科特迪瓦

科特迪瓦国内学校仍然停课,儿童基础教育正在受到威胁

路易.维诺.杜博报道

科特迪瓦布瓦凯,2011 年 3 月 9 日 – 自去年十一月极具争议的总统选举结束以来,科特迪瓦国内的许多学校仍然停课。目前有近 80 万的儿童正在等待重返校园。

视频:2011 年 3 月 3 日 – 联合国儿童基金会乔纳.菲舍尔 (Jonah Fisher) 报道,科特迪瓦国内学校停课仍在持续,一个 12 岁男孩在无法继续上课时是如何度日的。  在Realplayer中播放

 

影响还将持续。“本学年已受到严重影响,如果危机期间孩子仍无法返校,他们很可能就此辍学,即使危机平息也不会再回到学校。”救助儿童会的科特迪瓦国家主任拉索.凯夫 (Guy Cave) 说。

2002 年以来,科特迪瓦曾经被视为是教育质量体系方面的典范,自2002年起也卷入了内战的漩涡。每年在达到小学入学年龄的儿童中,只有不到 60% 入了学。

政治危机的牺牲品

学校停课对整个国家的影响随处可见。在科特迪瓦中部城市布瓦凯,街道上到处都是无处上学的儿童,他们靠售卖物品赚点钱贴补家用。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
布瓦凯市马丁.路德.金现代国立学校 12 岁的亚瑟凝望着空荡荡的教室。整个科特迪瓦国内的学校仍然停课。

12 岁的亚瑟正是其中的一员。他 6 岁时进了当地的马丁.路德.金国立学校上学,但该学校从今年九月开始就停课了。停课后他就开始推着一辆手推车兜售化妆品,直到现在仍是这样。亚瑟还是希望与伙伴们一起回到学校,继续学习,将来成为一名工程师。

“儿童就应该待在学校学习知识,这样他们才会有安全感。儿童不应该成为政治危机的牺牲品,而应远离武装组织、强迫劳动、性暴力、虐待、贩卖和疾病。”联合国儿童基金会驻科特迪瓦代表阿戈斯蒂诺.帕格尼尼 (Agostino Paganini) 说。

临时学习中心

联合国儿童基金会、救助儿童会和其他合作伙伴正在设法使儿童尽快返回学校。他们已在西部迪埃奎等地搭建了临时学校,自一月以来共收留了 1.5 万儿童。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
等待学校重新开学期间,亚瑟和他的伙伴们一直在科特迪瓦布瓦凯市的市场上售卖化妆品。

相对于需要接受教育的儿童总数,这些仅仅是杯水车薪。而且国家北部的教师响应非暴力反抗的呼吁,更是阻碍了工作的进展。使公立学校重新开学几乎成为泡影。由于安全越来越得不到保障,造成约 60% 的教师离岗。

在南部地区,在过去几个月,公立学校稀稀落落地开课了,但政治危机的加剧带来沉重的家庭负担。经济瘫痪导致大规模裁员,银行倒闭使很多家庭无力供养自己的孩子,也没钱送孩子上学。今年年初,物价也飞速上涨。

极端贫困

联合国儿童基金会正竭尽全力减轻他们的负担。科特迪瓦的公立学校是免费的,但家长需要掏钱买学习用品并支付其他杂费。联合国儿童基金会向开课的学校捐赠装满学习用品(如课本、钢笔、铅笔、橡皮、铅笔刀等)的书包以帮助这些贫困家庭。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
唯独亚瑟一直在坚持着自己的学习,希望将来成为一名工程师。他和其他许多儿童一样,生活因科特迪瓦国内学校持续停课而受到严重影响。

不幸的是,科特迪瓦的长期贫困让教育危机雪上加霜。因此,很多家庭面临着供养孩子或送孩子上学这一两难的境地。没有任何人愿意做这种选择。


 

 

搜索

Côte d'Ivoire

Children struggle to access basic education as schools remain closed in Côte d’Ivoire

By Louis Vigneault-Dubois

BOUAKÉ, Côte d’Ivoire, 9 March 2011 – Since last November’s disputed presidential election, many schools in Côte d’Ivoire have remained closed. There are now nearly 800,000 children waiting to get back to learning.

VIDEO: 3 March 2011 - UNICEF's Jonah Fisher reports on ongoing school closures in Côte d’Ivoire and how one 12-year-old boy is coping while his school remains empty.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

The impact could be long-term. “This school year is seriously disrupted and if children cannot go to school during a crisis, they are more likely to drop out and never return even when the crisis is over,” said Save the Children Country Director Guy Cave.

Once seen as a model in the region for the quality of its education system, civil conflict has engulfed Côte d’Ivoire since 2002. Less than 60 per cent of primary school-aged children enrol each year.

Hostages of political crisis

The effect of the school closures can be seen around the country. In Bouaké, a city in central Côte d’Ivoire, the streets are filled with children who – faced with nowhere to learn – sell goods to earn a little money and help support their family.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Arthur, 12, a student at Lycee Moderne Martin Luther King in the city of Bouaké, looks into his empty classroom. Schools across Côte d’Ivoire remain closed.

Arthur, 12, is one of them. He is enrolled in Year 6 at the local Lycee Martin Luther King School, but it’s been closed since September. In the meantime, he has been selling toiletries from a wheel barrow. Arthur would rather be with his friends in school and continue studying to become an engineer.

“The place of children is in a school where they can learn and feel secure,” said UNICEF Representative in Côte d’Ivoire Dr. Agostino Paganini. “Children should not be held hostage of a political conflict and be exposed to recruitment by armed groups, forced labour, sexual violence, abuse, trafficking and diseases.”

Temporary Learning Centres

UNICEF, Save the Children and other partners are working to get children back to school as quickly as possible. Temporary schools have been set up in places such as Duékoué in the west, where 15,000 refugees have been sheltering since January.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Arthur has been selling toileteries with his friends at the market in the city of Bouaké, Côte d’Ivoire while he waits for his school to reopen.

These cover only a fraction of the total number of children in need of education and efforts in the
north of the country have been hampered by a call for civil disobedience observed by teachers. It has made the reopening of public schools nearly impossible. An estimated 60 per cent of teachers are not in post due to the growing insecurity.

In the south, public schools have been more or less open for the last couple of months, but the on-going political crisis is causing a heavy burden on families. It’s paralyzed the economy causing massive layoffs, and with banks closed families are finding it increasingly difficult to have money to feed their children and send them to school. Food prices have also soared since the beginning of the year.

Extreme poverty

UNICEF is doing its best to lessen the burden. Public school is free in Côte d’Ivoire but families have to pay for school supplies and other miscellaneous fees. Where schools are open, UNICEF is distributing school bags filled with supplies such as textbooks, pens, pencils, eraser, pencil sharpener to support families in need.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Arthur is trying to continue with his studies alone and hopes one day to become an engineer. He's one of many children affected by ongoing school closures in Côte d’Ivoire.

Unfortunately, the education crisis in Côte d’Ivoire is compounded by chronic poverty. At the moment, families are faced with the difficult choice of feeding their children or sending them to school. It’s a decision no one should ever to have to make.


 

 

New enhanced search