波斯尼亚-黑塞哥维那

波斯尼亚和黑塞哥维那的一座多文化学校培养最优秀的学生

杰伊.拉莫尼卡报道

波斯尼亚和黑塞哥维那首都萨拉热窝,2010年8月4日–11岁的艾尔丁娜.伊莎玛基喜欢跳舞,罗姆舞蹈奔放的旋律让她能够自由舞动。去年她赢得了一次舞蹈比赛,照片还被登上了报纸。可每当提起曾经获得的奖项时,她总害羞得红了脸,她的妈妈德扎米拉.波斯丹基娅为女儿倍感自豪。艾尔丁娜说获奖让她最开心的就是能得到一块蛋糕。

视频:联合国儿童基金会报道波斯尼亚和黑塞哥维那首都萨拉热窝 的一个多种族的儿童友好学校。

 

艾尔丁娜一家九口人住在波黑首都萨拉热窝一座小山坡上的三层小楼的地下室里。艾尔丁娜在斯瓦基诺塞罗区的泽玛卢丁乔舍维奇小学上学,每天要坐很长时间的电车来到学校。她说有时冬天的傍晚很黑,她走路时很害怕,所以让爸爸在电车站接她。

包容教育

尽管艾尔丁娜家附近也有学校,但是她更喜欢自己的学校。战争在该地区结束后,联合国儿童基金会和丹麦政府共同资助建立了这所学校,让像艾尔丁娜这样的罗姆家庭中的孩子能够接受教育。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2009/Campbell
在萨拉热窝斯瓦基诺塞罗区的泽玛卢丁乔舍维奇小学,学生们和老师们互动。这所学校是一所一个多种族的儿童友好学校。

罗姆人是居住在欧洲东部和中部的少数民族,保留着本民族的语言的习俗,族人在波斯尼亚及周边国家常常遭受到严重歧视。

艾尔丁娜的母亲说:“我们生活得很艰难,因为很多罗姆人都没有上过学,没有任何文化和技能,因此只能去以捡垃圾为生。能够接受教育的罗姆儿童很少,所以他们的机会也少。”

安全的学习环境

波斯尼亚的很多学校仍带有严重的种族情绪,这曾经引发了90年代中期萨拉热窝被围困43个月的事件。当时很多学校遭到了破坏,学生们不得不在地下室和避难所上课。现在有些波斯尼亚的学校“在同一间教室开设两所课堂”,为不同种族的学生安排不同的课程。泽玛卢丁乔舍维奇小学却是个例外,它是一所允许多种族、多文化融合并存的机构,向所有学生开放。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
11岁的艾尔丁娜走在萨拉热窝的小区里。艾尔丁娜一家九口人就住在那里一座三层小楼的地下室里。

艾尔丁娜最喜欢的课程之一是波斯尼亚语,但她也为罗姆人的遗产而深感自豪。她的学校也开设罗姆语和文化的相关课程,让文化背景不同的学生都可以参加。

她说:“我上罗姆语的课程是因为我想学习我们的语言,以后当我碰到不会说波斯尼亚语的罗姆人,我就可以跟他们交谈了。”


 

 

搜索

Bosnia and Herzegovina

A multi-cultural school in Bosnia and Herzegovina brings out the best in children

By Jay LaMonica

SARAJEVO, Bosnia and Herzegovina, 4 August 2010 – Eldina Ismailij, 11, loves to dance. The wild rhythms of Roma dancing set her free. Last year, she won a dance competition and her picture was in the newspaper. She blushes when asked about her accomplishment, and her mother, Dzemila Bostandzija, beams with pride. The best thing about winning, said Eldina, was the prize cake.

VIDEO: UNICEF reports on a multi-ethnic, child-friendly school in Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina.

 

Eldina and her family of nine live on the ground floor of a three-storey building on a hillside in Sarajevo, the capital of Bosnia and Herzegovina. Eldina attends Džemaludin Čaušević Primary School in the Svarkino Selo area, a long tram ride from her home.

She says it can be scary sometimes in late winter afternoons, when she has to travel in the dark. On those days, Eldina calls her father to meet her at the tram stop.

Inclusive schooling

While there are schools closer to Eldina’s home, she prefers this one. The school, which was rebuilt with support from UNICEF and the Danish Government after the war in the region ended, has made a special effort to reach out to Roma families such as Eldina’s.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2009/Campbell
Students interact with their teacher at Sarajevo's Džemaludin Čaušević Primary School, a multi-ethnic, multi-cultural institution open to all children.

The Roma are a minority group with their own language and customs living across Central and Eastern Europe. Members of the Roma community frequently suffer from severe discrimination in Bosnia and surrounding countries.

“It has been difficult exactly because many Roma do not go to school, they have no education or skills, and then the only thing they can do is to go around and collect garbage,” said Eldina’s mother. “Not many Roma children are going to school, and that is why they have less opportunities.”

Safe learning environment

Many schools in Bosnia still reflect the ethnic tensions that triggered the 43-month siege of Sarajevo in the mid-1990s. During that time, schools were destroyed and classes were held in basements and shelters. Today, some Bosnian schools house ‘two schools under one roof,’ with separate curricula for different ethnic groups.

Džemaludin Čaušević Primary School is exceptional as a multi-ethnic, multi-cultural institution open to all students.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Eldina, 11, walks in her neighbourhood in Sarajevo, where she and her family of nine live in the basement of a three-storey building.

One of Eldina's favorite classes is Bosnian language. But she is also fiercely proud of her own heritage. Her school holds regular classes in Roma language and culture that students of many different backgrounds can attend.

“I go to Roma language classes because I want to learn my language,” she said. “When I go somewhere one day and meet Roma people who do not speak Bosnian, then I will be able to talk to them.”


 

 

New enhanced search