them to resolve conflicts without resorting to violence. 

3. Sport for Development. A UN Inter-agency Task Force on Sport for Development and Peace has been set up. It recommends that sport should be incorporated as a useful tool in programmes for development and peace, and that communications-based activities using sport should focus on well-targeted advocacy and social mobilization, particularly at national and local levels. UNICEF is promoting girls’ education through partnerships at a number of international sport events and messages on peace and conflict resolution.

4. Peace and Disarmament Education. A multi country project, “Disarming Children and Youth:  Raising Awareness and Addressing the Impact of Small Arms.” has been undertaken in Kosovo, Somalia, Southern Sudan and Tajikistan. The objective is to initiate change in the attitudes and behaviour of children, their families and communities to oppose the use of small arms. The strategy is to develop children’s skills for conflict resolution, offer alternative behaviours to youth, and build pressure for changes in public policy through youth involvement in peace-building at community and national levels.

5. Life Skills-Based Education for Peace Education and the Environment in Southern Sudan (Operation Lifeline Sudan) Life Skills-Based Education modules for Peace Education and the Environment are currently under development. The modules provide information and activities which will help mentors and learners to develop knowledge, attitudes and skills for landmine safety, conflict resolution, peace building, and the promotion of human rights.  The life skills-based education programme goes beyond the focus on curriculum alone and utilises a comprehensive approach to quality education. 

In many parts of Southern Sudan, two generations of children have known only war and its traumas.  Mentors need to be prepared to receive learners with a wide range of life experiences. The learners include students, post-school aged young people, women’s groups, community groups, and local authority personnel.  Mentors are trained in participatory teaching and learning methods. Community Centres – which provide integrated services such as education, health care, clean water, and sanitary latrines – serve as gender-sensitive, protective learning environments which allow children to practice the life skills that they have gained.

6. Developing a Landmines and Small Arms Advocacy Kit. This kit aims at providing UNICEF staff with the resources to undertake advocacy on these issues.  Developing a booklet “Child Rights Guide to the Mine Ban Treaty” to raise awareness of the impact of landmines on children, and to explain the relationship between the Convention on the Rights of the Child and the Convention on the Prohibition of the Use, Stockpiling, Production and Transfer of Anti-Personnel Landmines and their Destruction.

7. The use of new-technologies to promote peace-minded quality education. UNICEF ‘Voices of Youth’, internet rights project promotes issues related to adolescent development and participation.  This online project provides an opportunity to children and young people to learn about global issues, particularly in the light of how they affect children and young people worldwide share their views with others and look at ways in which they can take action in their own communities.


  • Email this article

 

 

Español Français

Related links

Peace education programmes

Angola
Bosnia & Herzegovina
Burundi
Colombia
Cote d'Ivoire
East Timor
El Salvador
Guatamela
Guyana
Indonesia
Kosovo
Liberia
Macedonia
Operation Lifeline Sudan
Pakistan
Rwanda
Sierra Leone
Sudan
Tajikistan
Yugoslavia

Expert Opinion

Every child has the right to a safe enviroment. War is an insecure and unsafe way to teach children how to act in the real world - Voices of Youth